We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good to see a graceful hotel improving”
Review of The Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Majestic Hotel
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Good to see a graceful hotel improving”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The Majestic is finally getting the investment it deserves and once completed I am sure this would get a five star review from me.

On the positive side:
- The hotel exudes Victorian elegance and some fo the public spaces are magnificent
- Central Harrogate is a very short (, 5 mins) wlk from the hotel so it is very well positioned
- Harrogate itself is a nice town
- Staff are welcoming and hospitable
- My bedroom was spacious
- Breakfast buffet was extensive

However, there are still rough edges:
- Equipment in the gym seems old and worn out
- Heating in the bedroom is very difficult to control
- My bedroom was in need of refurbishment, particularly the bathroom

Overall I had a good stay and would be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Anon A,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel, Harrogate. It was very pleasing to read your balanced report and more so that you can see some of the improvements we have been making.

Of course there is more to do and I appreciate your highlighting these.

Hoping to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    759
    893
    563
    311
    194
See reviews for
340
1,423
36
349
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (692)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed here just for 1 night room only. Got upgraded to superior double which was a lovely large room with a bay window, large comfy bed and pillows, blackout curtains, large wardrobe, iron, ironing board, hairdryer and tea making facilities. Lovely bathroom, everything was spotless, got complimentary robes and slippers. Took a while to get some hot water through for a bath, but it is an old building. Bar facilities are a bit limited and like all hotels drinks are expensive, but not as expensive as some we have been to. Car parking charge of £3.50 per day and our friends were charged parking as well even though we only went in 1 car! Used leisure facilities which were ok, clean but basic compared to some hotels I have been to (towels provided) We did not eat at the hotel as we went into town which is only 5 minutes walk away, the path through the hotel grounds to the main road is not very well lit so be careful. Would definitely go back again especially as the interior of the hotel is fantastic if you like the Victorian/Edwardian period.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juniper1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Juniper1998,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel, Harrogate. I'm glad that we were able to upgrade you and that you had an enjoyable stay.

Hopefully we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights while visiting Harrogate. The hotel is The hotel is huge and looks quite impressive from the outside. On arrival to the hotel car park - which is £3.50 a day to park (totally unnecessary and makes the hotel look desperate for cash) - we were welcomed and directed to our first floor room. The room was huge, almost too big with 3 wardrobes! The bed was comfortable and everything was clean. The windows were drafty and made quite a racket when the wind blew. The bathroom was also huge and the shower which was inside the bath with a curtain was just adequate. The odd thing was when the bedside light wasn't on, half the bathroom lights would be off! We didn't eat in the hotel except for breakfast which was very nice. Staff were quite good but maybe needed to proactive rather than reactive to stocking up the food (often waited for something to completely run out before going to restock). We had a drink in the bar which ok except the background music was stuck playing the same part of a tune for the full hour without being changed. Also had to wait to be served a while as the bar man didn't seem to know the order to serve people.

The gym and pool was adequate. A very small gym wasn't helped by some equipment not working. The pool and jacuzzi were small and was little room to move but this was just the time I chose to go I guess.

Overall a reasonable stay at a large hotel in a good location. It cost us nothing as we paid in Tesco vouchers, which is probably why we weren't asked if we'd enjoyed our stay when we left, but certainly wouldn't pay full price to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manb0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Manb0,

Thank you for posting your review and I'm glad that you had a decent stay with us and appreciate your feedback.

I am scratching my head a little to know which room you stayed in so do feel free to send me an email and then I can investigate the lights in the room. My email is v.johnson@pumahotels.co.uk

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

New year break for our family of 4. Large well appointed room. Wonderful breakfasts under chandeliers and enjoyed the pool facilities. Bathroom a little bit tired but didn't detract from a nice stay in a very well located hotel. Would return if a similar deal was available from Puma Hotels.

Room Tip: Our view overlooked the town and grounds so was great for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jumpinjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Jumpinjen,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel, Harrogate.

So glad that your family had an enjoyable stay and hopefully for longer next time. The first quarer of the year we feature some super offers so do visit the Puma Hotels website and sign up for offer alerts.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Such a beautiful old building with a warm feeling to it.
Food in hotel dining room was delicious and service was excellent.
5 minute walk into Harrogate town which offers great shopping and nice bars and restaurants
Will definately return to the majestic but maybe stay longer...........10/10!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gph1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear gph1979,

Thank you for posting your 5 star review of the Majestic Hotel, Harrogate.

It's so pleasing to hear about your stay and hopefully we will definitely see you return soon.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Had a wonderful Xmas 3 day break. Hotel accommodation very good in all ways. Food exceptional and plentiful. Evening music entertainment very good...relaxing not disco. Carol singers most enjoyable. Not a vast deal to do during the day around the hotel but we had gone for a quiet relaxing break so not a problem.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear William W,

Thank you so much for posting your 5 star review of your Christmas break at the Majestic Hotel, Harrogate.

It is lovely that we still have a very popular 3 night residential package over Christmas which attracted 150 guests and hopefully we'll see you return next year.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We really enjoyed a New Years Package at The Majestic Hotel Harrogate. Live band and a fun time was had by all. Very comfortable hotel and Harrogate a lovely location. We really had a fun time and the staff were very helpful when we needed anything.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Malcolm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear malctaylor,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel at New Year. It was our pleasure to host you for this special event and so glad that you enjoyed our arrangements.

Lets hope you'll return next year.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
135 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
593 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,570 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Hotel

Property: The Majestic Hotel
Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#9 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian landmark, the four-star Majestic Hotel has 170 bedrooms and sits in 12 acres of landscaped grounds in the centre of the spa town of Harrogate. Just a mile from the train station and 10 minutes walk from the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, it’s the perfect location to enjoy Harrogate’s quaint shops and spas; and you can also venture out to the wild landscape of the Yorkshire Dales. With a pool, jacuzzi, steam room and beauty salon, as well as tea rooms, a bar and the Majestic Restaurant there’s everything you need to relax after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Harrogate
Majestic Hotel Harrogate
The Majestic Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing