We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, Clean and Cozy”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kimberley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kimberley Hotel
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Clean and Cozy”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The hotel is at a great location. Its away from the high street noise but still 5 mins walk to the it. I booked a twin room, the room initially assigned was decent and clean but had a broken bathroom door lock, so i requested for a change, they put us in 1117 then with was an awesome room, spacious, comfortable and clean. Stayed their for a week, enjoyed my stay. Hotel gives a very cozy feel.
Wifi is not the impressive (but its free). Parking on the weekend could be tough to find.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abhinav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    708
    639
    195
    60
    45
See reviews for
131
1,043
19
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Very central for the town , clean well appointed room , superb breakfast . Only a minor gripe could not connect to wi fi in the bedroom without going into the corridor. Lunch was well prepared and good value

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Thank you very much for our fabulous night. We often stay in Harrogate and this was our second visit to the Kimberley. We had a Living Social voucher which gave us an exec room and breakfast for two.

The room was really comfortable and the bathroom and shower was lovely. The breakfast was really filling and very tasty.

All of the staff did their utmost to make our stay enjoyable. Thank you. We will return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Let's start at the beginning £6 per night car parking in the hotels own car park. The room was badly lit and had a damp stain on the ceiling. The tv only had 5 channels as the tv kept saying low signal strength on the others no soap in the bathroom, luckily we had taken our own.
Signatures bistro. What a joke valentines weekend and a very limited set menu. We asked for a bottle of prosseco and after drinking a glass was told it was sparking Pinot . Went to pay for our drinks hoping to book them to the room to be told that was not possible
. Went to pay by card to which the staff said it sometimes didn't work.( never did while I was there) eventually now with a warm beer I was able to book to my room.
For a so called 4star hotel lots to be desired. It could also do with thicker walls. More like a 2 1/2 -3 star. Won't be going back.
The only good thing is the location. Supposed to have been done up recently who by bob the bodger.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulwalker78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel.booked as a late birthday treat for two nights,nice big room with comfy king size bed.lovely and warm and super breakfast. Good location for bars and restaurants.local wetherspoons is a decent one. Got a bottle of free wine which was a nice touch. Would stay again and recommend to all.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rafabenitez_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This review is woefully overdue, given the lengths this hotel went to to help me in my hour of need.

I stayed here in October 2013 as I was exhibiting in a conference at the conference centre. On the final day of the conference, it transpired that my car had a flat battery. Not only that, but it was in such a position in the car park that normal jump leads would not reach the battery and in the course of events I managed to lock my keys and possessions in the car.

In no particular order of valour:
- a member of staff donated some jump leads
- the porter phoned the local toyota dealership for advice and walked to a nearby garage to get some kind of standalone battery starter
- the caretaker used electrical wire to create a bespoke set of jump leads
- a young man on reception lent me his coat (mine was locked in the car)
- a lady on reception gave me the use of the hotel phone to phone for help and a good rate on staying an extra night.

In the end, someone had to come with my spare key (from 200 miles away) and this unbearable situation was only made bearable by the kindness shown by this hotel and its amazing staff.

Now for the "boring" stuff:
- the hotel is clean and tidy
- its very close to the conference centre
- it has free wifi
- I tried both the old and the new rooms:the former were nice, but dated, the latter were modern and gorgeous
- the restaurant served really good food (but you pay separately, as its independently owned)

Room Tip: Pay more for the newer rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarabella1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Just stayed at the hotel 08/02 to 09/02. I could not fault anything about the hotel. It is a fantastic hotel. Rooms are spacious / cleaned and are of a very high standard. All the staff were so friendly and helpful. Located within a two minute walk from all the shops / sites etc that Harrogate has to offer. Breakfast was a wide choice of continental to a full English served in a lovely area which doubles up on an evening for a good selection of restaurant meals.

The hotel offers a range of deals for room only or with the added choices of breakfast and evening meal.

The hotel also has a lot of deals available re upgrade of room etc.

If visiting Harrogate the Kimberley definitely worth looking into.

We will certainly stay there again when visiting Harrogate.

Car parking at the hotel costs £6.00 per night but the car park at the rear of the hotel is on a first come first serve basis. A local NCP car park [ 2 mins walk away] is £13.00. When we arrived car park was full, Alternative parking may be available free if you travel down the hill after
the entrance to the rear car park at the roadside on the left. No yellow lines but before the permit / residence marked areas.

To finish. A really nice hotel, good location, exceptionally clean and friendly / helpful staff. Could not fault anything

Room Tip: A stated in review
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gss_raper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,443 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 30 in Harrogate
2,601 reviews
0.7 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimberley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimberley Hotel

Property: Kimberley Hotel
Address: 11-19 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5JY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#8 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimberley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimberley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberley Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing