We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a great location”
Review of The Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Majestic Hotel
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

This Victorian hotel stands proud at the centre of Harrogate overlooking the Conference and Exhibition Centre. We had a fourth floor, front facing double room that was spacious and well furnished. The hotel is massive and has a labyrinth of rooms, bars and function rooms. The service was very good and it was reasonably priced for a town/city centre four star hotel. I cannot comment about the restaurants and leisure facilities as it was simply a base for overnight visit celebrating a friends 40th birthday but it served its purpose perfectly.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for posting your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and all feedback helps us either keep doing the things which work well, or highlighting areas where we can improve.

I do hope we can welcome you back to the Majestic soon.

Many thanks, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    758
    892
    562
    311
    193
See reviews for
338
1,422
36
348
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (691)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We arrived at 2pm ready for a great weekend in Harrogate and didn't expect to have to change rooms a further two times. The first room we got put in was tiny and had peeling wallpaper, white splatters on the lampshade, holesin the wall and what looked like blood on the pillow. The second room was biggerl but was again dirty and had damp and mildew everywhere. We were then told we could upgrade to a refurbished room but would need to pay an additional £30, this was eventually waived - I was not paying extra just to have a clean room!! (which still had drink spills down the wall anyway!)
I expected the hotel to be quite old, most of Harrogate is like this and its quaint and historical but the Majestic wasn't just old, it was dirty and unmaintained.The only good thing about this hotel is it's location, which is perfect for a venture into Harrogate.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

I have stayed here quite a number of times and the hotel does appear to improved. The public areas are still rather old fashioned and tired in places, however the big change was in the rooms. The rooms used to be very old fashioned and chintzy - this thankfully has changed and the room was modern yet comfortable although the bathroom had some strange placements for some of the sanitaryware.

All in all a pleasant enough experience without being excellent.

Room Tip: Get one that has been renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joma71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012 via mobile

Just spent a night at the Majestic with my son wife and dog! We had a large family room with two double beds.
From the building , public rooms and gardens you could see that this must have been such a grand hotel in the good old days. In 2012 it was just plain tired. From worn carpets to staff service lifts rubbing landings with the guest lifts you can just see that this former landmark hotel needs a good few million thrown at it. In fairness our room 434 was roomy with great views. But...the bathroom was just a disgrace. The wc barely worked , the shower bath was mouldy and the grout brown and dirty. The shower thermostat didnt work and the paintwork and floor not worthy of four stars. Who are you kidding.
In fairness the staff were friendly and keen. Harrogate was fun though!

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank horsetiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review though I'm unable to agree with your opinion. The Majestic certainly has grandeur though is not "just plain tired". I'd be interested to hear where the worn carpets are as all our carpets almost in their entirety were changed in 2011. The service lift has always shared the same landing foyer, which is huge.

Your bedroom was fully refurbished in 2012, so surely no issue there. The bathroom is a small bathroom and has not yet been modernised. You made no report of any item not working or barely working during your stay when surely it would be helpful to highlight this upon departure. We have since undertaken some minor repairs and it is slightly old fashioned with some discoloured sealant.

Our staff will be happy that you found them friendly and keen.

The hotel is enormous and takes an awful amount of looking after. I fully understand that sometimes we make errors and accept fair and constructive criticism though in this instance feel the comments to be unfair and unfounded.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Harrogate hotels

Rutland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

A very imposing hotel with grand public rooms. It deals well with lots of people but struggles to cater for individuals. The staff were helpful and friendly. The rooms were dated and overheated (no air conditioning) but clean. Food was rather bland even the cooked breakfast wasn't very appetising, nothing was bad just not great.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rohanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Excellent value as we had booked a 2 day short break in the half price sale. Beautiful hotel, really nice, clean, spacious premium room. Went to Harrogate by train and hotel only short walk from station and within easy walking of all town centre and beautiful gardens in Harrogate. Even walked to Harlow Carr through Valleys Gardens. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the hotel and the town. Would definitely recomend.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Embo, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Booked 3 day break with Saga and disappointed by Saga and Majestic Hotel. The hotel at first looked beautiful but when looking closely it is badly in need of exterior maintainence.
The first room we were allocated obviously had a bad leak in the ceiling and smelled of damp, the corners of the wallpaper was peeling off in places. On complaining the receptionist immediatly gave us another room and said that she would take the room out of commision until repaired.

We ordered our evening meal at 1900 hours and did not receive our first course until well over an hour later (the dining room was not very busy) When we did receive our food it was well below the standard expected in a four star establishment, I would compare it to a poor school meal.

Next morning we went for breakfast at 0800hours and it looked disgusting, the eggs and the beans looked congealed and inedible. On complaining to the restaurant manager she informed us that the buffet had been out since 0700 hours. When asked if she would eat the eggs, in the state they were in, she said "I don't eat eggs". There did not appear to be any person supervising the buffet. I ordered a kipper in parsley butter from the menu, it was obviously a 'boil in the bag'kipper with no parsely butter.

We took our complaints about the state of the first room, and the quality of the diningroom service and quality of the food to the duty manager. His answer to the leaking ceiling was that it only leaked when it rained (The previous night was a thunder storm). His answer to the poor service was that they had over 100 covers the previous night. He did offer us a free dinner but we declined his offer and said that because of the quality of the food at dinner, we would prefer to eat elsewhere. We told him that the reason for our complaint was not to obtain 'Freebies' it was to point out shortcomings in the service provided, so that he could address them and possibly improve for the future.

Breakfast on the following two mornings was much improved, and the buffet was being supervised, with items removed after standing over a long period. The duty manager must have had words with the dining room staff. It is a pity it takes guest complaints to provide a good service.

On the plus side the leisure facilities at the Magestic Hotel could only be described as Excellent, a good sized swimming pool and superb gym equipment.

Room Tip: Avoid room 301
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emboalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for sharing your experience and I am sorry that you were unhappy with your stay.

In the torrential rains we have recently endured it was still unforseen that a leak would enter your original room and when this did happen we were able to move you straight away.

That evening, with the heavy rain continuing we became inundated with diners as the vast majority of our guests decided to stay inside. This meant our restaurant which was expecting 50 guests ended up serving over 100 and our chefs also had an additonal 30 bar meal on top. This clearly impacted the levels of guests service, which we accepted and apologised for at the time. Our food definately isn't representative of a poor meal at the school I attended, though for the above reasons we found ourselves under pressure. We had over 200 residents on the Sunday night.

There are times when our plans go wrong and this dinner service was one of these occasions. By offering you a free meal we weren't trying to provide a freebie, but merely trying to get the chance to show you our normal service levels.

On breakfast I'm sorry that you were again unhappy, as well as fried eggs we have scrambled eggs on the buffet and poached eggs cooked to order on request. As it is you selected the kippers which are a cook in the bag product and a a very good one at that .

I am glad that you enjoyed the leisure club and again am sorry that your first night was so problematic.

KInd regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,275 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
135 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
592 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,565 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Hotel

Property: The Majestic Hotel
Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#9 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian landmark, the four-star Majestic Hotel has 170 bedrooms and sits in 12 acres of landscaped grounds in the centre of the spa town of Harrogate. Just a mile from the train station and 10 minutes walk from the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, it’s the perfect location to enjoy Harrogate’s quaint shops and spas; and you can also venture out to the wild landscape of the Yorkshire Dales. With a pool, jacuzzi, steam room and beauty salon, as well as tea rooms, a bar and the Majestic Restaurant there’s everything you need to relax after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Harrogate
Majestic Hotel Harrogate
The Majestic Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing