We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Break”
Review of The Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Majestic Hotel
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Weekend Break”
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Lots of improvements since my last stay 8 years ago. The room had been refurbished was warm and clean,The Staff were very helpful we had an excellent breakfast can get busy at peak times.Did not use the restaurant this time not far to walk into Town had a meal at Bettie's good but not cheap.The swimming pool was very good great place for a weekend break.
Will definately stay again

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Dear Douglas R,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel. I was very happy to read of your enjoyable stay and hope we can welcome you back sooner than the 8 years before this visit.

Glad also that you approved of the changes we've made.

Many thanks, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    758
    892
    562
    311
    193
See reviews for
338
1,422
36
348
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (691)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, UK
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

The Majestic is a landmark in Harrogate. I had some concerns as large Victorian hotels can be faded and run down with draughty windows and creaking floors. I was pleasantly surprised to find that this hotel had been refurbished after a fire a few years ago. The original features were restored so that the hotel retained it's grand hotel feel. The staff were excellent and very helpful.The room was comfortable although the colours were a bit drab.
Another surprise was the quality of the food which was excellent. We had dinner which had a choice of set menu or a la carte. I had the set menu and my wife had the a la carte menu. Both meals were well cooked with the vegetables being crisp and my duck being cooked to perfection. The prices were very reasonable and the house wine of good quality. Only one slight niggle, the restaurant manager kept us standing at the entrance for 10 minutes ignoring us while he attended to some problem at his till. The breakfast had a good selection of food on a buffet style.
We would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the refurbished wing as there are some rooms which have not yet been refurbished...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARTIN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Dear MARTIN D,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel. I'm very glad that you enjoyed your short stay with us and especially that you enjoyed your dinner. Our menus were relaunched at the beginning of November and hopefully offer something for everyone. We have been getting some great feedback and the new house wines are really good!

Sorry about the seating delay, unfortunately our system had frozen and orders weren't getting through to the kitchen so it was important to resolve.

All our recently refurbished bedrooms are classed as Premium Rooms to hopefully make it easier to follow. They do all come in numerous shapes and sizes which most guests feel adds to the character of the hotel.

I do hope we can welcome you back soon. Many thanks, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night.It has beautifull grounds.very well placed,5 mins walk into Harrogate.Found the rooms a dated but the hotel on the whole is very elegant.We had a excellant evening meal also the breakfast first class.What makes this Hotel is the staff,very friendly but not imposing,we felt really at home,thats always a sign of a good hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorky189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
Dear Yorky189,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel. I'm so glad that you had an enjoyable time and especially that our team made you feel at home.

On your next visit why not try one of our Premium rooms which are all recently refurbished, especially if you are staying longer than the one night.

Our staff will appreciate your kind comments about them.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Just spent a weekend at the Majestic. We have stayed there regularly over the past ten years and would recommend it as a lovely hotel with excellent staff and very comfortable rooms.
The restaurant served delicious meals. Harrogate is a lovely town with lots of enjoyable walks in the surrounding countryside.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
Dear Peterborough,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel, Harrogate and also thank you for your loyalty. As I approach my 9th year at the helm it's really pleasing that yourselves and other regular visits continue to provide their support of our Team.

This especially so, in light of the current economic challenges. You're right about the location and so much beauty surrounding us. I'm sure that's why we have visitors who keep returning year after year.

Hoping to welcome you back soon. Many thanks, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Extremely disappointed by the noise from a Band playing in the Ballroom on the ground floor. I was staying on the 2nd floor and the volume was so high I could identify every song being played. The floor was almost shaking with the vibration from the amplifiers.

When I rang down to Reception to ask how long this would be going on for as I had a 2 year old almost being shaken out of her travel cot I was told it was a function and the band would be playing until 1 a.m, I was told I was not the first to ring and complain so someone would go through and ask the Band to turn the volume down. This did happen but it gradually rose again until they finished shortly before 1 am. I was told that a message would be left for the Duty Manager and that I would be compensated for the upset. What use is compensation after the event? It needed to be sorted then. A far from relaxing break and I would not use this hotel again!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Dear karen k,

Thank you for posting your review and once again, my apologies for the incorrect allocation of your room. We have been in contact since your stay and we have acknowledged the error with a refund of your room rate for the night in question.

Despite all our efforts, sometimes we do make innocent errors and I am sorry that this affected your stay with us as part of the English Pool Association event.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012 via mobile

Booked on one night spa deal for Mums 70 th Birthday
Excellant value for money could not fault anything food excellant staff brilliant room excellant facilities brilliant spa treatments excellamt
Would definatley return well done

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gloria51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear Gloria51,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel, Harrogate. It was lovely to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us and felt you had received great valeu for money.

I do hope we can welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel mid week for a couple of nights. Really enjoyed it as it catered for all your needs while away. Loved the historical feel of the place while still being modern where needed. Had a great sleep too. Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DollyEliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Dear DollyEliza,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel. I'm really happy to see that you had a lovely stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon.

Many thanks, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,275 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
135 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
592 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,566 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Hotel

Property: The Majestic Hotel
Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#9 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian landmark, the four-star Majestic Hotel has 170 bedrooms and sits in 12 acres of landscaped grounds in the centre of the spa town of Harrogate. Just a mile from the train station and 10 minutes walk from the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, it’s the perfect location to enjoy Harrogate’s quaint shops and spas; and you can also venture out to the wild landscape of the Yorkshire Dales. With a pool, jacuzzi, steam room and beauty salon, as well as tea rooms, a bar and the Majestic Restaurant there’s everything you need to relax after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Harrogate
Majestic Hotel Harrogate
The Majestic Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing