We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Cairn Hotel(Harrogate)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Kimberley Hotel(Harrogate)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Old Swan Hotel(Harrogate)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Hotel(Harrogate)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate(Harrogate)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,355)
Filter reviews
3,355 results
Traveller rating
908
1,083
703
399
262
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
908
1,083
703
399
262
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspremium roomafternoon teaevening mealleisure facilitiesthree course mealrefurbished roomtown centrepublic areaslarge hotelspa breakbit datedself servicelots of choiceold buildingcar parkingbuffet styleone night stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,254 - 3,259 of 3,355 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed at the Majestic Hotel for 2 nights over the August Bank holiday weekend for a short break walking in the Dales and visiting friends. The staff were friendly and willing enough but the hotel accommodation and building itself is in need of a significant makeover/update to justify the costs. The room was well enough equipped, but the charges for food, and the short opening times of the restaurant for breakfast, 08:00 till 10:00 on a Bank Holiday weekend, was poor. The general feeling was one of a hotel past it's prime still charging as if it were a majestic hotel. On the positive the location is ideal, a short walk past the conference centre into the town centre. The gym and swimming pool are small but adequate, and the hotels conference and wedding reception seem the main focus based on the posters around the hotel. All in all a pleasant enough stay but not really good value for money.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank LeMonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Dear LeMonte,

Thank you for your review which I found very fair and balanced. You're correct that the hotel has a superb location for the town centre and also for venturing out into the Dales.

I'm really glad that you found the staff friendly and willing and enjoyed all the facilities which you sampled. Regarding our food and beverage operation I am sorry that you thought some of the pricing to be too high. We regularly review our pricing alongside other 4 star hotels both in Harrogate and in other town centre locations to ensure our pricing is competitive whilst still allowing us to offer high quality produce to our guests.

Your observation on the breakfast opening time over the bank holiday weekend is a valid one and one which we are giving further consideration to.

I do hope we can welcome you back soon and if you are able to visit midweek you will find some great deals online.

Many thanks, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Full weekend trip was ruined by being pronounced with extra parking fees at check out by an irritatingly giggly reception staff. She said it was mentioned on Expedia when i didn't even book on expedia. we did find one sign which i will post a picture of mentioning car park charges which was so hidden behind bushes its not surprising we didn't see it. if we had have know this ie they had mentioned it at check in we would have happily parked on the street right by the hotel. Appalling that a hotel of this size charges you to park anyway. I have stayed at the majestic before without a car but will never stay again. The idiotic girl was so giggly and stupid about it to, got my back right up from the off. This far out weighed any good aspects of our stay. FUMING!!

Room Tip: stay elsewhere
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hdpup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

Dear Hdpup,

I am sorry that you were unaware of the nominal £3.50 per night parking charge. This is widely shown on our website, our partners websites and our reservation confirmations. However you booked your stay it will have been shown as we don't intend to surprise people.

Your comments about our receptionist are harsh and unfair, she is merely tasked with trying to look after you and check you out.

The photograph is of one of 20 such signs around our car park, not forgetting the huge sign at the entrance barrier. Again I am sorry that this overtook any positives of your stay.

Many thanks, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Hotel Majestic is a very Grand ornate establishment.
I liken it to The Titanic with the wonderful Crystal chandeliers everywhere and the sweeping staircase leading to all floors. Room was a great size ( Family room) and overlooked gardens and Harrowgate town. I have stayed here many times and am only disappointed with one thing...extortionate drink prices. I would really like to sit and relax in this lovely building and order whatever drinks however cannot as just refuse to pay these ridiculous prices.
Leisure facilities - Pool is ok but small, jacuzzi by pool ok. Sauna located in changing rooms ..bit weird and ladies only. Men also have sauna but if you are with your partner you cannot use together??

Room Tip: Rooms are all pretty good size.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolinecasablanca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Dear Carolinecasablanca,

Thank you very much for your review and your kind description of the Majestic. It is truly a spectacular building and on quite an awe inspiring scale.

I do hope that you will continue to visit us and assure you that we are always reviewing our bar prices to try and remain at sensible levels. It is important to note though that an element of our bar pricing does contribute towards the gorgeous chandeliers and general surroundings in which you can enjoy it.

We regularly have special offers in our bars and currently we have a selection of long cocktail drinks available, ideal to complement a special occasion.

Many thanks, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

2 night midweek stay to celebrate wedding anniversary. Booked as a standard room but were upgraded upon arrival at no extra charge to ourselves. Spacious, clean, well appointed bedroom and bathroom. Towels changed every day. Excellent choice for both dinner and breakfast, largest selection for breakfast I have ever seen! Staff all very helpful. Stayed 21st - 23rd aug and used the pool, jacuzzi and changing rooms and all very clean, showers working and no smell. We were advised at check-in that the pool would be closed on the wednesday to undertake urgent repairs. Yes there is a small charge for car parking but it is clearly stated on the website before you book. Although the Hotel is over 100 years old we found the decor and chandeliers etc very charming and it all added to the character. The book in the room about the history of the hotel itself made for an interesting read. We had a lovely, relaxing time and would definitely recommend to others and book again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Dear Lynn E,

Thank you for posting your review and for choosing the Majestic Hotel in which to celebrate your wedding anniversary.

I'm so glad that you enjoyed the ambience and character of the hotel and that we were able to upgrade you to one of our Premium Rooms.

Our team will be pleased to see your glowing comments on our restaurant and I thank you for your comments on our leisure club. We had needed to close at very short notice and were grateful for our guest's understanding.

I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon. Many thanks, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

stayed with my 9yr old daughter 22aug. room nice clean. breakfast ok. staff friendly. POOL....well firstly it was closed one off the two days we were there!! we were not informed of this when booked. my daughter was very disappointed. we choose this hotel simply for the fact it had a pool for her.

I have to say we stayed at this hotel 8years. ago and am afraid the pool and leasure facilities have never changed sauna was Luke warm and after sitting for twenty min was still Luke warm. I could not get into gym it was rammed. BAD NEWS!! I have been in much cleaner public swimming pools, was absolutely filthy. poolside filthy, ladies changing room showers freezing cold an old lady who visited last year said showers and sauna was like that then and had expected by now would be fixed. One electric shower was working but because everyone had to use it was filthy full of hairs empty shampoo bottles.
There was an awful fishy mouldy smell in changing room discu
sting.
Not one single member of staff came into pool area or changing area to clean.
This hotel needs a few million spent on it to bring it up to todays standards. We do however regulary stay at redworth hall (by far a much better hotel) would NOT recommend MAJESTIC hotel or return.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ytbcms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Dear ytbcms,

Thank you for your review and I am truly sorry that both yourself and your daughter were disappointed in the club having to close for one of the days you were staying. As was explained to you, this was due to one of our hot water cylinders having split and was both unforeseen and unavoidable. we had to close the club as in order to effect the replacement, we had to turn off all water supply to allow the connections to be made.

Unfortunately it does appear that your disappointment has resulted in these inaccurate and unfair criticisms of our club. The saunas have always worked perfectly well and never has there been any report of them being luke warm. The poolside was scrubbed the day before you arrived as per our normal cleaning regime and then again during the closure day as we had staff available.

Our leisure club team work hard to ensure we provide a good service to our guests and members and it was not anyone's fault that regrettably, the cylinder failed.

I'm sorry that this affected your stay, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews