We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Take a step back in time!”
Review of The Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Majestic Hotel
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Hay-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Take a step back in time!”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in this lovely hotel. The public rooms are really impressive and built to impress the rich in 1900. We stayed on the first floor, above the original entrance. Our rooms were great, spacious and clean. We had booked the executive rooms, complaints seem to come from those staying in standard rooms. Our bed was super king-sized and very comfortable.
We did not eat dinner in the restaurant but had breakfast which is buffet style. I do prefer to order my food and be served but that is personal choice and It was fine. My sister however, ordered the kippers in parsley butter, which looked awful. It was tiny, and looked like boil-in-the-bag and certainly had no parsley butter. For a 4 star hotel, especially in view of the fact that others had made similar comments, I feel they should have addressed this issue sooner.

Overall a lovely hotel and will definitely book again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawncardiff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for posting your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and all feedback helps us either keep doing the things which work well, or highlighting areas where we can improve.

I do hope we can welcome you back to the Majestic soon.

Many thanks, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    750
    876
    537
    296
    188
See reviews for
333
1,384
31
339
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (673)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkby Lonsdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

The Majestic looks the part on the surface and one can certainly imagine it being splendid in times gone by but for all the money that would appear to have been spent on its facelift (referring to other posts) the decor is relatively uninspiring and more reminiscent of your Gran's front room than a grand hotel. Brown and beige appear to be the name of the game..and lots of swirls.

The public rooms are spacious and comfortable but empty. There is no reading material available - not even a dog-eared newspaper - and it would appear that they are therefore provided to allow you to recover between traipsing between the manned services; the bar that was open and restaurant are sufficiently distant from one another to given Usain Bolt a healthy warm up.

I resisted the 3 course meal for £25 - which appears to be reasonable value - in favour of a bar meal and whilst tasty, hot and freshly put together, the beer batter on my fish would have remained crisper were it not for the rather ostentatious silver dome.

The standard room was of a reasonable size, clean, comfortable and brown and the bathroom bright, clean and fresh looking - despite it's brown feature wall.

Like most modernised hotels, rooms benefit from a good selection of Freeview TV channels and free WiFi.

Overall, the Majestic would appear to offer reasonable value for money and clearly attracts families with dogs (a good thing in my book) but would probably not be somewhere to take a loved one if you are out to impress or if you are looking to treat yourself to something special.

Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank LaidBacknHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Dear Laidbacknhappy,

Thank you for your review and I'm sorry that you were unimpressed with certain aspects of your stay. I've not had the pleaseure of visiting your Gran's front room though assume its quite nice. In fairness I did have to double take as there really is very little in the hotel rooms which is brown. We have some rooms with burgundy and gold feature walls ?

On arrival you will have been asked if you wanted to order a newspaper and we also have a veritable mountain of free Independants at Reception, plus there the Majestic history book in each bedroom which charts the wonderful heritage and some amazing stories of the hotel.

When you are next returning to Harrogate do let me know and I will ensure you are in a bedroom with different decor.

Many thanks, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

If you like/love Harrogate this is an ideal hotel for posistion, it is on the doorstep. Walk out of the hotel and it is less than a 10min walk,better still it brings you right next to the Turkish Baths,and where the majority of different eateries that Harrowgate has to offer. The hotel is like its name, an old statesman but very majestic,steeped in history,not something you see every day. It belongs to the Puma group formely the Barcelo family, and its standards of value and service are superb,if you have stayed at any of their hotels you will no what I mean. Our room was a modern en-suite double both comfortable and quiet and very clean. The price was £79 for the room inc breakfast per night, with the use of the facilities inc swimming pool,gym etc.As usual the breakfast is self service,with full English variety, assortment of cereals,and fruits,you can just get as much as you want. We compared other hotels and B&Bs for this area and there was no where that could match this for value or facilities and posistion.You also get free WI-FI,there is an additional cost to park your car,at £3.50 per night,but as you should not need it,you can go out without the worry of finding somwhere to park.

Room Tip: Become a member you get a free upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for posting your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and all feedback helps us either keep doing the things which work well, or highlighting areas where we can improve.

I do hope we can welcome you back to the Majestic soon.

Many thanks, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed in a premium double room which was modern in style, roomy, well-equipped and very comfortable. The public areas of this hotel are truly beautiful as the hotel has recently undergone a major refurbishment programme. Have you ever wondered what the huge turn of the 20th century palatial ballrooms and restaurants really felt and looked like in all their original splendour instead of just gazing at them through sepia-coloured photographs? Stay at The Majestic and experience it for yourself combined with all modern comforts and facilities of course.
We had a three-course evening meal at the hotel restaurant (a reasonable price - £25 per head), the food was very good quality and the service was excellent - very attentive and efficient but not intrusive. The hotel restaurant also offers a children's menu and is family-friendly so the kids can experience eating in a place which is packed full of English history and palatial splendour without breaking the bank. However, if you want to eat elsewhere the hotel is just a few minutes walk away from Harrogate's restaurants, fast-food outlets, shops, conference centre and theatres. The leisure facilities at the hotel were very clean with well-equipped changing areas for the gymnasium, jacuzzi and swimming pool and all the staff we met were friendly, welcoming and helpful.
We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Harrogate and our stay at The Majestic Hotel, we are looking forward to our return trip and would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for posting your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and all feedback helps us either keep doing the things which work well, or highlighting areas where we can improve.

I do hope we can welcome you back to the Majestic soon.

Many thanks, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Booked primarily for the location, as I was attending a business conference in the Conference Center Nearby.
Our room was lovely it was a premium room which had bathrobes and complementry slippers. Large and Newly decorated, with large bathroom. Imaculatly clean. Comfortable beds. Quiet Room. Good rage of TV Cannels. Plenty of storage.
I did visit a collegues room (A standard room on the 3rd floor) which was also good, it was just a little smaller.
We had Breakfast which was lovely. you can help yourself to a range of foods including a cooked breakfast, and continental breakfasts. We did not have to wait around to be seated and were offered Tea & Coffee imediatly, which was delivered promptly.
I made use of the onsite Pool, wich althouh compared to the rest of the hotel, looked a little tired, it was clean and in good order.
I would highly recommend this hotel as good value for money. I have stayed in others, many more expensive, but none as nice.

Room Tip: The higher floors are the premium rooms. We stayed on the 4th floor in a twin room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for posting your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and all feedback helps us either keep doing the things which work well, or highlighting areas where we can improve.

I do hope we can welcome you back to the Majestic soon.

Many thanks, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

On staying here, the hotel staff were friendly and welcoming. However, it is a bit rundown in some areas and could do with a revamp. However, in all fairness the building is old, and similair condition to many of its age. The breakfast and meals were of average quality.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnoldswick,Lancs
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2012

No complaints what so ever , I thoroughly enjoyed my stay in the Majestic Hotel & would definitely stay there again . The service was second to none , the staff are friendly & we loved the pool area & Jacuzzi . Yes in all was fantastic. Thanks again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RussOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for posting your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and all feedback helps us either keep doing the things which work well, or highlighting areas where we can improve.

I do hope we can welcome you back to the Majestic soon.

Many thanks, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,494 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Hotel

Property: The Majestic Hotel
Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#9 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian landmark, the four-star Majestic Hotel has 170 bedrooms and sits in 12 acres of landscaped grounds in the centre of the spa town of Harrogate. Just a mile from the train station and 10 minutes walk from the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, it’s the perfect location to enjoy Harrogate’s quaint shops and spas; and you can also venture out to the wild landscape of the Yorkshire Dales. With a pool, jacuzzi, steam room and beauty salon, as well as tea rooms, a bar and the Majestic Restaurant there’s everything you need to relax after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Harrogate
Majestic Hotel Harrogate
The Majestic Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing