We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel”
Review of The Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Majestic Hotel
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Harrogate
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I have just come back from a 2 night stay at the hotel,I had upgraded to a premium room which was very nice, refurbished bathroom and quite spacious. The beds were most uncomfortable and pillows very hard so mentioned to reception as unfortunately I had no sleep,the reply was that all the beds were the same so there was no point in changing rooms but hey did change our pillows.
Constant door banging through the night which I know you get at hotels but seemed louder than expected which constantly woke me up throughout our stay.Came home feeling shattered!!
Food was very nice in the evening 3 courses from a set menu,changed both nights £25,breakfast ok. Chose this hotel for having leisure facilities but I have to say what a BIG let down in my opinion needs a refurbishment this spoilt our stay. Close to the centre of Harrogate so location good.If I am honest I have stopped in better hotels and with having lack of sleep over the 2 nights I would not stop again. Tried to charge us for car parking on checking out when we travelled by train! Quite busy with conferences both days.

Room Tip: Worth up grading to a premium room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MERC08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Me4rc08,

Thank you for posting your review from which I'm sorry to hear that you found your beds uncomfortable. The reception are correct in that all the Premium Rooms have the same beds as I have always bought Hypnos beds which are widely used in good quality hotels, though pleased to hear that alternative pillows were provided.

Our leisure club is small and I'm sorry it wasn;t what you'd sought. In Harrogate there are only two hotels with leisure facilities and our friendly team do their utmost to weclome guests.

I do appreciate your feedback, many thanks, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,413 - 2,419 of 3,181 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014

We recently stayed at the Majestic as part of a conference deal. We were lucky in that our room was on the fourth floor and faced over Harrogate - lovely view!! The room was large and well furnished, I like it when you get a sofa and armchair (I hate having to sit on a couple of stand chairs!). The beds were twin, however we pushed them together to make a large double. The TV was a large flatscreen and the room had a hairdryer, iron, ironing board, a fan heater (although it was plenty warm enough) and tea and coffee making facilities (generous supply of tea and coffee). The bathroom was large and really pleasant, not really a grumble, but the shower was over the bath and nowadays I would expect a walk-in shower. There were two lifts which meant you didn't have to wait for ages for the lifts. The self-service buffet breakfast was excellent - everything you would expect and of good quality. We ate in the Regency Bar one of the evenings and it was excellent, although the price was in line with what you would expect for a hotel. All the staff were pleasant,helpful and efficient. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The room was number 430 - excellent view over Harrogate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank OldColners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear OldColners,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review and so glad that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us. The hotel is certainly full of character and of course when we opened there weren't any ensuite bathrooms. It was trips down the corridor to the shared facilities !

The vast majority of our rooms remain as shower over bath with just a few of our refurbished Premium and Deluxe rooms having a seperate shower cubicle.

Hoping to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Just enjoyed a couple of nights in harrogate. Hotel reception and dining areas were very impressive. Our room was a big jaded as we didn't get a refurbished room, but was clean and well serviced and more than adequate.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neilc323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear nealc323,

Thank you for posting your review and glad you had a good stay.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Although its glory days are long past, this is still an architecturally impressive hotel and whilst the bedrooms are bit tired, the public rooms are better and still retain something of their past grandeur, which unlike many modern hotels gives the place a bit of soul. Breakfast is good, the swimming pool a useful addition, there is plenty of parking and it's easy to find. Also, it is right on the doorstep of the town cntre and if location is everything, then it's hard to beat. It's not a budget hotel, it is still quite keenly priced and pretty good value. Yes, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeremyPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear JeremyPC,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel which was a reasonable assessment. On your next stay I'd recommend you trying one of our Premium Bedrooms which are more modern.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Tired and tatty that is the best description of this once jewel in Harrogate’s Crown.
We stayed for one night in adjoining rooms, 329 & 330, and we were more than dissatisfied; the rooms were cold and the heating is ancient, although there was a fan heater in the wardrobe.
The paintwork was cracked and peeling and the general condition of the fixtures was poor; a panel had obviously been replaced in one of the doors with a piece of very thin ply. The windows were draughty and the view out of one was onto some of the worst external plumbing I have ever seen, couple this with the constant noise of dripping water and it did not make for a good night’s sleep..
The furniture was good quality but very dated, the kettle had to be plugged in under the desk and the mattress although of a good quality it was well past its time and had no mattress protector.
The over use of air freshener in the rooms was appalling; our niece and her baby had a poor night, mainly because of the oppressive smell. I am unable to understand why they need so much product and wonder what smell they are trying to disguise.
We stayed in this hotel because of its rating and we were very disappointed; yet another nail in the coffin of the rating system.
Five star? Definitely not. Four star? No. Three star? Maybe. Two star? Just.

Room Tip: If you need to stay at this hotel do not take rooms 329 or 230 they are very poor rooms; better stil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dennisblackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear dennisblackpool ,

Thank you for posting your review and I'm very sorry that you were unhappy with the rooms provided to you. They are popular rooms which are reguarly used and most guests are happy with them. Of course we are checking them again in light of your feedback and to hopefully find the cause of the drip you mention.

I've not previously had reference to the air freshener used but it is a good product and it is important to freshen a room between guests. It's still too cold to leave windows open and as I say, not highlighted before as an issue so we will monitor this.

I'll be responding to your direct post stay feedabck that we have received direct..

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

A short walk to the centre of Harrogate. Beautiful grounds and very majestic with a touch of modern inside.
All staff very friendly and efficient.
We had a deluxe room which was huge! Felt very special for our romantic weekend!
You must go to Betty's tea rooms whilst in Harrogate! A tad pricey and miniscule portions, but oozes class and great if you want to feel special.
Very tasty and fresh. Be ready for a queue outside though at peak times! Very popular!
I would definitely stay at this hotel again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Sharon T,

Thank you so much for posting your 5 star review and so pleased you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed the Deluxe Room.

Hoping to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Stayed here this week on business, the hotel itself is very oldy worldy, lovely architecture and like stepping back in time, very atmospheric. The interior in places is a little tired but that goes with the character of the hotel. The walls seemed a bit thin as I could hear every word on the TV of the person in the next room and also every flush of the toilet and running tap. It was very clean and the service was good at reception, the bar staff were a little terse and need to smile a bit more and the bar waitress was chewing gum, which didnt give a great impression. On a down side I did find it a little odd and not very pleasant that they had a trolley in the corridor right by the bar entrance where they were holding used plates, food scrapings and used cutlery, it wasnt a pleaseant greeting to the bar or dining room. The hotel is very close to the conference centre and has a good leisure complex with pool and a spa as well. I would happily stay again, but please get your bar staff a bit more cheery and get rid of that trolley, oh and some lighter music at breakfast would be good too rather than stuffy classical funeral music.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank audittraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear audittraveler,

Thank you for posting your review which I enjoyed reading. I'm glad that you enjoyed your experience this week and we'll see what we can do with the breakfast music to lighten it up a bit.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#7 of 28 in Harrogate
352 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 28 in Harrogate
1,395 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Swan Hotel
Old Swan Hotel
#17 of 28 in Harrogate
1,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#8 of 28 in Harrogate
1,793 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,799 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Hotel

Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#9 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: £47 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian landmark, the four-star Majestic Hotel has 170 bedrooms and sits in 12 acres of landscaped grounds in the centre of the spa town of Harrogate. Just a mile from the train station and 10 minutes walk from the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, it’s the perfect location to enjoy Harrogate’s quaint shops and spas; and you can also venture out to the wild landscape of the Yorkshire Dales. With a pool, jacuzzi, steam room and beauty salon, as well as tea rooms, a bar and the Majestic Restaurant there’s everything you need to relax after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Harrogate
Majestic Hotel Harrogate
The Majestic Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing