We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel that lives up to its name”
Review of The Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Majestic Hotel
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Harrogate
Reviewed 7 April 2014

A lovely old hotel that lives up to its name in a good location - well kept for a hotel of its age with impressive grand rooms. The restaurant was very nice, clean and spacious, and the service and food was very good.


  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Carol G,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review. Can't ask for any more !

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,030)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,202 - 2,208 of 3,030 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Myself and 7 friends stayed overnight on Saturday as part of a spa deal and had a lovely time. Yes the hotel is tired and need of a bit of TLC (especially the gym/pool area), our room had a slightly musty smell and another room was a bit shabby in comparison to the others but the staff and meals we had were both great. There was a bit of an organisational issue regarding robes for our treatments but these were quickly resolved as were the rock hard bread rolls at dinner! The hotel is ideally located in the centre, our rooms were clean and the service was pretty good so as long as you're not expecting the ritz I'm sure you'll have a nice stay

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Jenuno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Jenuno,

Thank you for posting your review and glad you are happy to recommend us.

Hoping to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Second time here staying as part of a large conference group. We had premier rooms and although there was a mix up with my booking, the fantastic reception staff sorted it out in no time. Rooms were large, comfortable, great lighting and decor, with lovely fluffy towels and robes, tea and coffee and plenty of nice toiletries. The staff were courteous and helpful. Breakfast really good and plentiful and despite not officially starting till 8 on the saturday we were allowed in before to have fruit, tea and toast as we had an early start. The bar meal I had was OK, average, but nothing to complain about. I had a nice swim - the pool area could do with a little TLC but again, the staff made up for all this.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmakmoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear ekmoat,

Thank you posting your review of the Majestic Hotel.

I'm really pleased to hear that the staff looked after you so well and am fortunate to have some lovely team members here.

Hoping to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The hotel staff and location is great. However, hotel felt a bit dated and could have some love put back into it. There is a billiards room but no billiards table and a piano, which doesn't seem to have been used for many years.

Location is a stone throw away from the shops and station.

Don't bring anything too valuable as there are no safes in the rooms.

Definately recommend it, but have stayed in better 3* hotels, than this 4* hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Am A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Am a,

Thank you for posting your review and for chossing to stay with us. A proportion of our Premium Rooms do have safes so best to request a safe and book this room type.

Our bedrooms are all protected by electronic readable locks and we have no history of loss. Valuables can also be left with reception in our safe.

Thank you for raising this point enabling me to guide future guests.

Many thanks, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed here on a prepaid booking (present from our young son), first and last impressions not great as the receptionist on 2 occasions said very loudly 'oh, you're groupon guests then.' Made us feel very inferior.

We paid to upgrade rooms, but despite booking in at 4.30pm, rooms nor fully ready and no milk, only 1 bath robe etc.

Very unimpressed by the spa. Stayed 20 mins.......

Worst thing was a toy convention, very loud music until 1.00am so no chance of sleep.

A shame as this is a beautiful old building - one I think hat is trading on past reputations!

Sorry but on our next trip to Harrogate we won't return here

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear AGerry,

Thank you for your review and my sincere apologies that you were unhappy with this visit.

We do welcome all feedback and I would really appreciate the chance to learn more about your experience so please do contact me on v.johnson@pumahotels.co.uk

Many thanks, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed on the 5th of april 2014 for one night. We were in room 400 it was massive but very clean there was bottled water provided and tea and coffee.The town centre was a 5 min walk from hotel.We had pre booked our evening meal which was lovely the service was excellent and we had breakfast the next day and the service again was first class. I would say this is a well run hotel and I will definately be going bac

Room Tip: Room 400 was a superior room huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindametcalfe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear lindametcalfe1,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review and looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

black mould around the bath tub. Unacceptable in a four star hotel. Location was great, lovely helpful staff, and an OK breakfast. But cleanliness really put it to shame compared to other four stars in Europe. Stayed two nights for business and wifi was patchy - no reading the news online in the breakfast room. Discounted rate was about right in terms of value for money.

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank Justyna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Justyna M,

Thank you for posting your review following your recent business stay.

I'm glad that you found our staff helpful and appreciate your feedback. We reseal 20 rooms each month and are working on wifi improvements as we speak.

I'm sure on your next visit you'll notice the difference.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 28 in Harrogate
293 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 28 in Harrogate
1,358 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Swan Hotel
Old Swan Hotel
#17 of 28 in Harrogate
1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 28 in Harrogate
1,498 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#8 of 28 in Harrogate
1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Hotel

Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#9 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: £56 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian landmark, the four-star Majestic Hotel has 170 bedrooms and sits in 12 acres of landscaped grounds in the centre of the spa town of Harrogate. Just a mile from the train station and 10 minutes walk from the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, it’s the perfect location to enjoy Harrogate’s quaint shops and spas; and you can also venture out to the wild landscape of the Yorkshire Dales. With a pool, jacuzzi, steam room and beauty salon, as well as tea rooms, a bar and the Majestic Restaurant there’s everything you need to relax after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Harrogate
Majestic Hotel Harrogate
The Majestic Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing