We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Majestic Hotel
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Easter stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed once again and had a great time. We had a lovely bedroom 155 we arrived good friday and left monday. We will be back had a great rest and the hotel is just old and fantastic. The lady who looked after our room could not do enough, and housekeeping were spot on. Thanks again for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUPERSUE_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear SUPERSUE_10,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review.

We're realy pleased you returned to us and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    747
    858
    531
    287
    181
See reviews for
328
1,364
30
331
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (661)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I wasn't looking forward to staying here after reading Trip Advisor reviews but was pleasantly surprised. Our room was lovely but our view, of a flat roof wasn't all that. The building is amazing, but some of the paint work could do with a freshen up and the mis-matched windows spoil the building. Aluminium framed windows which look like they've been there 30 years, would be better replaced with wooden frames in-keeping with the age of the hotel. Grounds are lovely and I imagine it's glorious sitting on the verandah with a cold glass of wine. Very disappointed with the cream tea; white bread sandwiches (cheese, cucumber and egg mayo) with a few small cakes and average tea. Dinner was nice, as was breakfast.

Room Tip: We stayed in 103 which was at the back of the building with a rubbish view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliMac1169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear AliMac1169,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel. I'm really pleased to we surpassed your initial expectation and hopefully on your next visit we'll be able to get you a lovely view.

Many thanks, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

A very grand hotel with fantastic location.Very impressive as we drove in but as we walked to the reception ,there was a mini waterfall cascading down the wall ,courtesy of a leaky pipe! And it was even worse in the evening as we walked out!! Very disappointing to see in such a magnificent building !
We had a premier room,which was very comfortable.I had taken some work with me to do.As I settled down to do my work,found out that one of the lights were fused.So I did what every guest would do and called reception and waited for some one to pick up the phone.....No luck ! Tried again but still no one picked up ! Very disappointing and very poor customer service from a four star hotel ! So I got fed up and made do with the lights that were working !
It's a beautiful building with so much potential.Its crying out for TLC ! If only someone would listen and get rid of the radiators with peeling paint,broken radiator cover in the lounge and drab paintings !!

Room Tip: Make sure the lights are all working as you check in !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Imrana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Imrana B,

Thank you for your review of the Majestic Hotel. I'm pleased that overall you were happy with your stay and assure you that many of the minor issues you note, are in hand.

The building is vast and our maintenance team perform their duties diligently. I'm sorry you were unable to have the blown bulb attended to and have raised the lack of answer with our Reception Manager.

You can be assured we are never complacent and always realise there is lots to be done and improvement is a constant factor.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Nice facade, but that's all it is
I booked this hotel on the strength of the rooms shown online and the swimming pool, plus the benefits of room service etc which the local Premier Inn could not offer. I wish I had stuck with the budget option because at least the standard of decor is consistently acceptable, the price would have been more palatable and you know what to expect. The first impression was created when we learnt check in times had changes so were delayed (without explanation or apology) and on reaching the first room allocated, found it was a very shabby dark twin, rather than the plush double we had seen and booked. The second room available (two hours later) was slightly lighter and larger but still a twin and had not been touched since the 80s, complete with peeling paint, water stains on the ceiling and a very fetching Elastaplast coloured bath room. The hotel was full so we lumped it, but I could not have eaten in that space - I struggled to sleep on the lumpy bed with the delightful brown dust ruffles. The reception staff were professional and polite, but the duty manager who dealt with the initial complaint did not seem sympathetic, as evidenced by her failure to provide a better room and stem the issue at that point. Finally, I overheard one of the staff say that the latest HO email was "just more on how to save money" which was clearly taken to heart - no replacement for our complimentary water after the first night, dishes left on every landing for long periods, no porter on duty.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Claire T,

Thank you for posting your review and I'm very sorry for the confusion over your room type. We would normally only ever provide a twin bedded room when that is what a guest has booked.

If you make contact through other direct channels we'll certainly try better to understand what went awry.

It saddens me that we gave you the wrong impression. We always wish to provide the best possible service and make a significant investment in staff to enable this. Of course our primary commercial role is to generate some return and in order to do this we do ensure that our operations are as efficient as possible in all respects.

My email address is v.johnson@pumahotels.co.uk and I can assure you that I am keen to understand the room type issue and find a reason behind it.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Harrogate hotels

Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

This is a very grand hotel with an impressive appearence and fantastic location, our first impressions were very good. This was until we went down to dinner and experienced an awful meal, luckily it had been part of a Living Social voucher as I genuinely would have refused to pay. The quality was horrendous! It was like a child had made my ravioli which was drowning in bland sauce among raw salad which was also floating about! This wasn't helped by the huge hen party they sat us next to who cackled and screeched throughout the whole meal....not sure why out of an entire dining room of empty tables they sat us there.
Breakfast wasn't quite as bad but wasn't great either. The dining room was overly packed and we had to queue for 20 mins to even get in there. The staff aren't overly helpful or professional. The reception staff had an argument in front of us at one point!
On departure they deducted £50 from us when the amount we were asked to pay was £20. There was quite a rigmarole getting the £30 back, which only increased our negative view of the place.
If you can stay here as part of a voucher then it may be worth it but I would have been gutted if we'd paid normal prices. If you do stay, eat elsewhere!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fj27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Fj27,

Thank you for posting your review and I'm sorry that your restaurant experience didn't meet our usual standards. This clearly wasn't aided by the seating position near the group of ladies. Our chefs have many years of experience and I'm sorry the dish described was so disliked. We have new menu due to launch very soon.

I'm hoping that you also completed our hotel specific post stay survey as this enables us to better understand the specifics of the details you've noted.

I'm certain that on any future stay you would experience our normal standards as is clear from other reviewers. We do strive to achieve greater consistency and I do thank you for making the effort to share your experience.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

First of all, the hotel is located in a beautiful place close to the city centre. The building is magnificent, both outside and inside.
The staff is attentive and willing to help you.
I was a bit disappointed with the spa as I could not manage to book a massage. It’s quite difficult to talk to them.
The staff of the swimming pool is ready to assist you with good information. We can see that the hotel is well managed.
The service at the bar and restaurant is also very polite.
The room is good with the amenities of a good hotel. The bed is comfortable and the room is very clean. It is clear that some painting and some furniture needs refurbishment.
I can recommend this hotel for a good stay.

Room Tip: They offer premium rooms. That would be a good idea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FCSARTORI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear FCSATORI,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel in Harrogate. It was a pleasure to read and thank you for your kind words.

I do hope that on your next visit that you will be able to get booked into the Orchid Rooms beauty rooms. As it is busy we do encourage email contacts on majestic.beauty@pumahotels.co.uk

Many thanks, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

stayed here April 12th for one night+had a great time...we arrived an hour before check in+our room was ready...after looking round our room we walked the short distance to the town centre to go shopping...we returned around 6pm+ordered room service later that evening which was brought by two young staff members who were very nice...we both had the Lamb burgers which were absolutely fantastic...after a good sleep in a comfy clean bed we went for breakfast in a nicely laid out spacious room+the variety of food is enough for anyone...we had a full English of course followed by mixed fresh fruit topped with yogurt...all delicious...on checking out around 11am we were told we could still use the pool+gym facilities throughout the day+we could leave our car in the Hotel carpark for the day which allowed us to go back into town+around the shops again...overall this is a very nice clean Hotel with Friendly staff,good facilities,excellent food+all at a reasonable price...will certainly be going again...

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wispywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear wispywoo,

Thank you so much for posting your 5 star review of the Majestic Hotel,Harrogate.

It's so pleasing to read your kind praise of the service you encountered.

Hoping to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,449 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Hotel

Property: The Majestic Hotel
Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#8 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian landmark, the four-star Majestic Hotel has 170 bedrooms and sits in 12 acres of landscaped grounds in the centre of the spa town of Harrogate. Just a mile from the train station and 10 minutes walk from the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, it’s the perfect location to enjoy Harrogate’s quaint shops and spas; and you can also venture out to the wild landscape of the Yorkshire Dales. With a pool, jacuzzi, steam room and beauty salon, as well as tea rooms, a bar and the Majestic Restaurant there’s everything you need to relax after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotelopia, LateRooms, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Harrogate
Majestic Hotel Harrogate
The Majestic Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing