We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel and 5 minutes fromHarrogate centre”
Review of Kimberley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kimberley Hotel
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Just had a one night stay here while going to the Yorkshire Show. Good hotel, great rooms and amazing bathroom. Had our daughter so no problem with an extra camp bed. The staff were really helpful and could not do enough. Free wifi and we did not struggle with a signal in the hotel areas we used.
Went to eat in the Basement restaurant 'signatures' but no child menu or half portions ( she's only 7) and to be honest it was too hot and cramped.
The room had air con but to be honest did not do a great deal. We did not get much sleep due to the heat so only reason I have not said a 5 review.
Go out the hotel, turn right and then left at the Christies pub and the street is full of restaurants Only a 5 minute walk.. Too many to choose from. We did try Gianni's a couple of minutes from the hotel and it was a great meal. All the usual high street stuff with McDonalds, Costa, M+S etc so places to get some bits if you need anything.
Car parking was a charge of £6. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank john982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimManagement, Deputy General Manager at Kimberley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear john982,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Kimberley Hotel, Harrogate. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and chose to stay with us during The Great Yorkshire Show. I am delighted that you found our staff helpful, as we do our utmost to deliver the very best in service. I have taken your comments on board regarding our younger dinners, and we now have a children’s menu available alongside our Signatures Bistro menu.
I am sorry that you found your room uncomfortable, though I can’t remember the last time that Yorkshire had such a fantastic summer. Fans are available at reception, and our team would have brought one to your room on request.
I do hope you stay with us again, please contact us directly for the best available rates and any special offers you may be able to take advantage of.

Kind Regards
Danni Wilson
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,755)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

645 - 651 of 1,755 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We were recomended this hotel by my brother so i knew it would be good. It is ultra modern and the 2 night special for £168 is amazing value. It has a brilliant location with Wetherspoons, Bettys and the main shopping just a 5 minute walk away.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimManagement, Deputy General Manager at Kimberley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Paul K,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Kimberley Hotel, Harrogate. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and delighted that you were able to take advantage of one of our current special offers. I do hope you decide to stay with us again.

Kind Regards
Danni Wilson
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had a wonderful short break at the Kimberley. Just a 5 minute stroll to the town centre. Standard rooms are large and well furnished, the double having a huge Bed. The hotel is very clean and the staff are extremely helpful and knowledgeable of the local area. Limited parking space at the hotel but street parking is available just around the corner. If it is a modern comfortable clean hotel you are looking for, the Kimberley certainly fits the bill.

Room Tip: Just go for it, you should not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashbyeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimManagement, Deputy General Manager at Kimberley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear ashbyeagle,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Kimberley Hotel, Harrogate. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and found everything to your liking. We pride ourselves in establishing our local knowledge, and am pleased that we were able to deliver this skill during your stay. Please contact the hotel directly to obtain the best available rates, and any special offers we may be running if you decide to visit the area again.

Kind Regards
Danni Wilson
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed at the Kimberley whilst we attended an event at the conference centre which is an easy, short walk from the hotel. We has a standard double room which was nicely finished. Tea, coffee, chocolates and bottles or water were replaced daily. The room was clean and decorated in a modern style. The bed was a small double but perfectly comfortable. We found £12 each a bit steep for a breakfast when the room was only costing £50 a night so chose to eat elsewhere and there is lots of local choice. However, the dining area looked pleasant and the bar and outside seating area was good except the service was slow when the only bar person went off to make a round of teas and coffees for some customers. Parking wasn't a problem and I don't think you can grumble at the £6.00 a day fee. Our only complaint was a lack of a large towel rail or some hooks for two towels in the shower room and the room got very hot. There were two small windows but this didn't cool the air sufficiently for the summer temperatures during our stay. Overall, for the price paid, we were very happy with the hotel and it's location. Harrogate is a beautiful place and we would both be happy to stay at the Kimberley again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Beenonatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimManagement, Deputy General Manager at Kimberley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Beenonatrip,
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at The Kimberley Hotel Harrogate. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back if you decide to visit Harrogate again. Breakfast is chargeable at £7.95 for a continental, and £9.95 for a Full English per person, and is an all you can eat buffet. Our Chefs pride themselves on selecting the finest Yorkshire produce for our breakfasts, however, given our central location, the option is available for guests to choose to dine elsewhere. We do have a large supply of fans that the reception team would have been able to distribute if asked, though the weather has been fantastic and very unusual for Yorkshire! Please contact the hotel directly to take advantage of any special offers we may have running if you are looking to stay in the area again.

Kind Regards
Danni Wilson
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed one night in the build up to the Tour De France. Excellent service by the staff, really nice place. Did not eat here so cannot comment but very good value for money. Parking limited but I got a space, good value at £6 per night. Short walk into centre of Harrogate but nothing onerous. Will stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimManagement, Deputy General Manager at Kimberley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear John W,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Kimberley Hotel in Harrogate. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Please call the hotel directly to take advantage of any special offers we may have if you decide to visit Harrogate again.

Kind Regards

Danni Wilson
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I stayed at the Kimberley Hotel for two nights for a business trip. I had a double room. The hotel is comfortable and clean and the bathroom is great. The staff were absolutely lovely and very friendly. The walls are a bit thin, so there was quite a bit of creaking floors and doors banging at night that made sleep a little difficult. And the pillows were so hard I woke up with sore ears.

I am also greatly amused, as a South African, that the Kimberley Hotel proudly says on their website that their name derives from the great diamond fields in 'Australia'. They mean, of course, in South Africa.

Other than that, a perfectly nice stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingwenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimManagement, Deputy General Manager at Kimberley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Ingwenya

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Kimberley Hotel. I am delighted that you found the majority of your stay to be good, and am proud of the team for delivering excellent service. As you can imagine from a converted Victorian Town House, the floor boards do creak, but it adds to the character of such a building. We would have been more than happy to replace your pillows if you had let us know during your stay.

As for the mistake on our website, I apologise, and can assure you that this has now been corrected.

I do hope you decide to visit Harrogate again whether it be business or pleasure, please ensure you contact the hotel directly to ensure that you are able to take advantage of any special offers we may be running.

Kind Regards

Danni Wilson
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Room was HUGE!
Bathroom spotless and excellent quality of toiletries there
Mints and biscuits and bottled water at no extra charge!
Very fancy place - building stunning
Within walking distance of centre but quiet as a few streets away

Room Tip: ask for a quiet one - i did and it worked!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happy_Holidayer_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimManagement, Deputy General Manager at Kimberley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

• Dear Happy_Holidayer_28
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Kimberley Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your break, and that you appreciated the hotel and the little extras we include. I would love to welcome you back to the hotel, so please contact us directly to take advantage of any special offers we may be running in the future.

Kind Regards

Danni Wilson
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
223 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,329 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#3 of 30 in Harrogate
630 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
2,922 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimberley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimberley Hotel

Address: 11-19 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5JY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#8 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: £43 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimberley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kimberley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberley Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing