We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“one night break.”
Review of The Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Majestic Hotel
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“one night break.”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at the majestic for one night. On arrival we were told that our room would not be ready untll 2pm which was acceptable so off we we into town for some lunch,on arriving back at 2-30pm we were told the room still wasn't ready and had to sit in a bar area until 4pm. The staff on reception couldn't give a Damn. When we went for dinner we found that we had been moved to a dining room that was a 50 yard walk from the kitchen.the waiting on staff were almost running with the meals but because they had to cross the very cold and draught lobby the food arrived Luke warm. The reason we were moved to another dining room was because they had a large corporate meeting and they obviously came before normal guests . The hotel was understaffed and needs more experienced people. On the good side we did have a lovely room, but glad to move on to york.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGC616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear JGC616,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel. I'm sorry that you encountered some issues on this visit which aren't usually the case.

I would always rather be aware of our guests' experience especially where something didn't quite work correctly and hope that you will give us the chance on your next visit to demonstrate our normal standards.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    750
    875
    536
    296
    188
See reviews for
333
1,384
30
338
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (673)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bigday-tripper
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here one night last week, for a stay bought for us by my mother-in-law(overnight baby minder) for a Christmas gift.
We had booked lunch in a local restaurant for lunch, so arrived early. Upon enquiring if we could leave the car, we were told our room was ready. So checked-in.
The room (264) was big, well equipped & very clean.
The bathroom had a modern look with a multi-point power shower, jacuzzi bath, sink & w/c. With either blue or traditional lighting.
Though modern, the bathroom looked a bit tired in places, mouldy grouting, tiles coming away & a constant smell of the old Victorian drains, though this did reduce as people arrived and water ran through the system. The door had to be kept close to keep the smell from the main room.
We walked into the town centre, which is 5mins by foot.
We returned and had a couple of drinks in the bar, £4.20 for a pint & £2.30 for a half of larger, high city prices. We went to the room, which was nicely warm without being uncomfortable. Changed & went for our dinner, booked at 8.15pm. The dining room is massive, but the way people were seated kept it feeling small. The food, well let's say. If I was paying full price I would have not been impressed in the slightest. My soup, celery, really!? Could have been any soup of non-descript. The chicken with blue cheese, again, lacked seasoning & imagination, as did the vegetables it was served with. The desserts read much like the other dishes, boring. I went for the ice cream selection. Choc, vanilla & strawberry, all either defrosted & refrozen or cheap. All flavours had ice crystals through them. And the wine, free on the offer we were on, to be honest, I'm not surprised!!
We went into the town for a few drinks, back at 11'ish, then retired for a good nights sleep.
Breakfast was buffet self-service, all the buffets had a good selection to suit all & were kept well stocked by the staff. My only comment. Though the staff were polite, a smile first thing goes a long way.
We then went to the leisure club, for a swim, sauna & jacuzzi. Not sure if I had tired eyes, but the chlorine in the jacuzzi made my eyes sting, so didn't spend much time in there.
Check out though slow was fine.
All in all, a good mini break. I know hotels of this size, owned by groups always seem to need a lick of paint and a good scrub up, The Majestic Hotel, is the same. The Puma group own a spectacular building, which could be so much better with a few well spent £.
We will definitely be back, but would only look at a b&b basis. I know there are plenty of great eateries within 15mins walk of the hotel.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigday-tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Bigday-tripper,

Thank you for posting your review and glad to note the many positive elements of your stay.

We'll certainly revisit the bathroom in 264 as it is a lovely and modern room with amazing bathroom equipment and only a few years old.

I'm sorry your dinner wasn't to your taste and it is quite traditional and trying to have a broad appeal which generally is well received as noted from other reviews.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed for two nights in this lovely hotel. The service was exceptional and the room was fabulous - would recommend to anyone. Very close to the town centre. Meal on the first night wonderful and attention to detail second to none.


  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Steffany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear SteffanyH,

Thank you for posting your 5 star review of the Majestic Hotel, Harrogate. Your recognition does mean a lot to all our team who work hard to try and delight.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I had a one night stay at The Majestic. A great, grand building, the kind of place I enjoy staying. The room was lovely and large but the service and FOH needs improvement, its not that of a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nonsoloinglese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Nonsoloinglese,

Thank you for posting your review and my apologies if your front of house experience didn't meet expectations.

We have welcomed some new staff to our front desk and their training is ongoing as they get fully up to speed on the millions of pieces of information needed in Reception.

I'm sorry that your experience was affected.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2014

My husband, daughter and myself had a fabulous leisure break at the Majestic. The rooms were beautiful and the decor in keeping with the rest of this Edwardian hotel. Leisure and beauty facilities fab.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Carol N,

Thank you for posting your 5 star review of the Majestic Hotel, Harrogate. It was lovely to hear your kind words and so pleased that we delighted your family.

Our pamper breaks have just recently been relaunched and feature some superb treatments and great value. Visit our Puma Hotels website for more details.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Stayed for a short break at the Majestic Hotel the second time we have stayed here and have to say its the best in Harrogate.The staff are friendly, rooms great, food fine nothing is to much trouble, would certainly stay here again

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lumleykid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Lumleykid,

Thank you for posting your 5 star review of the Majestic Hotel, Harrogate. Your recognition really means a lot to us all.

Hoping to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
1 review
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Although the hotel is old and the outside could do with a bit of LTC. Inside was a delight. My wife and I enjoyed the whole experiance. The staff were very friendly. The food was good and well presented. We would and will stay there again

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear John R,

Thank you for posting your 5 star review of the Majestic Hotel and looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,491 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Hotel

Property: The Majestic Hotel
Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#9 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian landmark, the four-star Majestic Hotel has 170 bedrooms and sits in 12 acres of landscaped grounds in the centre of the spa town of Harrogate. Just a mile from the train station and 10 minutes walk from the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, it’s the perfect location to enjoy Harrogate’s quaint shops and spas; and you can also venture out to the wild landscape of the Yorkshire Dales. With a pool, jacuzzi, steam room and beauty salon, as well as tea rooms, a bar and the Majestic Restaurant there’s everything you need to relax after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Harrogate
Majestic Hotel Harrogate
The Majestic Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing