We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Groupon offer sadly lacking”
Review of Kimberley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kimberley Hotel
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We bought a groupon offer and stayed midweek for 2 nights. Staff on reception were friendly and helpful. Car park gets busy so get a space early and its £6 a day. The hotel says it is four star but our room did not live up to this. Very small room, comfy bed and great coffee/tea making facilities. But there was traffic noise from the road and late night revellers. Room cleanish but have stayed at cleaner premier inns. Bathroom not up to scratch either with a huge crack in bath panel that had been attempted to patch up. Sadly disappointing.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,744)
There are newer reviews for Kimberley Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

871 - 877 of 1,744 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

We booked this on a last-minute offer and got the only room left. When we saw it we realised why, the extractor from the kitchen was just outside the window. It was switched off from 10pm to 10am, but was noisy during the day. This was room 1014, avoid it!
The hotel is within a few minutes walk of the town centre, in a pleasant leafy location. When we booked we had not realised that there was a parking charge. The room was large, and comfortable, but the pillows were too hard for me. The windows needed cleaning, they were very dusty on the outside. We were fairly happy with our stay, might not have been so happy if we had not got a good price.

Room Tip: Check that they are not above the kitchen extraction unit.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marymary27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed at the hotel in August on a living social deal. Well worth the money. Lovely hotel with clean sizeable rooms. 2 minute walk in to the city centre. Would definitely recommend it. Parking for the hotel is limited and charged at £6 a stay. There are side roads to park on.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SullyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

stayed here 2 nights in an exec double which was large, contemporary with a superb bathroom just lacking a big enough shelf for a wash bag next to the sink, no problems with cleanliness, 6ft bed, plenty of tea and coffee and for the room alone we would return. One of the problems was that despite it being an August weekend the bar facility was closed, we could clearly see it through shut doors and it looked very nice but the only way we could get a drink was from the restaurant and sit in what appeared to be a small TV lounge, except no-one did so it was deserted. We could have sat outside with the smokers but the weather was coolish and we were looking at a main road. Meeting relatives for pre dinner drinks we decided to test the Holiday Inn bar right next door which was large and contemporary with full bar service, great chairs and a choice from 2 menus, we used it to not only drink but on the first night eat because again the signature restaurant had 2 people in it making it look somewhat quiet no matter how good the food was. As a result the hotel lost a revenue opportunity over 2 nights and maybe I should have taken my cue when the receptionist asked if we needed dinner suggestions in town rather than would you like to book a table in the restaurant which is more normal!! Location was great, genuinely 5/10 minute amble to the town centre, breakfast was disappointing in that service was to 10.30 and arriving at 10.10 we found no orange juice or fresh fruit left and just 2 croissants, staff were obviously at the point of winding down and not looking to replenish the buffet by making a point which was shame, the cooked English was good though. The last gripe was the charge of £6 to use the hotel car park at the rear if you were able to get on it as it was way to small for the size of the hotel. This should have been a complimentary arrangement by simply taking registration numbers to check overnight so it seemed very petty adding £6 to the bill, the second day we couldn't get a space after having been out and ended up on a nearby road with a displayed disc from the hotel, caused a bit of messing having to go back to the car to move the time on but this method is free and if you can be bothered no less inconvenient than the very tight car park which may not suit larger cars or less confident drivers. Overall I would recommend this hotel for the location and in our case the rooms but nothing more. Harrogate on the other hand was a delight.

Room Tip: rear facing rooms or the annexe will be quieter, maybe avoid the annexe in winter as its across the...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

For the price paid for a standard room, this was fairly good value for money. The standard room 1002 was fairly basic in décor with a shower that provided only tepid water. Great if you are there during the hot weather which we were, but not good any other time. The executive rooms provided air conditioning and I believe have been refurbished. This may be a better option if you can afford the additional cost. Breakfast was average buffet style, and it all felt a bit cluttered with people going in all directions at the buffet bar. Staff were very friendly and helpful, and the big plus for this hotel was the location. Two minutes walk and you were in the town centre.
Would I go back? Yes, if they upgrade the standard room and fix the shower.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slushfundEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Lovely warm welcome on arrival, great location for a 2 night stay. Clean and well presented room which was spacious and just what we were looking for. Location is good , short walk into the centre. We would stay again and have already booked for next year for the TDF.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I had been upgraded from a pre-booked Executive twin (£20 supplement) to a superior room in the annexe on my arrival. Very nice indeed - not overlooked and quiet, surrounded by trees. Parking on a first-come first-served basis was unnerving at times. Easy walk into Harrogate as promised. No disturbances from restaurant and bar whatsoever. Catering was excellent but staff needs to be re-educated about customer service - excellent breakfast but some promised items not always available without waiting.

Room Tip: Try for one in the annexe - new block with lovely rooms but you need to cross the car park for Recep...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rabrhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#8 of 30 in Harrogate
188 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,314 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
624 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,863 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimberley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimberley Hotel

Address: 11-19 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5JY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#8 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: £44 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimberley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kimberley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberley Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing