We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, excellent location.”
Review of The Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Majestic Hotel
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great hotel, excellent location.”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I booked this hotel through Secret Escapes as a surprise for my husbands birthday. £220 for 2 nights including breakfast in a premier room , a 3 course evening meal for two with a bottle of wine and an afternoon tea. Check in was quick and our premier room was excellent. A massive room which was modern and nicely decorated with a modern bathroom. Bathrobes and slippers included. I would definitely book a better room as the extra £10 was certainly worth it. I had booked our evening meal before we got there as I had read reviews that sometimes you have to eat dinner at 9 pm as it can be busy.The meal was very good and the wine also. The waiting staff were very professional.
The next morning we went to breakfast at 8.30 and enjoyed an excellent breakfast which included a help yourself buffet with plenty of hot and cold choices. The hotels location is so convenient for Harrogate which is just a 5 minute walk away. We had a walk about and visited Bettys for a coffee and as the weather was so awful decided to go back to the hotel and have our afternoon tea and then a swim. The afternoon tea was great and it was lovely to swim when the weather was so bad outside.
The second evening we had a superb meal at The Mirabelle in Swan Road, just a 10 minute walk from the hotel. A superb French restaurant and I would definitely recommend a visit if you are in Harrogate.
We checked out on the Saturday morning after a lovely relaxing break. Please note there is a £3.50 charge a day to use the hotel car park. The weather was terrible when we went and although our room was lovely and warm you may find that some of the communal areas are a bit cooler. Just make sure you take something warm to wear and you will be fine. The areas are so huge it would be almost impossible to keep them at a hotter temperature and also very expensive!! We will definitely return to this hotel if we return to Harrogate in the future.

Room Tip: Chose a premier room. Ours was 438.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawaii46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Hawaii26,

Thank you for posting your 5 star review and for travelling so far up the country to visit us.

I'm so glad that you had a lovely time and thanks for the great photographs.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    750
    876
    537
    296
    188
See reviews for
333
1,384
31
339
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (673)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Old and shoddy.

Service at breakfast was poor. A massive queue of people and nobody at the check in counter. Should have a permanent member of staff on there reassuring customers that they will be seated soon (even though loads of tables were free), rather than just continuing to walk past and ignore their paying customers.

Booking experience was shoddy. Booked a double room only to be told none were available a couple of days later, despite the hotel already taking our money. Agreed to take a twin room at a slightly reduced rate then turned up and surprise surprise no discount had been applied as the left hand wasn't talking to the right hand.

Room was falling apart. Stains on the walls, dirty floors, bathroom straight out of the 70s. Terrible value for money and not up to scratch for a supposed 4* place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sjenkins1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Sjenkins1987,

Thank you for your review and I'm sorry that there were issues with your booking through a partner site. When full breakfast does get busy and we have no direct control over the exact timing of guests appearing at the restaurant doors. When busy 2 staff provide hosting and I'm sorry you were delayed.

Your feedback is appreciated, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Harrogate hotels

Scunthorpe, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We have stayed here several times in the past and always had a good experience. Prior to our stay this time, we had been contacted to advise that there had been a mix-up with the booking and we would have to have a twin room. However, we were given a discount by means of an evening meal, which we thought was very fair. The room we had, on the third floor was fine except for the old aluminium double-glazed windows, which didn't seal properly and on which one of the closing-levers was hanging on by one screw (they were also pretty dirty). They are obviously badly in need of replacing, and I suspect this is one of the rooms that hasn't been refurbished yet. This sounds like nitpicking, but with the level of wind on Saturday night, the imperfect window seal was fully exploited and whistling away! I managed to minimise it with judiciously placed bits of folded up cardboard, so it didn't ruin our stay by any means.

The evening meal was generally good, although the Caesar salad dressing was a little heavy on the anchovies and (nitpicking again maybe, but this is a high-end hotel) my ham-hock terrine starter had obviously been left exposed for a while before serving and was a tad dry and curling at the edges. Tasted good though. I almost broke a tooth on a stray shard of bone from the confit duck leg, so perhaps preparation needs a little more care. Other than these relatively small niggles, it was good. Breakfast very good, with everything to satisfy anything but the most demanding palate.

The staff were all very pleasant, some of them in a slightly overly-efficient way, but they were obviously very busy that night, so I can't blame them for that. The main bar is very nice and the service was good, and the beer isn't as ridiculously expensive as in some similar hotels. Facility-wise, the hotel is good, with very good gym facilities and a nice pool. Can't comment on the beauty treatment side of things as we have never (yet) used them.

With its excellent position a few minutes walk from Harrogate centre (and Bettys) and overall the excellent experiences we have had over the last several years, I would have no problem returned again or recommending it to others.

Room Tip: Just take heed of the comments regarding double-glazing, especially if it's a windy night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oxymoron66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Oxymoron66,

Thank you for your detailed and informative review. I enjoyed reading it and would just ask you to let me know the room number. We have a special kit to fit to windows to prevent whistling and it helps to know which are affected. My email is v.johnson@pumahotels.co.uk.

Many thanks, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Had to change room as window had faulty hinge and daylight could be seen therefore the whistling noise was incredibly loud and the room very cold (this was an upgraded room). All communal areas drab and very very cold. Dining room is big, cold and uninviting and the food was very poor. One night stay for DBB £130 - complete rip off

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Fiona C,

Thank you for your review and I am sorry that there were extreme winds outside that required you to move rooms.

I know my colleague will ahve responded to your direct feedback to us.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Just had a short weekend.break at the fabulous majestic hotel Harrogate. Wasn't sure what to expect after reading some of the reviews but I certainly didn't expect it to be as good is it was. We were upgraded to a premier room, a great start as the rooms were fantastic. The food was amazing we dined in the hotel over 2 nights. Staff were great and couldn't do enough to help. There was a big private function on one of our nights so we expected in might be a bit noisy, far from it we never heard a thing. I would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely be going back

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank amyama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear amyama,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review of the Majestic Hotel, Harrogate. We are delighted with your recognition and praise.

Hoping to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2014

A lovely break enjoyed in an outstanding hotel, with all amenities needed. Food quite superb in terms of quality, preparation and variety. Staff very efficient; restaurant staff could perhaps be less formal. A great hotel on the doorstep of a lovely city - completed by its TK Max!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Kevin H,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review and you must return as Harrogate has more to offer than some great shopping !

Hoping to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We booked using an amazon deal and it is good value. THe bathroom is good, the decor in the premium bedroom is nice and but dark feeling. The noise from the pipes,especially last night, was dreadful. We have a view of the town but it is spoiled by the dirty windows, there is a balcony so they could be kept clean. Speaking of the balcony outside our windows, there are obvious cleaning and leak issues and looks quite ugly and dirty.
The staff are very variable in friendliness, wonderful young man running the restaurant last night, it's not his fault the food was very average.
Afternoon tea was included and was very nice in a lovely setting.
Nice pool and a refreshing swim after shopping.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuliaC2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear JuliaC2511,

Thank you for your review and it appears that you enjoyed your visit. We do periodically access the balcony to tidy and clean though it has not been the nicest weather for this. I appreciate you pointing out that is is necessary again.

Many thanks for your feedback, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,495 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Hotel

Property: The Majestic Hotel
Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#9 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian landmark, the four-star Majestic Hotel has 170 bedrooms and sits in 12 acres of landscaped grounds in the centre of the spa town of Harrogate. Just a mile from the train station and 10 minutes walk from the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, it’s the perfect location to enjoy Harrogate’s quaint shops and spas; and you can also venture out to the wild landscape of the Yorkshire Dales. With a pool, jacuzzi, steam room and beauty salon, as well as tea rooms, a bar and the Majestic Restaurant there’s everything you need to relax after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Harrogate
Majestic Hotel Harrogate
The Majestic Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing