We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, excellent location”
Review of Kimberley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimberley Hotel
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan, England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great value, excellent location”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Stayed at the Kimberley for 2 nights, 5th & 6th March. KGB deal £79 for 2 nights bed and breakfast. We also used the £20 worth of food in Signatures for £8 with Living Social. Check in was smooth, friendly and efficient, we were allocated room 1115 in the main building. The car park when we checked in at 13:45 had several spaces left. The room was adequate and comfortable, with a hospitality tray provided along with bottled Harrogate water, a nice touch. We became aware of a droning noise which ceased when the kitchen closed around 22:00hrs, possibly the extraction from there. We used the meal deal on the first night and ate from the a la carte menu which was £20 for 3 courses, the price isn't on the menu and we had to ask twice for clarification. The food was faultless and well presented. We had a minor issue when the bill came due to a £12 overcharge which was swiftly and courteously put right. In general the staff in the restaurant were attentive, however, they were let down by the lack of clear information given when requested.
The breakfast was excellent, plentiful and of good quality, it was buffet style and the sausages and bacon were of commendable quality, tea or coffee served at your table along with a rack of toast of your choice. The seating arrangements were somewhat haphazard and cramped. We went down for breakfast at around 09:00hrs on the first morning and were seated immediately. On the second day we went down at around 09:20hrs and had to wait in the lounge for around 20 minutes to be seated.The breakfast staff do a fantastic job in an inadequate space for the number of guests and are a credit to the hotel.
There have been many observations on here regarding the £6 parking charge, I feel it is fair given the central location. We left the car in situ for our entire stay, taking the train to York for one day, the railway station is close by and the return fare is only £6 each, York is a lovely place well worth a visit.
Wi fi was available in the room and the password was "hotelguest".

It should be noted that our stay was Tuesday and Wednesday night, the hotel was full on both nights, testament to the value of the deals on offer as the chat around the breakfast tables centred around KGB, Groupon, Living Social, etc. At £79 for 2 nights for 2 people it was truly excellent value and we would stay there again....

Enjoy your stay, I am sure you will.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Latic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    746
    666
    203
    62
    45
See reviews for
139
1,094
20
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Went on a Groupon voucher so cheap enough to start with, contacted the hotel and paid extra to upgrade to a deluxe room £30 per night, Staff very welcoming and friendly, we stayed in the Annex overlooking the woods a lovely big room comfy bed slippers and dressing gowns, very very quiet, great bathroom and very clean. Breakfast was a little chaotic as it was very busy, but the food was great, Nice to wake up on a Sunday and watch the squirrels playing in the trees outside the bedroom. Sunday was much more relaxed breakfast wise less busy. Location is spot on 10 minutes walk into the centre of Harrogate. Will be going again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ttarrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diss
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed here due to attending a conference in Harrogate and it turned out to be 2 minutes walk from the conference centre. The hotel was spotlessly clean and out room was large and luxurious. The staff were very friendly in all areas. The bar is lovely, I would like to return in warmer weather to be able to sit outside. All in all this was a very enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: WE were upgraded but I don't know why! I did book quite a while ago so maybe that was it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunandshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We first visited The Kimberley about 6 months ago and I would describe our stay as fair to average but after seeing a good value deal with KGB we decided to give it another chance, hoping our first stay had caught them on a bad day. We payed £90 for two nights in an upgraded room in the annexe and from the moment we walked in we knew it was an excellent choice. The room was fantastic.Spacious and luxurious it was one of the best rooms we have ever stayed in. The whole ambience had changed for the better and the breakfast had improved greatly. As regular visitors to Harrogate we will make The Kimberley our first choice.

Room Tip: The recently built annexe is quiet, secure and feels like you are in a luxury apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anjunajay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

This was a faultless 2 night visit. We had a room in the new extension which was large, comfortable and one of the best baths I've had recently in hotels - great for relaxing in after walking around Harrogate. All the staff were pleasant and friendly with a special mention for the breakfast staff who coped well with the pressure of high numbers of diners. We had no complaints with the food either at breakfast or in the franchised Signatures bistro in the evening. Yes parking is difficult but there is physically no further space available so of course you may have to park elsewhere. Most people will know this before they come so it should be no surprise.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbo199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macclesfield
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We went on a Groupon Deal for 2 nights.
The hotel was very clean and our room was above average with an excellent bathroom.
The staff were extremely helpful and pleasant.We didnt eat in ,so can only comment about the breakfast which was first class .
Overall a very good hotel in a super location.
We would return without question.

Room Tip: ask for a rear facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacclesfieldRobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Stayed for one night and found the room absolutely fabulous, unfortunately this was in a separate block to the hotel. Dont get me wrong it was nice it just didnt seem like part of the hotel.

Car parking is ridiculous, far to many cars to fit in not enough spaces, we paid £6 to park on a corner near a fire exit.

Breakfast was fantastic, loads of choice, hot things hot and cold things cold.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank webilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#9 of 30 in Harrogate
152 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.7 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimberley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimberley Hotel

Property: Kimberley Hotel
Address: 11-19 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5JY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#8 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimberley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Kimberley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberley Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing