We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully hotel”
Review of Kimberley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kimberley Hotel
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Burnley, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderfully hotel”
Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile

A fantastic hotel rooms are clean and welcoming the service is excellent and food at the hotel is beyond good !!! I recommend the signature restaurant it's really good!!!! This hotel is a quiet gem of a place and so close to the town centre is unreal!!!!!! I cannot recommend enough

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    736
    658
    202
    62
    45
See reviews for
136
1,082
20
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We booked a weekend in the Kimberley with another couple, and had an amazing time! I can honestly say that everything was perfect,cant wait to go again!
All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful.
We had a second floor room in the annexe, it was spacious, spotless, great bathroom and shower, big comfy bed, and air con that worked! There was a supply of beverages including still and fizzy water, biscuits and chocolates.
Breakfast buffet was really good quality food served in a nice bright dining room.
We had made arrangements with friends to eat out in the evening, but next time we will stay in the hotel, the food looked superb.The bar was lively and a nice starting place before going out.
The hotel is within walking distance of the town where there are lots of nice bars and restaurants.
All in all, a really good weekend away

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 52redfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Deserving its 4 star rating, our room in the annex was large, with a very good size bathroom, well furnished, Very Quite, ample parking, Massive flat screen tv, with all free view channels, adequate supplies of tea, coffee, biscuits etc.Digital Temperature control.Free Wi-Fi, Staff very helpful and friendly.
Evening meal Signature's Restaurant was superb, best steak I have had, Note: the Restaurant is a franchise, so dinner/drinks can not be added to the hotel bill. Breakfast equally very good with all the full English you could want, as well as continental choices. Hotel a 10 minute walk into town and railway station, got train into York @ £6 return great value.
Only minor downside, the shower and bath flow was difficult to control, I think a 'knob, was missing

Room Tip: The annex is a new and modern building, although to gain access you need to leave the hotel across r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clayshooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

The hotel staff were all very welcoming and helpful. The room we had on the second floor was tastefully decorated, but could do with a deep clean and touch up on the paintwork. The drain in the bath needed attention, when I had a shower you ended up standing in 3 inches of water. The food in the restaurant was well prepared and the service very efficient. The breakfast buffet had plenty of choices of well cooked food. It costs £6 to use the hotel car park, if you go further down the road there is plenty of free parking.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are quiet, and there is a lift so no problem with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melvynfletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Firstly the positives. Easy to get to, good parking facilities (at £6.00 per night) and the hotel is spotless, the rooms are spacious, very clean, really comfortable beds and bathrooms that offer instant and never ending hot water. Our room was quiet, great for an undisturbed night's sleep on a king size bed+ and we had all the extras such as a box of chocolates, tea/coffee, LCD wall mounted television (Freeview channels only), top of the range toiletries etc etc. It is a great place to stay in you want to be in the centre of Harrogate and close to York. And you will never be cold when staying here. So, just a few minor niggles sad to say. Very minor - breakfast was a bit hit and miss, having to attract the attention of whoever was serving, some very polite indeed, some looked as if they were bored and (in reality) couldn't be bothered. Some dishes were not replenished and folk had to ask. And, as a previous reviewer has noted, we did hear members of staff talking about other guests in a less than praiseworthy way in our ear shot. What were they saying about us? But most annoyingly, we were told that we would be charged £10.00 per night for an upgrade that a. we didn't ask for and b. we didn't get (as in we were told that we were given bathrobes and slippers when this wasn't the case). An odd thing was that the restaurant is a franchise so purchases cannot be charged to your room but the quality of food and the cost is very good. Yes, we would stay there again but just a few minor but niggling faults

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We went to Harriogate for my birthday. We really had a great stay. We parked up and did not move vor the week end. Car park was £6 per day for the stay, which I thought was a bit much as we were staying in the hotel. Still the staff were great, the food was good and the room was great. The room was really clean and fresh. Great stay.

Room Tip: Stay in the annex as it is really quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seasoneddiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

There are lots of plus points here but unfortunately some significant bad ones too. The hotel is a very typical English guest house type of establishment, albeit trying to be more of a proper hotel. But all telephone enquiries default to reception which is often too busy or too undermanned to oblige. So we never did get the cartons of full fat milk replaced by semi or even skimmed milk. And we had to ask every day for clean water glasses. And our morning paper got "missed off the list". And our lovely hand-soap disappeared without explanation or apology. But the staff, especially in the restaurant, are simply wonderful. Nothing was too much trouble and they coped admirably with our large tour group all wanting dinner at the same time.
Our room was spacious and well equipped (apart from the above mentioned) and the bed linen and towels are gorgeous. But the pillows have seen better days and - bizarrely - we had a huge bay window overlooking the road, but no net curtains to preserve our privacy. Even worse, there was a large window in the bathroom with plain glass and no nets so we had to pull down the blind every time the room was in use. Not good.

The food was a real mix of very good and not at all good. Breakfasts were excellent with a substantial buffet and good quality contents. The fried eggs were nicely cooked, not baked solid, the bacon and sausage (so I am told) were much better than many hotels have on offer and the 'cooked to order' food was delicious (lovely porridge). But the dinners - oh dear - they started out mediocre and deteriorated from there. Just dreadful. It will be a long time before I forget my turkey, mushroom and potato pie which actually comprised and tiny dollop of tinned button mushrooms in sauce with a substantial pile of boiled new potatoes plonked on top. To add insult to injury the only vegetable available with this was cauliflower cheese. I hate cauliflower, which was cooked to baby-food texture anyway, and the cheese was insignificant. It was quite appalling. I began to have fantasies about McDonald's. I suspect the food was so because the tour group beats the hotel down to a budget for dinners, whereas the breakfasts are the normal standard but as I'm unlikely to return I'll never find out.

Room Tip: ASk for one with curtains
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianthus2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,275 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
592 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimberley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimberley Hotel

Property: Kimberley Hotel
Address: 11-19 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5JY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#8 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimberley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, LateRooms, Superbreak UK, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kimberley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberley Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing