We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“silver wedding gift”
Review of Kimberley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kimberley Hotel
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“silver wedding gift”
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We were given a 2 day trip to harrogate as a gift for our silver wedding anniversary from a lovely friend.The receptionist was really pleasant and welcoming giving us useful information about our room and breakfast times etc .The room was beautiful large ,bright and airy enough room for a large sofa and table and chairs.The bathroom had a huge bath and was decorated tastefully.Breakfast was cooked perfectly and plentiful with a large range of produce to suit all.The Kimberly is situated next door to the conference centre a short but hilly walk to the town centre.We really enjoyed our break in Harrogate and would recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    736
    658
    202
    62
    45
See reviews for
136
1,082
20
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed here for two nights on 1/2nd Aug on a KGB deal for £89. The hotel was clean and the breakfast was good, however on the first morning the staff seemed quite stressed as they fell behind in the provision of the cooked food being bought out together i.e: after loading your plate with eggs and bacon etc, by the time you get to the mushrooms there is none and you have to wait 5mins for them to come out! Apparently guests had decided to all come down to breakfast at the same time! I found this unacceptable and to be honest feel that it is down to bad mangement not guests all coming down for breakfast at the same time. The waitresses however were trying ther best to accomodate and the 2nd morning was much better. We did not have dinner at this hotel as there were many restaurants outside. The bar at the hotel was pleasant, with good service and reasonable prices. You have to pay £6 to keep parked in the car park, which does have limited spaces, however you are in a town where parking restrictions are in place. We left our car at the hotel and walked into town, the town has a good variety of shops and restaurants, where a Tastecard can also be used in some of these giving you more savings. The Turkish Baths were worth the visit and we enjoyed Bettys Tea Rooms too. There are lots of places to visit outside of Harrogate and we drove to Fountains Abbey on our way home to see the herd of deer at the deer park there. Overall a good stay and could recommend this hotel I think it is suitable for all.

Room Tip: Probably the rooms at the back of the hotel would be quiter, as the front faces a busy road although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire UK
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We stayed here two nights 18/19th July to explore around Harrogate. We had a deluxe room in the extension and it was really good. Villeroy and Bosch bath and washbasin - really modern and well designed bathroom and the bedroom was a really good size.

Breakfast was excellent, the lady in charge was very good at keeping her eye on everything and the quality of the food was really good.

We would highly recommend The Kimberley

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeanjeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel at the beginning of July for two nights. We booked through laterooms.com and paid £100 for both nights. Upon arrival we where a little put out at having to pay to park in the hotels private car park, we have stayed in many hotels before but never had to pay for parking? However this was quickly forgotten by the lovely modern decor and very friendly reception staff so far for what we paid we where quite impressed. Our room was small but very adequate and yet again nicely decorated.
At first it was hard to believe that such a nice hotel was advertising cheap rooms through laterooms and such websites...
However - During the first night it became apparent that we where situated above the kitchen, the room smelled of chips (or fryers) The view of the roof and brick wall was definitely lacking and we where kept up all night by loud water noises in the bathroom? perhaps this was because our toilet was on a "saniflow" system?
Also during our stay and most worryingly, was that on two separate occasions two people accidentally entered our room, once whilst we where changing, the second whilst we where packing up on the last morning? The hotel room doors operate on a "key card" basis so we left feeling confused to how as this could have happened? We complained to the receptionist upon our check out, to which she apologised but offered no explanation?
As we left we reminded ourselves that we had paid a reasonable price for the hotel, which satisfied basic needs, however we where incredibly glad we hadn't paid any more as good decor does not make up for a bad nights sleep...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ellsabeth1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Stayed for 2 nights on a Wowcher code deal in a deluxe room. Very impressed as the room and bed were very big. Little extras eg. Bottled water, chocolate mints, Yorkshire tea and Nescafé coffee all added to the experience. Very clean room the only downside is there was a very large stain on the carpet and very squeaky floor boards in the room above and ours, so was very concscious of moving around our room. Ideal location for amenities and had a couple of meals out which were excellent value.Take your chance on the hotel car parking, we arrived at approx 1pm to find only one place available at £6 per day.We didn't move our car out of the car park for the rest of the weekend in case we couldnt get another space. Therefore we used public transport which was very efficient. The people of Harrogate are veryfriendly so if you get the chance I would thoroughly recommend this as palace to visit along with the nearby town of Knaresbourgh.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karenb507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
All over the shop
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Only stayed one night here on business. I didn't have a car with me, so have no comments about parking.

The hotel looks like an old building from the street, but it certainly has been done up well.

It seems to often be one of the cheaper hotels available in Harrogate, which is a town that can fill up and get expensive if there is some event on.

Bit of a rabbit warren. The room I had was down in one elevator, along a corridor, left through some double doors, and then up in a different elevator. But once I got to the room, I was impressed. Big room, comfortable bed, large bathroom (with a bathtub).

Room service was fine. Did not have breakfast, so I have no comment about that.

WiFi worked for me.

I would return.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnATikiTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Me and my partner had a one night stay on a KGB Deal last night. Quite simply it was a totally relaxing experience. The staff are very friendly, the room was expansive and very well appointed and the food excellent.

The bed was very soft on first experience but we didnt wake in the night suffering - so its fine !.

The food is franchised out but dont let that put you off - the quality was outstanding.

Breakfast was very good despite the room being very busy.

The centre of Harrogate is a short walk away from the hotel so all in all a perfect location for a perfect weekend break away.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
594 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimberley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimberley Hotel

Property: Kimberley Hotel
Address: 11-19 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5JY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#8 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimberley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kimberley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberley Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing