We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“majestic by name and nature”
Review of The Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Majestic Hotel
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Spent three days at this hotel as a base to tour Harrogate and surrounding area.
Built on a hill this hotel has a fine view overlooking the town.Access to reception is from the main carpark,the first thing I noticed is there is no disabled access from the car park to reception.Those with mobility issues have to take a circular route via the spa and gym to reach the reception.Reception was quick and efficient.Our room was on the second floor overlooking the main entrance,which proved to be a bit noisy on occasions.The room was a good size with two armchairs and a desk with a plentiful supply of information about the hotel and surrounding area.The en-suite too was of a decent size,although the step into the bath was quite high.As usual the house keepers worked hard and did a good job of keeping everywhere well cleaned.
We stayed on a b+b basis so only used the dining room in the morning.The dining room was one of the largest we have ever seen,almost big enough to play football in.The room afforded plenty of space between tables which made a nice change.The breakfast menu was excellent with a choice to suit every taste, pity there was no black pudding.The dining room, like the rest of the hotel gives an insight back to a more elegant time,everywhere has thick carpets and chandeliers,wide sweeping staircases and corridors wide enough to almost drive down.At all times the staff where helpful and attentive and although the hotel could do with some T.L.C in some areas,we would recommend the Majestic as an excellent base from which to tour this very nice area.

Room Tip: Room on the fourth floor overlooking the main garden and terrace are quieter and have the best views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richdene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,987)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,957 - 2,963 of 2,987 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2012

Stayed at the Majestic for one night on route to Lake District. Excellent hotel, perhaps a little dated looking but that does not detract from the hotel staff and service who we all found to be helpful and courteous. Would definitely return if I am that way again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 321Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Stayed their for a wedding.
The hotel lobby and bar area are modern and bright - I'd say recently renovated.
The room was recently done too, all neutral tones, however, the bathroom was in a poor way, nothing to detract from our 1 night stay.
Breakfast was huge, a great variety, although no black pudding.
The £3.50 car parking charge is excessive considering the room prices.
the pool was clean and offers jacuzzi and sauna pleasing - especially the morning after!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKChris82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

This is a great hotel we have been staying here for about 20 years and can,t wait to come again. We are lways made welcome Thankyou

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SUPERSUE_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We had a suite of rooms, including balcony with views, and all for £99 for two of us, including breakfast. Everything worked. Well positioned, parking included. What more do you want?

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

The hotel itself is a beautiful place, with lovely views and great facilities. However, following a mix up with our rooms, our party was separated, and the rooms were not what we paid for. Hotel staff were not apologetic, and were at times very rude when we tried to sort this situation out. Our whole time in the hotel was marred by a catalogue of errors, and this, coupled with the attitude we faced really spoilt what should have been a lovely break.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mallory J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Dear Mallory J,

Thank you for your review and my sincere apologies for the issue which affected your group's block of rooms. As no formal complaint has been registered, I would ask you to get in contact so that we can understand what went wrong on your booking.

Our staff are a friendly and helpful small team and I am sorry that they clearly did not have an obvious solution for you at the time. We do try and act upon all booking requests though sometimes this is not always logistically possible.

Again, please do give us the opportunity to look into the issues.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

The Majestic is really trading on it past history. It's huge and imposing, well situated for central Harrogate and with updated rooms that were much better than the rather dingy facade suggested. The staff were friendly and attentive, but it's the kind of place you have to feel comfortable with to realy enjoy. The dining room is very large and echoey with large numbers of people dining at the same time - to me it felt like an up-market holidya camp. The room was clean and comfortable, with plenty of space. Breakfast (self-service) was plentiful and varied. We stayed one night on a breakfast-included deal, which was good value.

We chose to have dinner at the hotel and it proved to be a Big Mistake! £25 a head for 3 very mediocre courses. The menu was uninteresting and tasteless, definitely not worth the money. We asked for a full wine list rather than the choice of 3 reds and 3 whites that came with the menu, and chose to have a glass each of sparkling wine to be followed by a glass each of red. Our waiter told us this wasn't possible as we could only order a bottle, despite our choices coming from the list of 'Wines by the glass'. We did get the sparkling wine and gave up on the glasses of red, though we did tell reception who brought the restaurant manager to see us. She assured us that this had been a mistake nad was most apologetic, but it seemed very odd. I would definitely suggest eating at one of the many choices of eating place in the town only a few minutes walk away!

Room Tip: Those overlooking the gardens have a good aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panski50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Swan Hotel
Old Swan Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
1,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
1,485 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#7 of 30 in Harrogate
1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Hotel

Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#9 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: £61 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian landmark, the four-star Majestic Hotel has 170 bedrooms and sits in 12 acres of landscaped grounds in the centre of the spa town of Harrogate. Just a mile from the train station and 10 minutes walk from the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, it’s the perfect location to enjoy Harrogate’s quaint shops and spas; and you can also venture out to the wild landscape of the Yorkshire Dales. With a pool, jacuzzi, steam room and beauty salon, as well as tea rooms, a bar and the Majestic Restaurant there’s everything you need to relax after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Harrogate
Majestic Hotel Harrogate
The Majestic Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing