We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break”
Review of The Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Majestic Hotel
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Harrogate
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This was a Groupon offer and was one of our best. The Hotel was very pleasant and the staff were very good. We had two nights and the only fault was lack of really hot water, The first morning I had difficulty shaving as the water from the tap was warm but not enough for a good shave. Second morning much better and no need to boil the kettle, The shower on the first afternoon suffered a similar fate and this did not suit my wife as she likes it really hot. One got the impression the water was not kept hot constantly. I noticed Tractorboy comment about the breakfast and largely agree. Dinner was top quality
Overall this did not spoil our break and everything else was very much to our liking. Hence the 4 stars.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KINGSKNOWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear KINGSKNOWE,

Thank you for your review and very happy with your priase for the groupon deal you took with us. In your case I'm glad that you enjoyed your dinner and as I commented to the previous reviewer, we are reviewing all our food operations for improvements.

Glad everything else was to your liking and hoping to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,023)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,227 - 2,233 of 3,023 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

The Majestic is a very fine and comfortable hotel the rooms are modern and well equipped and very clean as were the public rooms .the food offering lets the hotel down the selection at breakfast was good except the cooked offering which was self service and cold with solid rubbery fried eggs and cold plates, service at dinner was also poor. the hotel is very well located and close to the town

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TractorboyLowestoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear TractorboyLowestoft,

Thank you for review which I found very helpful. We are working on the areas highlighted to ensure consistency and a new Spring menu was launched today in our lounge and room service and dinner menus are changing in April.

I'm sure that on your next visit you'll see the improvements we are making and my thanks for your assistance in this regard.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Excellent service and very comfortable stay. Would highly recommend this hotel for any trip to Harrogate and the surrounding area.
Also the Beauty Rooms where both my Husband and I had a massage and we were not disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank menim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear menim,

Thank you for your 5 star review of the Majestic Hotel, Harrogate.

Hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Very pleased with the hotel in all aspects. Check in was easy, room was well furnished and clean, and bed was comfortable. Meals were well prepared and presented. Breakfast choice was excellent. Good location for the town of Harrogate and within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank robertb1400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear robertb1400,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review.

Glad we looked after you.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Had a spa day this week with a girlfriend. The pool etc are in need of updating ie very small changing room and no spinner for costumes. But everything else makes up for this The staff are all welcoming and friendly, the bar area where we had a nice afternoon tea is glorious. The treatments and the beautician absolutely fabulous. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leedsUKLesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear leedsUKLesley,

Thank you so much for posting your 5 star review of your spa day at the Majestic Hotel. Our staff will be delighted with your praise and recognition especially as our logistics are difficult with everything being in different places.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The hotel is a fantastic building complete with large staircase and chandeliers in extensive grounds. A book is provided to read about the history of the hotel, which was very interesting.
Food great, lots of choice at breakfast and dinner, afternoon tea really special.
Room very big with fluffy dressing gowns and slippers, big bath ( a bit difficult to use) selection of refreshments and TV.
Would definitely recommend as a great base when visiting Harrogate.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank hardmanlorlor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear hardmanlorlor,

Thank you for your 5 star review of the Majestic Hotel, Harrogate.

It was a pleasure to read and hopefully we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights having booked with Secret Escapes. The hotel is in a perfect location for walking into the town centre and driving out into the countryside.
The hotel is very impressive and must have been fantastic in its hey day. The reception area, bars and restaurant are very well maintained, but I think the bedrooms are looking a little tired. We stayed in room 258. Saying that though, it was clean and comfortable. I was a little disappointed there was no fridge in the room.
We had our first evening meal in the hotel, included in the price, along with a bottle of house wine. The menu offered a good choice, however, I was a little disappointed with my starter of salmon fishcake. I was expecting a home made one,with flaky bits of salmon in it. What I got looked like a Bird's Eye frozen one. The rest of the meal was nice.
Breakfast was buffet service and there was plenty of choice.
We had afternoon tea included, and that was was served from 1pm, so we opted to have that as our lunch on the 2nd day, and this was perfectly adequate, especially after a huge breakfast.
If you have a car, you do have to pay to park, but for £3.50 a day, I don't think that is too bad for a city centre hotel.
Overall, I think we got good value for money, and would recommend it for a short break.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bj_webster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear bj_webster,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel. I'm so pleased that you had a lovely time with us and thank you for your recommendation.

I will speak to our Head Chef about the fishcakes as they are made here and thank you for your feedback on this.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 28 in Harrogate
288 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 28 in Harrogate
1,357 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Swan Hotel
Old Swan Hotel
#16 of 28 in Harrogate
1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 28 in Harrogate
1,495 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#7 of 28 in Harrogate
1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Hotel

Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#9 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: £57 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian landmark, the four-star Majestic Hotel has 170 bedrooms and sits in 12 acres of landscaped grounds in the centre of the spa town of Harrogate. Just a mile from the train station and 10 minutes walk from the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, it’s the perfect location to enjoy Harrogate’s quaint shops and spas; and you can also venture out to the wild landscape of the Yorkshire Dales. With a pool, jacuzzi, steam room and beauty salon, as well as tea rooms, a bar and the Majestic Restaurant there’s everything you need to relax after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your The Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Harrogate
Majestic Hotel Harrogate
The Majestic Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing