We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAYING AT THE BARCELO MAJESTIC HARROGATE”
Review of The Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Majestic Hotel
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“STAYING AT THE BARCELO MAJESTIC HARROGATE”
Reviewed 19 June 2012

This is a great hotel we have been staying here for about 20 years and can,t wait to come again. We are lways made welcome Thankyou

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUPERSUE_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    755
    886
    550
    303
    192
See reviews for
335
1,407
34
343
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (684)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boldon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We had a suite of rooms, including balcony with views, and all for £99 for two of us, including breakfast. Everything worked. Well positioned, parking included. What more do you want?

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2012

The hotel itself is a beautiful place, with lovely views and great facilities. However, following a mix up with our rooms, our party was separated, and the rooms were not what we paid for. Hotel staff were not apologetic, and were at times very rude when we tried to sort this situation out. Our whole time in the hotel was marred by a catalogue of errors, and this, coupled with the attitude we faced really spoilt what should have been a lovely break.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mallory J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear Mallory J,

Thank you for your review and my sincere apologies for the issue which affected your group's block of rooms. As no formal complaint has been registered, I would ask you to get in contact so that we can understand what went wrong on your booking.

Our staff are a friendly and helpful small team and I am sorry that they clearly did not have an obvious solution for you at the time. We do try and act upon all booking requests though sometimes this is not always logistically possible.

Again, please do give us the opportunity to look into the issues.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Harrogate hotels

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

The Majestic is really trading on it past history. It's huge and imposing, well situated for central Harrogate and with updated rooms that were much better than the rather dingy facade suggested. The staff were friendly and attentive, but it's the kind of place you have to feel comfortable with to realy enjoy. The dining room is very large and echoey with large numbers of people dining at the same time - to me it felt like an up-market holidya camp. The room was clean and comfortable, with plenty of space. Breakfast (self-service) was plentiful and varied. We stayed one night on a breakfast-included deal, which was good value.

We chose to have dinner at the hotel and it proved to be a Big Mistake! £25 a head for 3 very mediocre courses. The menu was uninteresting and tasteless, definitely not worth the money. We asked for a full wine list rather than the choice of 3 reds and 3 whites that came with the menu, and chose to have a glass each of sparkling wine to be followed by a glass each of red. Our waiter told us this wasn't possible as we could only order a bottle, despite our choices coming from the list of 'Wines by the glass'. We did get the sparkling wine and gave up on the glasses of red, though we did tell reception who brought the restaurant manager to see us. She assured us that this had been a mistake nad was most apologetic, but it seemed very odd. I would definitely suggest eating at one of the many choices of eating place in the town only a few minutes walk away!

Room Tip: Those overlooking the gardens have a good aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panski50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

This is an enormous hotel: not really our style but we have stayed at Barcelo hotels before and this is very central to all Harrogate's attractions.
The room we were given at first had very thin walls and the people next door had the TV on at 6.30a.m.!! When we explained at the desk they immediately moved us to a corner room which was much nicer and quiet!
We had dinner on the first night which was not great: very slow service and rather boring food. There were weddings every day of our stay and we wondered if the kitchen was overworked. At breakfast the music was 1950's-70's rock and roll. When I asked if they could turn it down the waiter came and turned off the speaker nearest us which was fine. The food was OK but there are lots of good places to eat in Harrogate- The White Hart on Coldbath Rd is excellent.
Overall this hotel is rather tired but staff were all pleasant and we had a good time. I thought the car park was expensive but one of the guests told me that it wasn't compared to other places in Harrogate.
VISIT: The Pump Room. Ripley Castle. Harlow Carr Gardens. Newby Hall.

Room Tip: Say you are a light sleeper !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jw2915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Arrived to find that the bathroom had not been cleaned properly, which was rather off putting. Upon complaint to reception this was put right. Nice large room and bed was very comfortable.
Would say more but due to illness did,t complete our two night break

Room Tip: We asked for a room that would be suitable for a disabled person. The hotel took this on board and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirley50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Stayed at this hotel for two nights bed and breakfast with evening meal on the first night.
Evening meal was tasty and service was speedy.
Breakfasts were self service, plenty of choice and nicely cooked.
Hotel is full of charm, useful for walking into Harrogate.
Would recommend this for a short break.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manchester-cas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,257 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,530 reviews
0.6 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
586 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Hotel

Property: The Majestic Hotel
Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#9 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian landmark, the four-star Majestic Hotel has 170 bedrooms and sits in 12 acres of landscaped grounds in the centre of the spa town of Harrogate. Just a mile from the train station and 10 minutes walk from the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, it’s the perfect location to enjoy Harrogate’s quaint shops and spas; and you can also venture out to the wild landscape of the Yorkshire Dales. With a pool, jacuzzi, steam room and beauty salon, as well as tea rooms, a bar and the Majestic Restaurant there’s everything you need to relax after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Harrogate
Majestic Hotel Harrogate
The Majestic Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing