We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of Kimberley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kimberley Hotel
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stayed at this hotel on a Wowcher voucher, which stated an exec room with breakfast, you sometimes wonder if you get sub standard when using these vouchers but not so, the exec rooms were lovely, big, clean, modern, a lovely big bathroom with a big bath and shower, shower gel ect, lots of tea, coffee and water in the room, biscuits too, hairdryer, iron, ironing board provided as well.
The location is really good, it's about a 10-15 min walk from the train station, but didn't mind that as it gives you chance to have a look around and a good 5 mins walk into town center.
Breakfast next morning was extremely nice, we don't normally have a cooked breakfast but it looked too good to miss and it lived up to expectations.
Some really nice bars and restaurants, spoilt for choice if I'm honest, nice little bar called Christies on the way back to the hotel having had our evening meal, use the top entrance of Wetherpersons, cross over, walk to the bottom of the road and turn right toward the hotel, it's just on the next corner.
All in all we had a great time in Harrogate and would not hesitate to use this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    735
    658
    202
    62
    45
See reviews for
136
1,081
20
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

What a fantastic nights stay . My wife and I spent one night at the kimberley hotel harrogate
On arrival the reception was warmkng .
Our room was in the annex . The room was spacious and very modern tge bathroom stunning with a huge bath
Only comment I can say against the hotel is a hotel of this standard should have a spar and gym area ....
But apart from that . Very nice stay
Ps..you will be charged for staying and parking in the hotel car park ..
Bit cheeky ....

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank anthony r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

I chose this hotel after reading the reviews on trip advisor so I felt compelled to give mine...no problem with the car parking like a lot of people...the hotel itself was nice...the staff where all polite and helpful..but the room and bathroom where very diss appointing,dated and noisy(from 5am!!)best part about the hotel is it's location,like a lot of people say 5-10minute walk into the heart of Harrogate and right next door to the conference centre...

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Coop0405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This hotel had an above average score with the booking agent so we expected something a bit special. It was ok but I can't say better than that. It is VERY near to the conference centre which is what we wanted.
The welcome was good and the room clean but very dark - all dark brown and no pictures (others in our group really loved their room which sounded different). The bathroom was very good.The duvet was the same width as the bed with no overhang so we fought all night over it!
Next morning (we planned a leisurely morning before the conference began) our ordered newspaper didn't appear - not a calamity but annoying.We had breakfast elsewhere.

The following morning (day 2) there was a large coach party and a large number of conference delegates all needing breakfast at about 8.00am. The dining room was totally overwhelmed. The staff were doing their best but it was pretty chaotic, with vacated tables not being relaid for some time and we ended up having to wait for 20 minutes for a table, gulping breakfast and being late for the conference. We avoided that the next day (day 3) by going to breakfast very early but as we left the dining room there were 30+ people waiting to be seated.
I went back later on day 2 when they were less busy and spoke to the duty manager who was pleasant (although an apology would have been nice) and offered to refund one breakfast (ironically we were charged for 2 extra breakfasts on the first bill we were given - it took 3 goes to get the bill right! ). The next day the duty manager was helping in the dining room herself which was good to see.
I had (as I always do when I book) asked for some things to be available at breakfast because I'm diabetic (tomato juice, non sweet stuff for toast etc). They weren't available at the first breakfast (day 2- although she assured me they do take notice of written requests!) but to give the manager her credit, there was a new pot of Marmite which she personally gave me on our last morning
The staff were pleasant but it was an underwhelming experience. Next year we will try a B&B. It seems odd to be next to the conference centre and be surprised that everyone is leaving at the same time! If the hotel wants to cater for conference and coach parties they need to have a system and enough dining space for serving breakfast to a large number of people at once.

Room Tip: Fellow guests said the annex had good rooms but we didn't see them so can't verifypersonally
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REVFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire england
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We had booked this break way back in January through Travelzoo and having stayed in many hotels in Harrogate,we were looking forward to it. My husband phoned on the Saturday to book dinner on the Sunday and asked about parking,parking is £8.00 per night and we were told there would be no problem as they were quite 'quiet' on the Sunday. Why or why then on arrival do they give us a substandard room? There was a mishmash of different curtains,some looking quite cheap.One window looked over to what I think was the cleaners/staff locker room. We would have probably still put up with it but that night when my husband showered,he could not move in the shower it was so narrow and the sink was the size of a cloakroom sink and quite dangerously the glass shelf jutted out so when you wanted to wash your face you hit your head against it.
The next morning we mentioned it to reception and the young man asked why we hadn't mentioned it earlier, but we weren't going to go down late at night to change rooms.
To be fair the booking/customer manager moved us to an executive room later that day but we had to pack and then unpack again. On the first night we had dinner included and don't know if I am being fussy but I found the food lukewarm as I did at breakfast the next morning. It did improve as the hotel got busier and the food was varied and generally good.
A nice hotel but I never understand why the iffy rooms have to be delegated on the assumption that a lot of folk won't complain. We are far from demanding guests but it was my husbands birthday and it did put a bit of a damper on the visit.

Room Tip: Obviously the Executive rooms are better but if you get a room at the back of the hotel it is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murphy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

What a find !! Who would want to stay next door at the Holiday inn when the Kimberley is such a refreshing change. Staff ,food, room, cleanliness and total ambiance were second to none. Nothing too much trouble and everyone was so welcoming. Just a 10 minute stroll in to centre of Harrowgate. Planning next stay already !!

Room Tip: executive exactley the same as de luxe which is just a tad larger. We were on the back near car park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JANET G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

We had an executive room. Rooms are very spacious apart from the bathroom is a little tight to fit two in. All furniture and bathroom is modern and a lovely shower. Plenty of complimentary refreshments in the room. Can recommend the Signature restaurant. All staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast had a good selection and service was fairly quick. Overall really nice stay!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,275 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
592 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimberley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimberley Hotel

Property: Kimberley Hotel
Address: 11-19 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5JY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#8 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimberley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kimberley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberley Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing