We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Break”
Review of The Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Majestic Hotel
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed for two nights in this lovely hotel. The service was exceptional and the room was fabulous - would recommend to anyone. Very close to the town centre. Meal on the first night wonderful and attention to detail second to none.


  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Steffany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear SteffanyH,

Thank you for posting your 5 star review of the Majestic Hotel, Harrogate. Your recognition does mean a lot to all our team who work hard to try and delight.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,996)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,325 - 2,331 of 2,996 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

I had a one night stay at The Majestic. A great, grand building, the kind of place I enjoy staying. The room was lovely and large but the service and FOH needs improvement, its not that of a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nonsoloinglese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Nonsoloinglese,

Thank you for posting your review and my apologies if your front of house experience didn't meet expectations.

We have welcomed some new staff to our front desk and their training is ongoing as they get fully up to speed on the millions of pieces of information needed in Reception.

I'm sorry that your experience was affected.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

My husband, daughter and myself had a fabulous leisure break at the Majestic. The rooms were beautiful and the decor in keeping with the rest of this Edwardian hotel. Leisure and beauty facilities fab.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Carol N,

Thank you for posting your 5 star review of the Majestic Hotel, Harrogate. It was lovely to hear your kind words and so pleased that we delighted your family.

Our pamper breaks have just recently been relaunched and feature some superb treatments and great value. Visit our Puma Hotels website for more details.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Stayed for a short break at the Majestic Hotel the second time we have stayed here and have to say its the best in Harrogate.The staff are friendly, rooms great, food fine nothing is to much trouble, would certainly stay here again

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lumleykid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Lumleykid,

Thank you for posting your 5 star review of the Majestic Hotel, Harrogate. Your recognition really means a lot to us all.

Hoping to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Although the hotel is old and the outside could do with a bit of LTC. Inside was a delight. My wife and I enjoyed the whole experiance. The staff were very friendly. The food was good and well presented. We would and will stay there again

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear John R,

Thank you for posting your 5 star review of the Majestic Hotel and looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Went to the Majestic with a large group of people for a belated 'new year weekend'. Stayed for 2 nights bed breakfast and dinner, and on the Saturday evening we enjoyed a disco. The food was good all weekend with the breakfast being particularly memorable. All meals included a very good variety of fruit which was lovely.
The staff were very helpful and always pleasant. The rooms were nice as was the rest of the hotel in it's period fashion. Full of staircases and chandeliers, very majestic in fact !
The Majestic is just a few minutes from the centre of Harrogate and I would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to visit Harrogate, which itself is very interesting, attractive and full of history.

Room Tip: This is a large hotel so some rooms are a distance from the exit. This may be an issue for people wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Japonica4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear japonika4,

Thank you for posting your 5 star review of the Majestic Hotel, Harrogate.

We really appreciated your group selecting us to visit and so glad that you enjoyed the splendour and heritage of the building. It has some amazing features.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Fabulous Victorian hotel in Harrogate a stones throw away from the famous Betty's tea shop. Hotel is grand and rooms well appointed, but if you can would recommend an upgrade. Food in dining room and at breakfast good along with service and staff as a whole.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 5Lemons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear 5lemons,

Than you so much for your kind review and hoping to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
271 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,348 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Swan Hotel
Old Swan Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
1,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
1,486 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#7 of 30 in Harrogate
1,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Hotel

Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#9 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: £60 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian landmark, the four-star Majestic Hotel has 170 bedrooms and sits in 12 acres of landscaped grounds in the centre of the spa town of Harrogate. Just a mile from the train station and 10 minutes walk from the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, it’s the perfect location to enjoy Harrogate’s quaint shops and spas; and you can also venture out to the wild landscape of the Yorkshire Dales. With a pool, jacuzzi, steam room and beauty salon, as well as tea rooms, a bar and the Majestic Restaurant there’s everything you need to relax after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Harrogate
Majestic Hotel Harrogate
The Majestic Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing