We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Kimberley is a lovely place to stay very relaxing.”
Review of Kimberley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kimberley Hotel
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Beverley
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The Kimberley is a lovely place to stay very relaxing.”
Reviewed 31 August 2009

This hotel is excellent for any one wanting a relaxing stay with its nice fresh modern décor. Our room was in the new block at the back of the hotel and was very peaceful. The room was large and very nice, with a lovely bathroom. The cooked breakfast is the best I have had at any hotel, with plenty of selection. The bar was nice, but we had some cocktail rather expensive and staff not very good at making them, also they had run out of cherries. But the majority of the staff where excellent and very helpful.
In all a very nice hotel and we will be staying again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baggpuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    723
    647
    198
    60
    45
See reviews for
133
1,064
19
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2009

After reading other reviews I opted for the Kimberley Hotel and was not dissapointed. It was a lovely place to stay and we only paid £59 B&B - a bargain. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms have been tastefully decorated and had a comfy bed and lovely luxurious towels. It also had really nice tea & coffee in the rooms - not just your usual bog standard sachets.

It is only a short walking distance into the town and the hotel has ample free parking at the rear of the hotel.

Breakfast was great - buffet style and nice, not the usual dried out items.

I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank eskdale78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2009

We booked an executive double room through laterooms.com for £89 and it was absolutely lovely. Large modern room with lots of extras - bottle of wine, chocolates, bathrobes, etc.

We ate in the Bistro and despite one hiccup which wasn't really avoidable the food was delicious and well presented. Breakfast was excellent too - full buffet breakfast with plenty to choose from.

We'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JocastaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2009

Booked the hotel after a price check search - £59 for double room on a Friday night in the only hotel that looks like it has been updated since the 1970's and we were not dissapointed. Free car parking.

Walking distance to Harrogate centre and in house Bistro was good value for great food.

Happy to reccommend and stay again

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kev_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2009

Chosen on Trip Advisor comments.
Room was too warm but reception helpful in turning off the heated towel rail. Not aware of problems from the refurbishment although we were there at the weekend. Ate in the inhouse restaurant and was pleasantly surprised with quality. Noisy road and although on 4th floor still intrusive, Would suggest asking for a room at the rear.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magpiey80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2009

Stayed on the 19 August 2009 with my wife. Well, what a fantastic hotel, stayed only one night but wished it had been longer. The staff are warm and very helpful. The hotel rooms are very clean, comfortable and clearly should have a higher star rating. Excellent value for money and so close to Harrogate Town Centre. As "Arnie" would say "we'll be back."

Martin & Fiona
Birmingham

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 007Birmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2009

anyone wondering if they should stay at this hotel or not should definately go.we were a party of eight staying for just one night.when we arrived i was very impressed with the outside of the building,once inside it was quite clear that the rest would be just as inpressive.even if you dont stay in the new rooms,which by the way are fantastic,the rest of the hotel rooms are just as good.breakfast must not be missed,its out of this world,everything to eat and more if you so wish,i must just say how attentive the guy who took us into the breakfast room was,top marks.hotel was full when we stayed and that says it all .will stay here again when next in harrogate.5*****.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dollydee91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,495 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,647 reviews
0.7 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimberley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimberley Hotel

Property: Kimberley Hotel
Address: 11-19 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5JY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#8 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimberley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimberley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberley Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing