We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romatic weekend,heres the place”
Review of The Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Majestic Hotel
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Bolton
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Romatic weekend,heres the place”
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Visited Harrogate for the first time and stayed at the majestic Hotel,fantastic rooms, fantastic service.Great breakfast you leave feeling fabulous,will definately book again

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boltontats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    750
    876
    537
    297
    188
See reviews for
333
1,384
31
339
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (673)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Stayed here approximately 10 years ago and found myself staying here again for one night for a function being held in the hotel. The hotel was a very good venue for the function itself and the food excellent. The hotel car park was totally inadequate however to support the number of people attending the function as well as the regular hotel guests.

What struck me about the hotel is how dated the whole place feels and seriously in need of major maintenance and refurbishment. Little seemed to have changed since my earlier visit 10 years ago? My room was ok although the bathroom shabby - not to mention the brown water with grit in it coming out of the taps that the receptionist didn't seem interest in when I mentioned it when checking out. The view from my room was very depressing looking out at rotting window sills/frames and peeling paintwork.

This hotel clearly was a very special place in its heyday but it now needs major investment to bring it back to its former grandeur.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Just come back from a hen weekend, lovely big rooms and bathroom, even a decent shower. Had a spa session which was lovely and staff very friendly, only downfall not enough staff on the bar so had to wait a while for a drink. Food nice just a little pricey, overall brilliant weekend

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mharper001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Short stay admittedly but could not fault staff or hotel, wonderful public rooms very grand decoration and beautiful surroundings. Breakfast excellent could want for nothing would definately stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spiderkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

The public areas of this hotel are beautifully majestic with marble pillars and crystal chandeliers. It's nice to see original Edwardian features - previous owners must have been so tempted to modernise the place. The staff were all very helpful and I couldn't fault the service. The superior rooms are excellent with a massive comfortable bed. The canteen style breakfast was good, the evening meals were fine but not wow. Little disappointed that the gardens were covered in temporary buildings for a trade fair but all businesses need to make money. Pleasant walk into town where there are some quality shops and restaurants. We will certainly be returning.

Room Tip: Room 300 was great :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Durham_Folks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

stayed at majestic on 3 july,very nice hotel and very nice rooms,hotel staff are very friendly,great breakfast and fast service.

Room Tip: room 258 is a very nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jill196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012 via mobile

I stayed here on a business trip. Having been in one of the meeting rooms on previous visits I thought I'd try staying here. Firstly meeting and conference facilites were good and the food provided was pretty good. The building is quite grand and reasonably well decorated and clean in the public areas. The gym is small but functional and the pool is quite good too. The restaurant offers a fixed price 3 course menu so if you want anything else you have to pay silly prices to eat in the bar or your room. The food in the restaurant was obviously focused on presentation rather than taste and cleverly disguised what I suspect was a prepared meal heated in a microwave or some at least just reheated. The rooms are massive and seemed clean however there was a think line of dust all around the edge of the floor and furniture where the Hoover obviously can't get to. Also there were few "curly" hairs in the bed when I pulled the duvet back. Having said all that, I would still stay here again but I'd go out to eat next time. The location is pretty good as its just a short walk down a hill to the centre of town.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrtn44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,496 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Hotel

Property: The Majestic Hotel
Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#9 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian landmark, the four-star Majestic Hotel has 170 bedrooms and sits in 12 acres of landscaped grounds in the centre of the spa town of Harrogate. Just a mile from the train station and 10 minutes walk from the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, it’s the perfect location to enjoy Harrogate’s quaint shops and spas; and you can also venture out to the wild landscape of the Yorkshire Dales. With a pool, jacuzzi, steam room and beauty salon, as well as tea rooms, a bar and the Majestic Restaurant there’s everything you need to relax after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Harrogate
Majestic Hotel Harrogate
The Majestic Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing