We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”
Review of The Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Majestic Hotel
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Short stay admittedly but could not fault staff or hotel, wonderful public rooms very grand decoration and beautiful surroundings. Breakfast excellent could want for nothing would definately stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spiderkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    759
    897
    565
    314
    194
See reviews for
340
1,427
36
353
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (694)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

The public areas of this hotel are beautifully majestic with marble pillars and crystal chandeliers. It's nice to see original Edwardian features - previous owners must have been so tempted to modernise the place. The staff were all very helpful and I couldn't fault the service. The superior rooms are excellent with a massive comfortable bed. The canteen style breakfast was good, the evening meals were fine but not wow. Little disappointed that the gardens were covered in temporary buildings for a trade fair but all businesses need to make money. Pleasant walk into town where there are some quality shops and restaurants. We will certainly be returning.

Room Tip: Room 300 was great :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Durham_Folks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

stayed at majestic on 3 july,very nice hotel and very nice rooms,hotel staff are very friendly,great breakfast and fast service.

Room Tip: room 258 is a very nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jill196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012 via mobile

I stayed here on a business trip. Having been in one of the meeting rooms on previous visits I thought I'd try staying here. Firstly meeting and conference facilites were good and the food provided was pretty good. The building is quite grand and reasonably well decorated and clean in the public areas. The gym is small but functional and the pool is quite good too. The restaurant offers a fixed price 3 course menu so if you want anything else you have to pay silly prices to eat in the bar or your room. The food in the restaurant was obviously focused on presentation rather than taste and cleverly disguised what I suspect was a prepared meal heated in a microwave or some at least just reheated. The rooms are massive and seemed clean however there was a think line of dust all around the edge of the floor and furniture where the Hoover obviously can't get to. Also there were few "curly" hairs in the bed when I pulled the duvet back. Having said all that, I would still stay here again but I'd go out to eat next time. The location is pretty good as its just a short walk down a hill to the centre of town.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrtn44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Our wedding lunch took place at this hotel 50 years ago, and therefore with our 4 offspring and their spice, and the ten further little dividends we went back there for a two night break.
The hotel has been through various ownership in recent years,Dawney Day as Paramount Hotels, Barco, and now Puma. We had been back fro a short visit when under Paramount, and the Puma ownership is quite recent, but they have wrought miracles.

Firstly a very understanding, helpful and negotiable booking office, The smiliest welcome I have experienced for a long time, and far above everything a reception staff who had understood and put into effect all our convoluted bedding arrangements ( I refer to the doubles, twins, trebles to accomodate the various sub divisions of our families.

The rooms were spacious, bright, with gleaming bathrooms, and the most modern of TV sets.
Beds to encourage sleep, and a perfectly adequate, freshly served breakfast buffet in a sparklingy clean ( by this I mean table crockery cleared immediatly after use) dining room by really good staff. The kids let off steam in a pleasant wimming pool. .

The Hotel is wihin a short walk of all the joys of Harrogate, in an elevated and bright position.

The prices are very attractive, and this is an Hotel which has made an outstanding effort to rejuvenate it's earlier reputation.

Room Tip: If you dont want to b awakened by an early bright sun, then chose a room facing west !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank President66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Fantastic old hotel with lovely staff, Enjoyed our 3 night stay a lot. Breakfast is a must to set you up for the day. This was our 2nd visit and would return without thinking about it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Souherner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull,UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Stayed for 1 night,this was once a grand hotel however it now needs some serious investment. Had stayed before however our room this time (229)had a shabby bathroom.The leisure club changing facilities are very poor and need an update.car parking charge very cheeky!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChazzaHull-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
137 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
596 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Swan Hotel
Old Swan Hotel
#16 of 30 in Harrogate
1,677 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Hotel

Property: The Majestic Hotel
Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#9 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian landmark, the four-star Majestic Hotel has 170 bedrooms and sits in 12 acres of landscaped grounds in the centre of the spa town of Harrogate. Just a mile from the train station and 10 minutes walk from the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, it’s the perfect location to enjoy Harrogate’s quaint shops and spas; and you can also venture out to the wild landscape of the Yorkshire Dales. With a pool, jacuzzi, steam room and beauty salon, as well as tea rooms, a bar and the Majestic Restaurant there’s everything you need to relax after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Harrogate
Majestic Hotel Harrogate
The Majestic Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing