We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Majestic Hotel
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not the best.”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed here on Friday and Saturday night. Saturday night had been paid for by husbands work due to a conference and we thought we'd treat ourselves and stay the Friday night too. Checked in fine and went to our room on the top floor. Disappointed was not the word. It was dark, dingy, old fashioned and in need of lots of tlc. I'm not the sort to complain but decided to call reception and explain. A lovely girl popped up to see us and I explained we were away for the weekend and this really wasn't very nice. She took us straight downstairs to the second floor and showed us a far nicer room which we took gladly! It was updated and modern but the bathroom looked a bit sad. Breakfast in the morning was very nice and well organised. The conference meal in the evening was abysmal. Overcooked lamb I'm afraid. Having sat and chatted with fellow colleagues it became apparent there are many rooms to the Majestic of varying size and quality. Our room was huge which was great but a few people had shoe box sized rooms. I don't think I'd go back here I'm afraid

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deaversdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Stunthippo,

Thank you for posting your review and my apologies that you were disappointed with the initial room allocated. I am glad that we could move you quickly and that you were happy with the alternative room.

Our bedrooms do come in all manner of shapes and sizes and for an overnight stay even our smallest rooms are generally enjoyed. It is a part of being a historic building and as in your case, we are happy to change rooms where possible.

At your conferecne dinner you had a choice menu and clearly selected the lamb dish which was described as "Twice baked shoulder of lamb" which infers it is a slow cooked dish, as it was.

I am sorry that you were disappointed though appreciate you sharing your feedback.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    747
    855
    531
    287
    181
See reviews for
328
1,362
30
331
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (660)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

myself and my partner stayed for three days for my birthday, opened the door to find a lovely modern room with great bathroom.
the staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms cleaned, and tidied daily.
the pool and the fitness suite were small but we used them every day.
great distance just to walk into harrogate, which is a truly lovely place
booking up to go again in December

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crnag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear crnag,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review and so pelased to hear that you have already booked to return.

You'll love the Christmas lights in December.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed here with a voucher and were very pleasantly surprised by the standard of the hotel, particularly the food. We enjoyed the swimming pool and sauna and were tempted by the tennis court but didn't manage to get round to this. Very helpful and friendly staff. Fascinating history to the hotel. Harrogate town centre only a five minute walk away.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Penny P,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review and for choosing to stay with us.

Hoping to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed her for one night in March whilst on a company conference. The conference rooms are idea. Food was lovely. We were up grades so our room was very nice. This room had been recently up dated, but still had a little bit of work to be done. (Old windows that let cold in and the wall papers a bit peeling, not a problem for us bt for a 4 star hotel not idea) The hotel has a gym, a pool, jacuzzi and sauna. The gym is ok for a quick blast but a true gym enthusiast may be a bit disappointed as there's not much gym equipment. The pool is nice but not very big. Drinks in the bar are standard hotel prices, along with room service prices.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jordan0701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Jordan0701,

Thank you for posting your review and I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay for your comapny function.

From the two images I know which room you were in and have asked our maintenance team to check as it appears a couple of wallpaper seams are lighting very slightly.

I'm glad that you had a chance to use the facilities and found all in order.

Many thanks, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Absolutely fantastic service. Nothing is too much of a problem for them. Okay, so there was no wifi in the room but was I bothered. No way. Really nice rooms and very quiet (except when they plugged something in). Excellent food. Definitely going to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikedawson5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Mikedawson5,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review.

Our team will be delighted to read of your enjoyment and acknowledgement of their hard work and we'll look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Large victorian hotel, well kept througout with recently decorated rooms Our room (on south side) had a cracking view of the town.

Staff were helpful and friendly at all times.

Good location for centre of town with off street parking.

Good facilities.

We took to the place and thoruoghly enjoyed our stay.

The only negative was the first impression as the main entrance and car parking is at the rear and the rear elevation with all the downpipes and fire escapes does not do the building justice.

Room Tip: Ask for south eleveation
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ywnoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear ywnoc,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel and so pleased that you had a great stay.

You're right that the main entrance was never the original access point though with the popularity of the car we were presumably co-ersed into changing our entrance early in the 20th Century.

Many thanks, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

After reading quite a few poor reviews on tripadvisor I almost didn't book this hotel. I'm so pleased I chose to ignore these as our own personal experience of this hotel was world's apart from the gripes in these reviews. I booked through their central reservations on 21/2/14 to arrive 2 days later on 23rd and got what I considered to be a great deal. 2nights b&b in an upgraded deluxe double with dinner and a bottle of wine on the 1st night and afternoon tea on the 2nd day with a late checkout of 1pm. Cost-£206.
On arrival the hotel is quite impressive a big classic looking Victorian building with loads of character,lovely looking inside very clean and lovely original features.
Check in was quick and easy took less than 10 mins although if a few arrive at the same time to check in I can imagine a bit of a wait as the reception is quite small for the size of the hotel.
The room was massive,clean and well decorated with a superking bed large wardrobe a table with a couple of chairs and tv on a set of drawers and a separate dressing table. Bathroom was nice and clean with everything you could need. Good shower over bath sink,toilet and toiletries also robes and slippers. Ours was room 126.
The food was lovely, staff were friendly and service was good. Breakfast was buffet style and was well cooked with lots of choice and afternoon tea was really enjoyable with sandwiches,cakes,4 scones and even a refill of tea. Hotel bar prices are quite expensive with a pint of San Miguel at £4.25 and a club sandwich at £12 but if your meals are included as ours were it doesn't have to cost you the earth. The spa was ample a fair size swimming pool about 15m ish with a Jacuzzi and gym. The changing rooms are quite small with a sauna in each mens and womens. It's not a fantastic spa set up but if you just fancy a quick swim or a rest in the Jacuzzi it fits the bill. I can only tell you of my own personal experience but I'm so glad I didn't let reviews put me off staying here. We had a great relaxing 2 nights and wouldn't hesitate staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe double or a refurbished room ours was 126 and was a corner room and was impressive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peteflan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear peteflan7,

Thank you for your 5 star review of the Majestic Hotel, Harrogate.

It was a delight to read and in fairness to some other reviewers you had selected a Deluxe Room which are our very best rooms and got a great deal to stay.

I'm extremely pleased that we exceeded your expectations and on balance when considering the reviews overall we do get good scores and feedback in the vast majority of cases.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,443 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
1,221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
563 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Hotel

Property: The Majestic Hotel
Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#8 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian landmark, the four-star Majestic Hotel has 170 bedrooms and sits in 12 acres of landscaped grounds in the centre of the spa town of Harrogate. Just a mile from the train station and 10 minutes walk from the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, it’s the perfect location to enjoy Harrogate’s quaint shops and spas; and you can also venture out to the wild landscape of the Yorkshire Dales. With a pool, jacuzzi, steam room and beauty salon, as well as tea rooms, a bar and the Majestic Restaurant there’s everything you need to relax after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Harrogate
Majestic Hotel Harrogate
The Majestic Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing