We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rubbish”
Review of The Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Majestic Hotel
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Wallsend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Rubbish”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

My wife and I today returned from a 2 night stay at the Majestic Hotel in Harrogate; I think it should be renamed the “damn noisy and terrible food” hotel, as there was little majestic about this hotel. I appreciate hotels have to accommodate Christmas parties but I don’t want to have to fight through a crowd of party goers to get to dinner, nor have to listen to their drunken antics whilst I eat, nor do I want to be awoken at 2am as they stumble back to their rooms singing and shouting. Perhaps we wouldn’t have heard them had the walls not been paper thin and the gap under the door been less than an inch.

When you arrive at the Majestic hotel, it’s glamourous with the beautiful décor in reception, high sealings and footmen but that’s where the Majestic stops – it’s down hill from there.

I paid an extra £20 per night, at time of booking, to be upgraded to a Premium Room – what I discovered on arrival is that £40 got us a couple of bottles of water and robes we didn’t need; in our substandard room with tiny bathroom – the only reason I can assume the room was referred to as Premium was that it reminded the manager of Premier – Premier Inn; as it looked just like a room off their adverts. That’s where the comparison ended though as Premier Inn provide a much higher standard of room; their doors are insulated, their beds are comfortable, their heating works and their towel rails don’t take 14 hours to heat up.

The staff at dinner were attentative and the room with chandeliers, beautiful but the food was so sub-standard my wife said “this reminds me of brewers fayre”! A look into the kitchen and you see why; boys standing about it black polo shirts and baseball caps; no chefs whites in sight and no steam to suggest cooking being done.

On the first night we both had the ‘chicken and chorizo terrine’ which was icy cold (frozen) and served with the same chutney that was on offer at breakfast the following morning. The duck breast my wife had was over cooked, and the poached haddock I had wasn’t poached; was a tiny part of the haddock, served on a bed of powdery mash with parsnips! Who puts roast parsnips with haddock? For desert I had a cold sticky toffee pudding swimming in toffee ice-cream sauce and my wife had a ‘trio of sorbet’ which actually was a blackpool-style sundae glass with a wafer, and 3 flavoured ice creams.

On the second night, we hoped it would be better… My wife order broccoli soup with Croutons (she had to ask twice for the croutons after the soup arrived) whilst I had a lovely sounding mushroom and blue cheese tartlet which actually was a mushroom quiche without any blue cheese; but it did have a big dollop of kebab shop garlic mayonnaise! For mains this was where we were most disappointed; my wife had the rump steak (no issues there) but I ordered a ‘slow roasted leg of lamb’... can you imagine my disappointment when I received 2 slices of roast lamp joint; with the veg it looked like a cheap roast dinner. I complained to the waitress and was told “yeah, they’re slicing the meat tonight”. As I cut into it I discovered it wasn't even slow cooked but it was rubbery over cooked meat that didn’t even taste of lamb. It was also supposed to be served with oyster mushroom which was no where to be seen and a red wine jus which was in fact a watery red drizzle. Just to finish off this fine dinning experience my wife ordered pavlova not a meringue nest

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Richard A,

Please accept my apologies that you were disappointed with your stay. Unfortunately it is quite predictable that on a weekend in December a large hotel in a town centre will be busy with partygoers and the room provided to you was fully refurbished to a very high standard in 2011, with all appliances in working order. The bathroom is small though has all the usual fittings.

I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy dinner on eating on both evenings. There was a mistake with the lamb whereby roast lamb was used as the slow roasted portions had run out and you should have been advised of this.

Our kitchens have a large brigade of chefs though they are located below the restuarant and all our meals are brought up on an escalator to the restuarant hence you only saw our kitchen porters on the top level. Our chef has worked with us for 28 successful years and I'm sorry that it didn't suit your taste.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    751
    877
    539
    297
    189
See reviews for
334
1,387
31
339
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (674)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ripon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Attended a Christmas party night on the 21st December and the service was terrible. I have an intolerance to certain foods and they were notified of this at least a week prior to the event and also on the evening. Three times it took to get the correct starter and on clearing the soup they dripped it all over the table cloth near me and on my chair, but didn't change my chair or cutlery untill I mentioned it on my return to the table. No apology either. The pudding was also disappointing and unimaginative, a handful of fruit salad dumped on a plate, zero presentation. Just everything seemed a hassle rather than an evening I could have enjoyed.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Georgina198825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Gerorgina198825,

Thank you for posting your review and my apologies that we struggled to meet your specific dietary needs.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Harrogate hotels

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Majestic for a two night break to celebrate our 36th wedding anniversary. Our room 217 was very tired. The paint to the right of the right hand window was peeling and there were signs of damp and further peeling paint. At the bottom of the windows there was lots of slimy black mould. In the bathroom there was a shower curtain! This is 2013 and this purports to be a 4 star hotel and yet we had a 1970s commercial hotel bathroom. Around the bath handle and in the corner of the bath was ample evidence of black mould. The literature in the room claimed that there was wifi in the "entire" hotel. Oh no, there isn't. In the corridor outside the room I could get a signal but the moment I entered the room - nada, zilch.

We took dinner the first night in the dining room. We ordered a bottle of wine to have with our meal. However the starters arrived before the wine waitress appeared with the news that they did not have a bottle of the wine we had ordered and had brought a suggested replacement. We chose a different bottle and off she went whilst we tucked in to our starters. The bread roll was very nice - but once eaten our side plates were whipped away; no chance of being offered another roll. The best that can be said about the meal was that irt was edible. However it was uninspiring and tasteless. Two small "roast" potatoes (I think they had been shown the fat for a short minute), rock hard broccoli and two pieces of granite hard carrot accompanied two slices of tasteless and tough "roast" lamb. The meat was reminiscent of those Fray Bentos instant dinners from the 1970s. Perhaps they still have a stock of them? The lemon tart dessert lacked any sort of kick or flavour and could well have been industrially produced and delivered by Brake Bros. Replace the lamb with chicken or pork and you had in front of you half the mains menu. Was the head chef away for the night?

On the afternoon of the second day, after sitting in the corridor for a half hour on the internet I decided we had had enough and I went to reception to make my feelings known. Ewan on reception phoned the IT guy and asked him to reset the router so that I could have an internet connection in the room! I told him corridor good, room bad for wifi. This prompted the IT man to tell Ewan that room 217 had wifi issues. Ewan phrased this as 217 being in a grey area. Ewan you just lost me at that point. Grey no, black yes. Ewan then asked me what I wanted to do about it. NO Ewan - it is your job to solve the problem - not mine. The outcome was that we were moved to room 229. A better room but looking out at a balcony railings dying out for a coat of paint, mould and bird poo covered down pipes and grass growing through the balcony floor. It looked like the back end of a slum.

In the middle of the night we were woken by an amazing noise from the radiator which was akin to an alarm. Adjustment soon silenced the said radiator.

Breakfasts were OK but why, when you see my wife with a walking stick did you put us on the most distant table on the first morning? Can the cook do fired eggs with runny yolks or are they always congealed?

Car parking charge of £3.50 for the night. Why not be honest and put this in the price? It irks.

One issue on its own and I would not have moaned but this whole range of issues was disappointing.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Stuart G,

I'm sorry that you encountered these issues during your short stay and assure you they are not reflective of our usual offerings. Wifi is provided from numerous routers based in the corridors which do have difficulty with some of the building fabric and we are looking to upgrade some of our older routers to address the grey areas.

I'm glad that we moved yiur room to overcome the issue and 229 is a perfectly nice room.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Very nice hotel but the leisure facilities were very average with the Jaccusi not working and the poll rather small. That said the hotel was fine and the food good. I woulds suggest that it is worth checking that there is not a function on as we had to suffer noise till 1.00am and then guest noise til 2.00am. Parking is charged for which adds to the bill.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wiltshirefolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Wiltshirefolk,

Thank you for posting your review and I'm very glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Hoping to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

Just returned from the most cheerless Christmas do ever. What a bunch of miserable, arrogant waiting staff I've had the miss fortune to meet. We were supposed to have a champagne reception but it turned out we were offed drinks in some sort of corridor with guests from other party's pushing pasted all the time. The food was bland and tasteless and DJ clueless on how to get the dance floor moving. However the worst part was the attitude of the staff whom were all far too good to be waiting on the likes of us.
I sincerely hope that next year my company has not quite as successful year and that we can't afford to come to a hotel that lives on reputation rather than service.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank RogerAllison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear RogerAllison,

I'm sorry you didn't have an enjoyable time at your firm's Christmas party and that your staff interaction wasn't positive. Feedback from other parties has been very positive.

We can have up to 60 staff working on a busy weekend night in December and I would welcome some more speciric detail to your comments to help see what went wrong.

My email is v.johnson@pumahotels.co.uk and I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Just returned from our overnight stay at this hotel. Pleasant staff, excellent food and large, clean room with comfy bed! Very close to main shopping area and turkish baths, HIC etc. Would certainly visit again.

Room Tip: We had good views from our room 439 but it was rather drafty through the windows. Also at the moment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chriscManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear chriscManchester,

Thank you for posting your 4 star review of the Majestic Hotel. Glad you enjoyed your visit and hoping to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We were in an upgraded room very good ,with bath robes slippers .water ...evening meal was not very good ..we got apology from restaurant manager..and didn't pay for wine ..the breakfast very good ,lots to choose .the hotel is well situated and walking distance to town

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Judith S,

Thank you for posting your 4 star review of the Majestic Hotel and glad you had an enjoyable stay.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,498 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#13 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Hotel

Property: The Majestic Hotel
Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#9 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian landmark, the four-star Majestic Hotel has 170 bedrooms and sits in 12 acres of landscaped grounds in the centre of the spa town of Harrogate. Just a mile from the train station and 10 minutes walk from the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, it’s the perfect location to enjoy Harrogate’s quaint shops and spas; and you can also venture out to the wild landscape of the Yorkshire Dales. With a pool, jacuzzi, steam room and beauty salon, as well as tea rooms, a bar and the Majestic Restaurant there’s everything you need to relax after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, LateRooms, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Harrogate
Majestic Hotel Harrogate
The Majestic Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing