We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply superb”
Review of Kimberley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kimberley Hotel
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Simply superb”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a conference in Harrogate this week and the hotel was just simply superb. Dinner was excellent, breakfast as well, the staff were all local and actually cared about the place which shone through. Rooms excellent, comfortable bed and lovely en suite. Definitely one to revisit again. Thank you everyone there for making our few days in Harrogate restful! Be encouraged.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanS238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimManagement, Deputy General Manager at Kimberley Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear AlanS238,

Many thanks on taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Kimberley Hotel. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and were able to experience what we do best! I have passed your wonderful feedback on to the team, and look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Please contact the hotel directly to receive the best available rate, or take advantage of any special offers/packages we may be running.

Kind Regards

Danni Wilson
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    736
    658
    202
    62
    45
See reviews for
136
1,082
20
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

This was our first visit to Harrogate and certainly won't be our last. The hotel is slightly out of the centre, but only a 10/15 minute walk so bit bad at all. Upon entering the room there were flowers and wine which were paid for by my parents, the room itself was on the small side but modern with all the facilities I could possibly need for a 2 night stay. The beds were also comfortable. We had breakfast included which was great, it was a full breakfast. The breakfast room was a bit drab and within need of an upgrade to mix in with the rest of the hotel, but was clean. Check in staff were pleasant and efficient, just what you would expect from them, the only problem we had was when they tried to charge us for the flowers/wine on check out, but this was soon sorted. When I return to Harrogate, I will definitely be staying at the Kimberly.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ell14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimManagement, Deputy General Manager at Kimberley Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Ell14,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at The Kimberley Hotel in Harrogate. I am delighted that you chose to celebrate your special occasion with us. I have taken your comments on board regarding our breakfast room and will pass your feedback on. I apologise for the mistake made on check out, and can assure you that it was miscommunication on our part and am glad that this was rectified immediately. We would love to welcome you back to The Kimberley on your next trip to Harrogate, don’t forget to check with us direct in case there are any special offers you can take advantage of.

Kind Regards

Danni Wilson
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for a conference and it was superb. When we needed to get a meal through in double quick time to be ready for the following session we had the most amazing service with first class food.
Rooms were sumptious. Nothimg was too much trouble and who could go wrong with one of their enormous Yorkshire breakfasts inside them??

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimManagement, Deputy General Manager at Kimberley Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Anon,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Kimberley Hotel. I am delighted that we met your expectations, and hope that you decide to use us for your business needs again in the future. To ensure you get the best available rate, or to take advantage of any special offers we may be running, please contact the hotel directly on 01423 505613 or alternatively email info@thekimberley.co.uk

Kind Regards
Danni Wilson
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Me and my husband have just spent 2 nights here and was pleased with it, clean rooms and lovely breakfast, all staff friendly
if we visit Harrogate again we will look into returning to this hotel

Defo recommend

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YorkshireSpencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimManagement, Deputy General Deputy at Kimberley Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear YorkshireSpencer,

Many thanks for your recent review of your stay at The Kimberley Hotel, Harrogate. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay, and delighted that you would use us again and recommend us in the future. To ensure you get the best available rate and can take advantage of any special offers, please contact the hotel directly.

Kind Regards,

Danni Wilson
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Nice room and very clean. Staff all friendly and very good location.
Felt let down that the executive room we booked had plastic glasses, and the car park was an additional charge we were not made aware of prior to booking. Breakfast was ok and good service. Generally good.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kalmeister_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimManagement, Deputy General Manager at Kimberley Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear kalmeister_g,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at The Kimberley Hotel, Harrogate. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and have passed your comments to the teams involved. Our car park is chargeable at £6 a night, which would have been in any correspondence you would have received from us directly, or any 3rd party you booked with, and apologise that this was not made clearer to you.

If you are ever looking to be in the area again and would like to stay with us, please contact us directly to ensure you can take advantage of the best available rates, and any special offers we may be running at the time.

Kind Regards

Danni Wilson
Deputy General Manager
Danielle.wilson@thekimberley.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Spent a very nice 3 nights at the Kimberley from 17-20 July. The room was lovely and clean, and despite being a single room, the bed was sizeable and comfy. The bathroom was a good size with a good range of products. Despite being right next to the lift, it was peaceful and I didn't hear people banging or crashing about. I was in the shower one afternoon after my room had been made up when the maid/room checker entered but that was my fault for not putting do not disturb sign up! Excellent coffee and tea facilities which was replenished daily, and bottled water which is always a bonus. And the little chocolate was a fab touch. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank shewolf77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimManagement, Deputy General Manager at Kimberley Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear shewolf77,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Kimberley Hotel, Harrogate. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay, and apologise for the intrusion by one of our maids. Our housekeeping team pride ourselves in what they do, and like to treat every guest, whether they be a one night stay, or longer, with the same eye for detail. Our housekeepers wait until the afternoon to access rooms that are staying over, to replenish your tea trays, chocolates, and to generally give the rooms a “spruce”. I can assure you that if you had the Do Not Disturb sign on your door, then the intrusion would never have happened.
I would love to welcome you back to The Kimberley Hotel, please contact us directly if you are ever wishing to stay in the area again to take advantage of any special offers we may have.

Kind Regards

Danni Wilson
Deputy General Manager
Danielle.wilson@thekimberley.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Booked through booking.com. Executive room dinner bed & breakfast.
Very efficient check in. Room 3202. Room good size. Free water, biscuits, wine and chocolates.
Air con mint!!!! Bathroom amazing very modern. Biggest bath I have ever seen. Had to have help climbing into bath as have a back problem. Very deep. Clean towels every day, free toiletries.
Bar prices very expensive 4 drinks £17.00 plus. Had dinner first night 3 courses. Chose steak with £4.95 supplement. Well worth it food was amazing.
Only downside to weekend was breakfast Saturday morning. Very disorganised firstly no eggs, waited for eggs no bacon!! Waited and waited chef popped in and out still no bacon. Gave up the wait and chose sausages only. Very tasty. Mushrooms grilled fresh and divine. Back to table still no tea or coffee ordered after 10 minutes caught attention of a staff member and had to ask for it. Not good customer service.
Better luck Sunday? Lots of bacon etc. great! mushrooms were tinned and not fresh!!!!! No bowls for fresh fruit so gave up also no glasses for fruit juice. At least we got tea and coffee today.
All in all great stay. We laughed at the downfalls. Hopefully staff can be better trained in the future as only thing that let's the hotel down. Short walk to town. Did not spoil our weekend.

Room Tip: Can't beat the executive room. Very spacious. Fab bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimManagement, Deputy General Manager at Kimberley Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Yvonne R,

Firstly congratulations on your Ruby Wedding anniversary and thank you for choosing to celebrate your special occasion with us at The Kimberley Hotel, Harrogate. I am delighted that you found everything in your room to your liking, our executive and deluxe rooms are really a must experience, and thrilled that you could take the opportunity to reside in one of them. Our bathrooms are indeed fantastic, and many guests are astonished by the size of the bath in each room.
In regards to your comments, Signatures Bistro drinks is of similar price to that of the other hotels in Harrogate. I am sorry that you found our prices a little steep, but can assure you that they are matched throughout the rest of our lovely town. I am glad that you enjoyed dinner and took advantage of what we have to offer.
With regards to your comments regarding breakfast, I have passed them on to our Head Chef and or Breakfast supervisor. A long wait for tea & coffee is unacceptable, especially in the morning, when a lot of us need a bit of caffeine just to get through the day. Our mushrooms are never tinned, as I have been assured by our Head Chef, and I will endeavour to ensure that are quality doesn’t falter in the future and that there is enough of every item available at all times.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay, and would love to welcome you back in the future. If you would like to stay with us again and give us a chance to show you that this was an abnormal weekend, please contact me directly on my email below.

Kind Regards

Danni Wilson
Deputy General Manager
Danielle.wilson@thekimberley.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
594 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimberley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimberley Hotel

Property: Kimberley Hotel
Address: 11-19 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5JY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#8 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimberley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kimberley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberley Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing