We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Majestic Hotel
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
London, England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Average Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We just returned from a long weekend in Harrogate and stayed at the Majestic Hotel. We had high hopes for this hotel, we love the big old grand hotels - even if sometimes they're a bit rough around the edges, it seems that the staff make up for it to be part of their history.

Well that is not the case with the Majestic.

First, the hotel is fine, there are some grand rooms in the main part of the hotel, but it doesn't flow well, and it seems a bit dis-jointed. You have the reception tucked into a tiny corner...and yet around the corner of the room, there is a massive un-used space in a very grand room. Not sure if the reception is only temporarily there, but it certainly does not give you a wow factor when you arrive.

Our room was only average. Nothing bad, nothing good about it. The shower had absolutely no water pressure, so it wasn't very good. The room was huge (I mean huge) but had a very small double bed in the corner which looked abnormally small, and 2 tiny chairs in the other side of the room. The tv was also too small for the room as from the bed, it was hard to even see it! It's like they had not thought about any details of the room or its layout when they put it together. There is also no safe, and no minibar.

The housekeeper finally cleaned our room at 4pm on the second day, and then did not replace any shower gels/shampoo or the bottle of waters in our room (remember there's no mini bar in the room). We had to call to get more shower gel, and they asked if I only wanted that or if we needed everything??? Why ask, give the little bottle of toiletries and don't look like a cheapskate!

As we had no refill of our bottled water, I went to the bar to get one and had to wait 10 minutes to get served, not because they were busy, but because no one was there.

The breakfast was good on the first day, decent selection but with horrible coffee. The second day was horrendous. There was a rush of people coming to breakfast about 9:30/9:45 on the Sunday morning (something I would assume happens every week) and it seemed that all the staff were left completely unaware, and were struggling to keep up. We queued for 15 minutes to even sit down, then to get to the hot food buffet - how about a 20 minute queue!? That's right, it took 35 minutes to enter the restaurant and get some eggs from the buffet! All the food was running out, and staff were feverishly running from the kitchen trying to cope and filling containers, but it left the whole experience a complete shambles!

The check out, I had 3 different bills...all incorrect with the last one being for 2.50 for a supplement I had on a dinner bill (which I was unaware). Again, complete lack of planning and organisation.

This hotel was once probably fantastic, and could possibly again be that way...but not in its current state. If you are going there to treat yourself to a romantic, luxurious weekend away - this is not the place! There is no attention to detail, and the whole place just leaves you wishing for something else.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Msmikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Msmikey,

Thank you for posting your review and I am sorry that your experience was not more positive. It seems clear from other reviews that your experience on this occasion was isolated and I do appreciate you sharing the information.

You can be certain that your observations have been taken on board.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    748
    860
    531
    288
    183
See reviews for
330
1,366
30
333
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

We booked the special deal through TravelZoo and it was good value for money.
The biggest problem was the fact that the whole hotel was cold.
The heating/radiators in the room didn't come on until after midnight. We had to use an electric heater to warm the room. When the radiator did come on we had to turn it off because you couldn't sleep through the noise it made. Clanking!
It was one of the best rooms and very nice.
We turned up at 6pm expecting to dine at 7pm but were told the restaurant was fully booked till 8.45pm! We had to go to the bar and have a sandwich to put us on till dinner. And the bar is very expensive, I could buy a whole litre of gin for the price of two large ones.
Most of the staff were very nice but I don't agree with Hlt M. We only met one English staff.
The reception manager was Australian and all the waiters/ waitresses were Latvian!
The food at the breakfast buffet was sparse (many bits missing) and cold.
We managed, however, to laugh off the misfortunes and had a very enjoyable weekend anyway.

Room Tip: Room numbers 100,200 and 300 plus 166,266 and 366 are the best. 400 and 466 are similar but smaller...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Banny81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Banny81,

Thank you for your review and my apologies that you felt cold. I am just about to respond to your direct guest feedback form and yes, there was an issue affecting 4 rooms (100,200,300 & 400) and we had to temporarily buy radiators to support the lack of central heating in those 4 rooms.

These heaters, whilst best suited to the purpose do thermostatically click on and off as they reach temperature which I appreciate can be disconcerting.

It's a very rare issue and overcome the day later with a pump being reprimed.

We have a good mix of staff of all nationalities and it's always more about how they look after guests for me than where they were born. Our Reception Manager is incidentallty a native of Harrogate though I understand the confusion.

At weekends especially it's very important to book in advance for dinner unless you are happy with a table after 8.30pm.

I'm glad that ultimately you had an enjoyable visit and hope to encourage you to return.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Booked The Majestic Harrogate just before Christmas as a Christmas present for my husband. I have to say the stay was lovely. The hotel looked beautiful with all the decorations up and our room was fantastic. We ate in the restaurant on the Sunday night to find the staff were local and very attentive. Harrogate is a beautiful town for shopping and leisure especially in the run up to Christmas with all the lights up. The hotel also has a gym / swimming pool and beauty rooms that we made use of. I found all the staff to be lovely to the extent I actually messaged the hotel via Facebook to let them know what a fantastic time we had. We regularly go to Harrogate and we always stay in The Majestic, I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hlt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Hlt M,

Thank you for posting your review and so glad that you again enjoyed your visit to us.

Harrogate is such a beautiful place at Christmas and over the past 2/3 years we have seen the introduction of new Christmas markets and £40,000 of Christmas lights which makes it a wonderful place to visit, especially as we've been lucky eith the weather this year.

Hoping to welcome you back for your next visit soon.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

An overnight stay on a travelzoo package including dinner with wine. Room very good size with king size comfy bed & brilliant view over front of the hotel, large clean bathroom with lashings of hot water. Staff very helpful and friendly. Dinner was excellent quality & waiter more than happy to serve small carafe of both red & white wine to accommodate our different taste. Breakfast was delicious with healthy options available together with all the usual delicious not so healthy suspects for those not feeling guilty after Christmas indulgences. Harrogate cente only a 5 minute walk away with a good variety of shops ( including a good range of independent shops) and plenty of pubs & restaurants. This big, grand hotel is clean, well decorated and lovingly maintained - a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: There is some construction work being carried out close to the hotel but we were not disturbed at al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlawsonmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear mlawsonmags,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel, Harrogate. It was a pleasure to read and so glad to see that our team were accommodating to your needs.

They will enjoy your acknowledgement and it encourages them to provide great service.

Hoping to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

It was my husbands 70th birthday on thursday and i planned an over night stay with dinner bed and breakfast . He could'nt have been more pleased with his stay (being a very picky person) he could find no faults at all much to my delight. The room was beautiful the food very nice indeed the staff exceptional and the whole experience was fantastic. Would definately book here again without hesitation ,our thanks to all at the Majestic

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marlowe78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear marlowe78,

Thank you for psoting your 5 star review of the Majestic Hotel. I'm really pleased that you were delighted with your choise for such a special occasion and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WALES
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed at the spacious and welcoming Majestic prior to Christmas. Our room was extremely comfortable, peaceful and with a modern bathroom - superb.
The food was very good and the hotel 's close proximity to Harrogate was a bonus.The Staff were friendly and helpful. We will hopefully make a return visit to this lovely hotel and explore more of the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CELTICDUO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear CELTICDUO,

Thank you for posting your 5 star review of the Majestic Hotel, Harrogate. I'm really pleased that you had such an enjoyable pre Christmas stay and hope to welcome you back in warmer times when there is so much to explore locally.

Looking forward to welcomeing you back.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Beautifully grand hotel, five minute walk to Harrogate centre. Could do with updating in some of the rooms, ours was a bit tired looking but comfy bed and very clean. Walls very thin, could hear conversations of people walking down corridors, and toilet made funny noise when flushed but nothing that would put us off staying again. Fantastic breakfast, parking on site (£3.50 per day), elegant staircases and chandeliers everywhere, efficient staff. Paid a little more than would for normal weekend away, but would definitely recommend for a special occasion!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rebekah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Rebekah M,

Thank you for psoting your review of the Majestic Hotel. I'm so pleased that you chose to visit us and glad that you enjoyed this visit.

Hoping to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,454 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Hotel

Property: The Majestic Hotel
Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#8 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian landmark, the four-star Majestic Hotel has 170 bedrooms and sits in 12 acres of landscaped grounds in the centre of the spa town of Harrogate. Just a mile from the train station and 10 minutes walk from the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, it’s the perfect location to enjoy Harrogate’s quaint shops and spas; and you can also venture out to the wild landscape of the Yorkshire Dales. With a pool, jacuzzi, steam room and beauty salon, as well as tea rooms, a bar and the Majestic Restaurant there’s everything you need to relax after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotelopia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Harrogate
Majestic Hotel Harrogate
The Majestic Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing