We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic hotel, more of a conference venue”
Review of The Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Majestic Hotel
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Reviewed 9 November 2012

If I'm honest, we were underwhelmed. Our unsympathetically decorated room felt too stark and modern in such a historic property, plus it was sweltering during the night from the very efficient old radiator! The food was fine, and the staff generally friendly, though the waitress laying out the tables for lunch during breakfast was rude, plus we had to shout to hear ourselves over the conference crowd having their morning break outside. Overall,the atmosphere was more of a conference venue than somewhere you would go for a city break - a shame as it was a birthday treat. Wouldn't pay a return visit based on this experience - sorry. Also, asking guests to pay to park seems a bit much!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Dear R W,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel. I am sorry that you were not impressed with certain aspects of your stay. Bedroom design is subjective and most other reviews seem in favour of our efforts.

All our many radiators do have thermostatic valves and I'm glad that you found the room cosy and warm. Our parking charges are minimal at just £3.50 per night and widely highlighted on our site and all others.

We do have many different decoration schemes and I do hope that on your next visit you will have the opportunity to experience another option which you may favout more.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,987)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,817 - 2,823 of 2,987 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2012

We spent a two day break in this hotel early November. It was obviously grand when first built in 1900. It sat in grounds close to the centre, five minutes walk. This hotel had lovely well proportioned public areas with a lot of the old features. Our room was large and well appointed. The hotel had a quiet elegance, the staff were efficient and attentive. We only eat breakfast in the Dining Room, but it was excellent, with a wide variety of hot and cold food. I would certainly stay there again if visiting Harrogate and would recoment it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwinorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Dear kiwinorfolk,

Thank you for posting your rview of the Majestic Hotel, Harrogate. I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Many thanks, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Home from 2 days one night, I had a lovely new room with a horrid lumpy bed, but a few drinks aided my sleep. All the food I had here was great and I may return for a short break soon. The hotel and its staff are all great and what you expect from an older impressive building.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlietraveler57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2012

Dear charlietraveler57,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel following your stay with us for a conference. I'm very glad that you had an enjoyable time with us and enjoyed our food.

I'm scratching my head about the lumpy bed in a new room. If you'd be really helpful and let me know your room number or stay details then I can check as they are all new Hypnos beds with comforters and the like. Email is v.johnson@pumahotels.co.uk

I do hope that you will decide to revisit us for leisure as you'll not have had much time during the conference to explore beautiful Harrogate.

Many thanks for sharing your feedback, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

stayed as part of anniversary weekend, staff couldn't have been more helpful and what a room, three times bigger than the normal room you would expect and considering the age of the building, great decor and sympathetic alterations. Bed comfortable warm and welcoming. Dinner very good quality as was breakfast.
Location excellent short walk to all amenties Harrogate has to offer, would recommend and would stay again.

Room Tip: great Location, great rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2012

Dear Paul D,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel. I'm really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff looked after you so well.

Yes, some of our bedrooms are huge, though all are different shapes and sizes dating from when bathrooms were created to make the rooms en suite in the 1930's. We used to have 221 guest rooms and 55 servants rooms before that !

Hopefully we can welcome you back in the Summer when you can explore and savour the beautiful countryside all around us.

Many thanks, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

This was an outstanding Hotel, right in the centre of Harrogate. We had booked a room for 2 nights for our wedding anniversary and our son decided he would visit us as a surprise. He arrived at the Hotel at 9pm and was given room for an offer price. This made our weekend. Thank you Majestic.

Room Tip: The deluxe room was spacious and we had a terrace with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happy1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2012

Dear happy1803,

Thank you very much for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel. Your 5 star rating is very well received and I'm glad you decided to spend your anniversary stay with us. Your son's surprise arrival must have been the icing on the cake.

Your room does have patio windows though before the onrush of others, the terrace is not accessible for safety reasons.

Hoping we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

stayed for two nights was very nice yes it is a bit tired but it is an old building and you have to make allowances for this. harrogate is an old town and this is what we wanted an old building. room was large and even had a cloak room bathroom was fine and it was warm even though it was freezin out side. we used the pool twice it was nice enough for what we wanted towels were provided breakfast was very nice everything was on , walking into town was 5 mins through the grounds people have complained about paying for car park but this seems to be the norm in harrogate. all in all a lovely stay would stay here again

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boatbuilder_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Dear boatbuilder_10,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel, Harrogate. I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and your kind comments will, equally be well received by our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay in Harrogate.

Many thanks, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

This is a very good hotel. Having stayed at 6 hotels in the town, and over 60 hotels in the UK in recent years, this is quite impressive (if you like grand hotels). Staff first rate, really good decor and roomy accommodation. Location is great if you want to leave the car in their car park and walk a few hundred yards into town. It's very quiet with no "noises off" from other rooms and little traffic noise. Breakfast is the usual hotel breakfast (very good choice and well prepared) but dinner was a bit disappointing. Then again, we always find hotel dinner that way and usually head off into town for a Chinese. We would go back again, given a choice from the other 5 hotels we have stayed at in Harrogate (and these were not bad).

Room Tip: rooms on the front of the hotel facing town are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Dear Chris O,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel, Harrogate. I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we feature so highly in your experience of so many UK hotels. I was sorry to hear about dinner as we have literally just launched new menus giving a much greater choice and simple food alongside traditional meals. Other feedback has been positive so perhaps your visit was before these.

On the Chinese front though, the Royal Baths Chinese is the most amazing environment to eat in and the Orchid Restaurant serves the most amazing asian food.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay in Harrogate.

Many thanks, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Swan Hotel
Old Swan Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
1,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
1,485 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#7 of 30 in Harrogate
1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Hotel

Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#9 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: £61 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian landmark, the four-star Majestic Hotel has 170 bedrooms and sits in 12 acres of landscaped grounds in the centre of the spa town of Harrogate. Just a mile from the train station and 10 minutes walk from the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, it’s the perfect location to enjoy Harrogate’s quaint shops and spas; and you can also venture out to the wild landscape of the Yorkshire Dales. With a pool, jacuzzi, steam room and beauty salon, as well as tea rooms, a bar and the Majestic Restaurant there’s everything you need to relax after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Harrogate
Majestic Hotel Harrogate
The Majestic Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing