We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I've put very good as our previous stay was.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimberley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kimberley Hotel
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I've put very good as our previous stay was.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

First of all, may I say that we have stayed here before in an EXECUTIVE room and it was fine.
However, this time we took a deal on a bog standard room at £50.00 per night. Never again.
Room -very basic
Cleanliness-room was ok but the bathroom needs bleach throwing at it.
Beds-I've got a bad back now.
Bathroom-Shower needs replacing as the actual unit leaked and dripped all night, I put a towel under the drip to get rid of the thud, thud, thud. It worked for a while until it became sodden then it sounded like splash, splash, splash!
There were cobwebs in there, grimy tiles, no hand soap..etc, etc.
The Kimberley is a very good choice, so don't be put off by this review, just go for an executive room and definitely give room 1016 a miss.

Room Tip: Executive rooms only for this hotel. The rooms at the front are noisy, as the outside seating area f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank musicbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimManagement, Deputy General Manager at Kimberley Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear musicbailey,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at The Kimberley Hotel. We act on all reviews, good or bad, so appreciate your time and honesty. Our budget rooms are advertised as though ensuite, they are very basic in décor and facilities, hence the bargain price of £50 per night. I am sorry that you did not find your room up to your standard, and have investigated the cleanliness issues you had with our housekeeping team who pride themselves in the service they deliver. You will be pleased to know that the drip in the shower has now been fixed, which could have been sorted during your stay if you would have let our reception team know. I do hope you stay with us again, and look forward to seeing you again in the future if this is the case.

Kind Regards

Danni Wilson
Deputy General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    700
    631
    195
    60
    45
See reviews for
128
1,032
19
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mayne Island, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

After a very disappointing stay at the Holiday Inn the night before, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Kimberley.

The Kimberley is more of a boutique hotel so service is more personal and accommodating, and staff seem to take genuine pride in the hotel and its amenities.

When we arrived early, we were invited to have breakfast there even though we weren't due to check-in until 2 pm. As well, we were invited to park our car there all day -- and were not charged a parking fee.

We had a couple of light meals in the bistro, both of which were fine, as was the buffet breakfast.

Our room was in the annex -- a newer section at the back of the hotel. The room was spacious and quiet and the bathroom was modern.

At the same price as the Holiday Inn, this hotel is a bargain and far superior!

Room Tip: The rooms in the annex are newer, very spacious and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sadie820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimManagement, Deputy General Manager at Kimberley Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Sadie820,

I am very pleased that you have taken the time to review your recent stay with us. As a privately owned hotel, we take pride in delivering the sort of service that is more personalised and intimate. Our deluxe rooms in the annexe are of the highest standard, and am glad you enjoyed the experience. If you are ever visiting Harrogate again, please take the change to contact the hotel directly in order to take advantage of any special offers we may have.

Kind Regards

Danni Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Just back from 3 night stay in deluxe double room - very quiet room, lovely big bathroom with massive bath (shower over). Very clean and all staff very friendly - very small negative point, please sort out room lighting, too bright with main lights on but too dim/dark with just small lamps on, just needs another small table lamp beside sofa to sort.

Would definately stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed In annexe at back - very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrandmrsr84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimManagement, Deputy General Manager at Kimberley Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear mrandmrsr84,

Firstly, thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you found our deluxe rooms to your liking, and that our staff delivered the service we strive to give. Upon designing our deluxe block, we spent many hours pondering over the lighting in the room. There are spotlights in the ceiling and 3 lamps, 1 on each bedside and 1 on the desk. I understand that this may not suit everyone, and if you had wanted an extra lamp, our team would have been more than happy to accommodate this.
I do hope to see you again in the future, please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly to ensure you do not miss any special offers you may be able to partake in.

Kind Regards

Danni Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Settle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
676 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed at the Kimberley overnight when on a weekend break in Harrogate. Its a large, very pleasant hotel situated 5 mins walk from the town centre. The room was a good size, modern and comfortable. We were in the new part of the hotel which is to the rear of the property. There is ample free car parking space.

Breakfast was buffet style in the basement restaurant and there was plenty of choice.

I would definitely stay at the Kimberley again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MD-FatDonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimManagement, Deputy General Manager at Kimberley Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear MD-FatDonkey,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay in one of our executive double rooms, and found breakfast to your liking. I look forward to welcoming you back, and if you decide you would like to stay with us again, please do not not hesitate to contact the hotel directly for any special offers you may find of use.

Kind Regards

Danni Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Can't fault the place! Really nice staff, great room with a free upgrade too! Used the restaurant for breakfast on one of the two mornings and this was very pleasant. The room did get rather warm but we asked for a fan and it brought to the room straightaway. (There isn't a pool or fitness centre, I clicked on these two areas in error.)

Room Tip: They're very accommodating- just ask and see what you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atlas2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimManagement, Deputy General Manager at Kimberley Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear atlas2009,

Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay at The Kimberley Hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and hope you would use us again in the future. Please don't hesitate to contact us directly to ensure you do not miss any special offers we may have.

Kind Regards

Danni Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Not a good start with limited car park space but once checked in , fully made up for it. We had a deluxe room and it was a new block at the rear. We were on the first floor and our window faced out to the rear, where there was a wood. It felt like being in the equivalent of Africa's treetops. We spent a lot of time watching the birds in the trees. The room was top quality and very luxurious.

Breakfast was interesting. The food was good quality but over the two visits there were things missing, e.g plain yoghurt, croissants. My wife had a continental breakfast at £8.75 and was restricted to some grapefruit and toast. Expensive!

Hotel was nice and convenient for Harrogate centre.

Overall though I would strongly recommend.

Room Tip: Go for deluxe and ask for room 3101
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheffieldRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimManagement, Deputy General Manager at Kimberley Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear SheffieldRob,

Firstly congratulations on your Wedding Anniversary. I am delighted that you chose to spend this special occasion with us and that we delivered on your expectation. Our car park is limited, which has been mentioned many times on TripAdvisor, in addition to our websites, which is unfortunately the price we pay our location. There is ample on-street parking available within a short walk, which our Reception Team would have been more than happy to have guided you to.

The Deluxe Rooms in the Annexe are our very best rooms, and the view over the woods is beautiful. If we were to extend our car park much more, this view of nature would be destroyed which would be such a shame. Our continental breakfast is chargeable at £7.95, so if you could contact myself directly, I would be more than happy to resolve the difference in price, and can only apologise for the mistake.

My email address is danielle.wilson@thekimberley.co.uk

I look forward to hearing from you, and hope you choose The Kimberley Hotel again for another very happy anniversary.

Kind Regards

Danni Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

The hotel is situated within 20 minutes walk of the town centre. Clean but in need of refurbishment. The bathroom appeared aged, and the bath gurgled as water flowed from the wash basin, a sign of semi blocked pipes. Parking can be a problem as spaces are limited. We found a space at the end of the afternoon, having parked on the drive initially. We did not take breakfast as £13.95 a head seemed too expensive. We walked into town and had full cooked breakfast at Wetherspoons for £8.80 inclusive for two people. The noise from other guests and a banging link door was a bit of a nuisance but this stopped after about midnight. The staff were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerallt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimManagement, Deputy General Manager at Kimberley Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Gerallt L,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Kimberley Hotel. All reviews are fantastic, as we can only improve with feedback given. The majority of our rooms have been upgraded recently to be of a modern and luxurious standard, however, how budget rooms are of basic decor. As far as breakfast is concerned, we charge £7.95 for a continental buffet and £9.95 for a Yorkshire English Breakfast buffet inclusive of continental. If you could email me directly to let me know the source of the prices of which you believed to be true, I would be very grateful. I am very glad that you found the team to be helpful, as we pride ourselves in delivering excellent guest service.

My email address is danielle.wilson@thekimberley.co.uk and I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards

Danni Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#13 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
0.7 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 31 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 31 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimberley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimberley Hotel

Property: Kimberley Hotel
Address: 11-19 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5JY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#8 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimberley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Superbreak UK so you can book your Kimberley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberley Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing