We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel with a lovely room”
Review of Kimberley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimberley Hotel
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great hotel with a lovely room”
Reviewed 1 October 2010

Lovely welcome, good location, good sized room and nicely furnished. Great breakfast and friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheshirecat87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    745
    666
    202
    62
    45
See reviews for
137
1,094
20
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

We arrived quite late so there were no rooms in the car park but we were given a parking permit to park on the street. The room was large and comfortable with a spotless bathroom. The only niggle we had was the toilet cisten wouldn't stop flushing and was very loud but I reported this and it was fixed pretty quickly. The breakfast was varied and hot and the service was excellent and the hotel bar was open all night. The location was perfect as we were attending a function at the Harrogate International Centre - which was next door practically!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCG1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2010

We had a very pleasant stay in this lovely hotel. The staff were excellent, very professional and equally very welcoming and helpful. The breakfast was excellent as was the dinner the night before. We thought the room was generous in size and the general decor of the room was of a high standard.
If there was a drawback, it was that we were on the ground floor overlooking the car park. Were we staying longer, it would be worth spending a bit more on the room and being on a higher floor.
I'd definitely recommend the hotel and would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delhi24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2010

I have stayed in many hotels in harrogate as i come here every year on buisness.
Some hotels have been terrible , some great and some ok. The Kimberley is ok.
When we arrived there was nowhere to park as the carpark was full ( all you need after a 5 hour journey ! ) to be fair though the staff were quite helpfull and moved the hotel mini bus to let us in.
We had booked a deluxe room which was allocated in the annexe.
The room was ok obviosly decorated quite recently but was nothing special infact it lacked any character atall . Being in the annexe we felt extremley cut of from the hotel and you have to walk outside to get back into the hotel ( not good when it was poring with rain.
We were given a tatty old teddy in the room a cheap bottle of plonk and dressing gowns that were ripped to shreads not worth the £825 we paid for two rooms for two nights!
There are better places to stay in Harrogate for less money .

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinstyler32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2010

No complaints about the hotel..staff were extremely efficient and friendly, food excellent.
However..the attention to detail let them down..for example, missing drawer in bedside cupboard, no storage room/shelf in (very large) bathroom, bedside lighting too dim to read by, sash of towelling robe had been mangled/cut short so that it didn't go round me..okay, they may seem nit picky comments, but it seems a shame that a hotel that has obviously had a lot of money and attention devoted to it, has forgotten the comfortable bits!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilaward1252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Kimberley from 2nd September for 4 nights. We found the Duty Manager very professional, the breakfasts and dinners good and the staff serving very police and helpful.[

However, we were extremely disappointed with our room. The mattress was stained and had no protector on it. The handbasin was cracked and the toilet seat was urine stained and cracked. There were numberous smaller problems in the bedroom and bathroom and, in our view, this came nowhere near a 4 star (or even 3) establishment. We certainly would not stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186298Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
347 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

I really can't fault this hotel, we had a fabulous one-night stay and would happily stay there again.

We booked a deluxe room which ensured we were in the annexe at the back of the hotel. The room was very spacious, the bathroom luxurious and the little extras - wine, robes, teddy bear and chocolates - made the stay.

The hotel is perfectly located, just a short stroll into the town centre. We didn't eat at the hotel, but did have a lovely cooked breakfast in bed on the morning which was delivered bang on time. Could have been warmer, but then it's a fair jaunt from the kitchen!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigCol63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#9 of 30 in Harrogate
151 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.7 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimberley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimberley Hotel

Property: Kimberley Hotel
Address: 11-19 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5JY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#8 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimberley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Kimberley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberley Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing