We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent spa day”
Review of The Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Majestic Hotel
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Harrogate
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Had a spa day this week with a girlfriend. The pool etc are in need of updating ie very small changing room and no spinner for costumes. But everything else makes up for this The staff are all welcoming and friendly, the bar area where we had a nice afternoon tea is glorious. The treatments and the beautician absolutely fabulous. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leedsUKLesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear leedsUKLesley,

Thank you so much for posting your 5 star review of your spa day at the Majestic Hotel. Our staff will be delighted with your praise and recognition especially as our logistics are difficult with everything being in different places.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,397 - 2,403 of 3,188 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

The hotel is a fantastic building complete with large staircase and chandeliers in extensive grounds. A book is provided to read about the history of the hotel, which was very interesting.
Food great, lots of choice at breakfast and dinner, afternoon tea really special.
Room very big with fluffy dressing gowns and slippers, big bath ( a bit difficult to use) selection of refreshments and TV.
Would definitely recommend as a great base when visiting Harrogate.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank hardmanlorlor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear hardmanlorlor,

Thank you for your 5 star review of the Majestic Hotel, Harrogate.

It was a pleasure to read and hopefully we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights having booked with Secret Escapes. The hotel is in a perfect location for walking into the town centre and driving out into the countryside.
The hotel is very impressive and must have been fantastic in its hey day. The reception area, bars and restaurant are very well maintained, but I think the bedrooms are looking a little tired. We stayed in room 258. Saying that though, it was clean and comfortable. I was a little disappointed there was no fridge in the room.
We had our first evening meal in the hotel, included in the price, along with a bottle of house wine. The menu offered a good choice, however, I was a little disappointed with my starter of salmon fishcake. I was expecting a home made one,with flaky bits of salmon in it. What I got looked like a Bird's Eye frozen one. The rest of the meal was nice.
Breakfast was buffet service and there was plenty of choice.
We had afternoon tea included, and that was was served from 1pm, so we opted to have that as our lunch on the 2nd day, and this was perfectly adequate, especially after a huge breakfast.
If you have a car, you do have to pay to park, but for £3.50 a day, I don't think that is too bad for a city centre hotel.
Overall, I think we got good value for money, and would recommend it for a short break.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bj_webster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear bj_webster,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel. I'm so pleased that you had a lovely time with us and thank you for your recommendation.

I will speak to our Head Chef about the fishcakes as they are made here and thank you for your feedback on this.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We have just had a two night break at the Hotel Majestic. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, but still treated guests with great respect. The room was very clean and so was the bathroom. I would recommend them highly

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rosemary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear rosemary_barker,

Thank you so much for your recognition and 5 star review.

Hoping to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Great location to walk into town. Impressive from outside. Arrived an hour after book in time with a 3 month old baby after 3 hour journey. Rooms were still not ready and the queue of people waiting to check in were not happy. Not good enough! You expect to be able to book in at time given, especially with a baby, needing to feed and change etc.
Booked hotel as it had a spa. As soon as finally got to room phoned up to book a treatment. It was fully booked until 2 days later but we would have left by then. So make sure you book before you go...
On the last day, the pool was broken due to pump failure. We were told we could use a hotel pool down the road but with a baby it was too much.
Food fine, staff a pleasure.
Place looks a little worn, but room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emi10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear emi10,

Thank you for posting your review and I'm sorry that you were unable to get straight to your room on arrival. With up to 350 people arriving on any given day it can get busy if their exact arrival times coincide and our receptionists do a valiant job in trying to work as fast as possible.

I'm also sorry that our Orchid Rooms beauty salon was fully booked. It has 4 treatment rooms and is very popular so I would always advise pre-booking especially at weekends.

I'm happy that the other elements of your stay were enjoyable and hope that we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

A classic beautiful hotel with lots of character that have been carefully preserved and maintained. The room was modern but in keeping with the hotel style and was spotless. Fantastic location to explore Harrogate and visit the superb bars and restaurants. The restaurant felt a little impersonal and needs a more intimate atmosphere and although in hindsight I would have eaten somewhere in the town for the above reasons, the food was very nice with lots of choice. Breakfast was included in the room fee and was exceptional. Staff were very smart and extremely helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fatboysim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear fatboysim,

Thank you for your lovely 5 star review. It is really pleasing to see that our efforts are appreciated and this helps us keep up the hard work.

Hoping to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

A hotel in the great old fashioned style like Gleneagles, friendly staff, good food and comfortable rooms. You need to organise your breakfast to get everything coming together at the same time but this is no different to the majority of buffet breakfast services!
Wonderful location for access to the town and much to do in the surrounding countyside - give it a try, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Robert K,

Thank you for posting your review and really happy that you had a lovely break with us.

You are correct that we are perfectly located to explore the whole region, whether town or rugged countryside. You'll have to return and see more !

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#7 of 28 in Harrogate
355 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 28 in Harrogate
1,397 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Swan Hotel
Old Swan Hotel
#17 of 28 in Harrogate
1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#8 of 28 in Harrogate
1,793 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,805 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Hotel

Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#9 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: £47 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian landmark, the four-star Majestic Hotel has 170 bedrooms and sits in 12 acres of landscaped grounds in the centre of the spa town of Harrogate. Just a mile from the train station and 10 minutes walk from the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, it’s the perfect location to enjoy Harrogate’s quaint shops and spas; and you can also venture out to the wild landscape of the Yorkshire Dales. With a pool, jacuzzi, steam room and beauty salon, as well as tea rooms, a bar and the Majestic Restaurant there’s everything you need to relax after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Harrogate
Majestic Hotel Harrogate
The Majestic Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing