We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel, well placed, but definite room for improvement.”
Review of The Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Majestic Hotel
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed for 2 days in March. Booked a twin room. Arrived early morning, expected room not to be ready, but thought we could complete the check in process and store our luggage so that we could make best use of the time we had in Harrogate. Checked in and confirmed a twin room was required and would told that rooms would be ready by 3pm.
3pm, went to Reception, room not ready. Had to sit and wait in Reception for 40 mins until room was ready.
Confusion over room numbers, verbally told room 201. No directions to lift/room given or meal times information given nothing.
Went and found room 201, unpacked and was chilling when phone rang and we were asked what our name was who was in the room. I confirmed the surname on the booking, No explanation given as to why this was required. Then on looking at the key card holder it stated room 203. This caused confusion throughout the whole stay with Restaurant and also every day for 3 days, every time we wanted to go back into our room, we would have to go downstairs and get the key reprogrammed as it had been "wiped" I was told by having near to my mobile phone. Which I found hilarious, as I am a person who actually does not own or have on my person a mobile phone??? No apology nothing. Room was not serviced at all throughout our stay, no clean towels, coffee/tea replenished, again nothing.
Breakfast, cannot fault, great choice, good service and quality and choice was excellent. evening meal however was a different matter. Steak asked for well done, in fact the word cremated was used. Steak came, complete with blood on plate, this steak was definitely medium to rare and not well done as asked for. This was replaced. The other main meal was also returned as the cod loin ordered was cold and not cooked properly in the middle. A complimentary drink was given.
Overall a lovely Hotel in an excellent location. Public areas are in a very good condition and very clean. But definite room for improvement regarding housekeeping and restaurant. BTW drinks very expensive £2.90 for a coke!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sqwirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Squirly,

Thank you for posting your review and very glad that you liked the hotel and our breakfast. It is very unfortunate that other elements were not provided in accordance with our normal procedures and I appreciate you highlighting these.

It can be very difficult to complete the check in process in the morning as we cannot physically apply the reservation to the intended room number if the departing guest has not yet checked out, as in this instance. This gave rise to the cofusion over your room number and we are working with our Reception Team to improve our handling of early arrivals.

I am sorry that your request for a cremated steak was not actioned to your liking and glad that on the second visit it was acceptable, together with the replacement fish dish for your partner. We do value your feedback and you can see from other reviews that dinner is usually well received so my sincere apologies for your disappointment.

We are always minded that improvements can be made and this is a never ending process. Your specific comments do help us in this regard and I'm sure that on your next visit you'll see a marked difference.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,919)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,112 - 2,118 of 2,919 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

Where to start! Tiny room furnished with tired, old furniture. Brown stains on the walls and thread bare carpet. Bathroom had old cast iron bath with shower over. Could stand up in shower as bathroom had sloping roof that sloped over the shower resulting in the shower head being shoulder height (i'm only 5'2"!). No heating in the room. Receptions response to this was to send a man to the room who told us the only way for the heating to work on the top floor was to leave the hot tap running constantly!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lucy53park
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Lucy53Park,

I'm very sorry that the room provided to you suffered from some technical issues and be assured this remains in hand. We are corresponding separately to your guest survey provided directly to us and will I hope get the opportunity to change your current view.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Staying at this hotel has been a dream. This was a travel zoo offer and has been phenomenal value for money. This Victorian hotel is positively sumptuous with its thick carpets, marble panels and pillars, crystal chandeliers and palatial rooms and bathrooms. Everything you would expect in a Victorian hotel. It's like stepping back in time. The staff are smart and efficient, friendly and helpful and the food is excellent. We had a superb three course dinner last night. The breakfast buffet was vast and varied this morning and our afternoon tea was more than generous. A special mention for Lizzie who served our tea. A charming and obliging young lady with a great sense of humour and very good at her job. I want to adopt her! Quite often when you take up a special offer deal, quality is dumbed down but not at the majestic. Every aspect as been top quality. Ten out of ten across the board.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear M P,

Thank you for posting your 5 star review of the Majestic Hotel, Harrogate.

I'm really pleased you enjoyed your Travelzoo deal and hope to welcome you back soon.

Lizzie is indeed a great asset and unfortunately not available for adoption !

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We booked a Superior Room for one night as we were attending an event at the International Centre in Harrogate.

The hotel is ideally situated within a short walking distance of the cente and has ample parking (£3.50 per night).
Check in was a bit slow as only one person was dealing with guests arriving. Once we got to the front of the queue we found her to be friendly and very helpful. I noticed a queue at Reception several times during my stay.

Our room (Room 200) was one of the nicest we have ever used. It was absolutely massive with a huge ensuite. It was warm and tastefully furnished in an elegant style.

The outside of the hotel looked a bit shabby from some angles, (eg when viewed from the covered walkway leading to the pool) but all the public areas that we visted inside the hotel, and our room, were decorated and furnished to a very high standard. The dining room and stairwell have real character and the "wow" factor.

The swimming pool and spa were very nice with towels supplied.

Our evening meal was included as part of our package. There was a good choice. The food was all to a good standard and piping hot. The were plenty of staff on duty who went about their business efficiently and very effectively. The kitchen and dining room staff are a credit to the hotel. Our meal came with a free bottle of 'house' wine. I was disappointed to see this was a cheap Sicillian brand which did not pass muster for the discerning pallate, and I cannot recommend it.

The bed was very soft and I soon drifted off to sllep. However, my peaceful night's sleep was disturbed several times but, in particular between 1am and 2.30am when there was loud and sustained cachophony from several drunken guests who seemed intent on waking the whole neighbourhood. Not really the hotel's fault as such - but more a refelection of how selfish and inconsiderate we have become as a society.

Breakfast was, again, absolutely spot-on. We really were spoilt for choice with a wide range of fruit, continental and pattisserie offerings in addition to the obligatory "Full English". My only criticism is that, in common with many other hotels nowadays, the breakfast was presented in a "buffet" style rather than being cooked-to-order as I would have expected in a hotel of this standing. Notwithstanding that, it was good to see that food was regularly replenished: Fried eggs were still runny; everything was piping hot - including the plates. I was however, surprised that serviettes were not made available for guests to use when handing the hot plates - just a little touch that would have a difference.

We had the benefit of a late check-out time so managed to avoid the queue at reception. The receptionist helpfully advised us that we were welcome to leave our car in the car park at no extra cost, if we wished to explore the town centre during the afternoon.

It must also be said that every member of staff that we met was cheerful, polite and helpful - even down to house-keeping & maintenance staff as they passed by in the corridor.

On balance, I would definitely use the hotel again. Its not quite perfect (reception arrangements need revieing) but its obvious that they are making a real effort and we would use it again

Room Tip: Coose a superior room if the budget will strtch that far. They are very nice and worth that bit ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pitacus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Pitacus,

Thank you for posting your detailed review of the Majestic Hotel. I found it very helpful to digest and feel certain that many others seeking advice on the TA site will also find it helpful.

The lovely room you had was once the shared guest facilities comprising 3 cublicles and 2 bathrooms. Latterly it was a small beauty room until we converted it in 2007 and makes a very nice and well pro-portioned guest bedroom.

As a top reviewer with a balanced set of prior scoring your recognition is really appreciated and helpful.

Hoping to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We were absolutely delighted with our Travelzoo package and thought it good value for money and were delighted with the evening meal and breakfast, the room was excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Janet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Janet J,

Thank you so much for your superb 5 star review of the Majestic Hotel, Harrogate.

Our team will be delighted with your praise.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We did a one night stopover here during a weekend in Yorkshire. We got a great Dinner, Bed and Breakfast deal off Secret Escapes. We have a lovely big and airy room, well appointed and comfortable. The dinner in the evening was good, but not outstanding but the breakfast was great! Staff were efficient and attentive, but not overbearing.
This hotel exudes grandeur, albeit slightly tired. Magnificent spaces filled with chandeliers hark back to a bygone age. Conveniently located so you can walk into Harrogate centre easily, I would say this hotel is a must if wanting to stay in harrogate

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonG371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear JonG371,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel. We really appreciate your recommendation and hope to have the chance to welcome you back to this special part of Yorkshire.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

A nice stay at this grand established hotel. Rooms were comfortable and clean although the plumbing in the bathroom needed attention. Water pressure was a little low. Restaurant facilities good and food quality was excellent. Staff were very friendly. Would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Graham A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Graham A,

Thank you very much for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel, Harrogate.

Hoping to have the chance to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
222 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,327 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Old Swan Hotel
Old Swan Hotel
#16 of 30 in Harrogate
1,734 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
1,458 reviews
0.6 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#3 of 30 in Harrogate
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Hotel

Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#9 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: £61 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian landmark, the four-star Majestic Hotel has 170 bedrooms and sits in 12 acres of landscaped grounds in the centre of the spa town of Harrogate. Just a mile from the train station and 10 minutes walk from the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, it’s the perfect location to enjoy Harrogate’s quaint shops and spas; and you can also venture out to the wild landscape of the Yorkshire Dales. With a pool, jacuzzi, steam room and beauty salon, as well as tea rooms, a bar and the Majestic Restaurant there’s everything you need to relax after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Harrogate
Majestic Hotel Harrogate
The Majestic Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing