We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Easter break'”
Review of The Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Majestic Hotel
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Tillicoultry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“'Easter break'”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This was our first trip to Harrogate. The hotel looked very grand from the outside. Some public areas inside were a bit tired looking. We had a room overlooking the garden and it was lovely. Service was a bit slow at times. The breakfast was excellent. The only real negative point is the charge for parking in the hotels car park. Would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear J K,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel.

It is very pleasing to see that you enjoyed your visit.

Many thanks, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    770
    908
    576
    317
    196
See reviews for
350
1,446
36
353
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (701)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
stockport
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed for a few nights in a premier room over Easter. What a lovely hotel with beautiful features in the lobby bar and dinning room. The staff were all very friendly and helpful (especially the bar staff). Room was nice and modern. Good selection at breakfast and a nice evening meal in a lovely setting. Next time we visit Harrogate this hotel will be are first choice.

Room Tip: Book a premier room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scfc1Stockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear scfc1Stockport,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review which was a real pleasure to read. Our team will be delighted to read your kind words.

Hoping to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The website for this hotel is very misleading, and while it looks grand from the outside, the interior is very different. All the communal areas are very dated and in need of some TLC. Throughout our stay the service was very slow and we were made to feel put out for asking questions or evening ordering a drink. Our room was dirty and uncomfortable, and the food in the restaurant was almost inedible. I'd have to question how it achieved its 4* rating & I certainly wouldn't recommend staying here. Don't make the same mistake as us and be lured in with a great deal from Living Social/Group On etc.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sophie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Sophie S,

I'm very sorry that you were dissappointed and aware that my colleagues are dealing with your complaint directly.

As seen in the majority of reviews, your experience differs from the norm.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Harrogate hotels

Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed once again and had a great time. We had a lovely bedroom 155 we arrived good friday and left monday. We will be back had a great rest and the hotel is just old and fantastic. The lady who looked after our room could not do enough, and housekeeping were spot on. Thanks again for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUPERSUE_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear SUPERSUE_10,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review.

We're realy pleased you returned to us and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I wasn't looking forward to staying here after reading Trip Advisor reviews but was pleasantly surprised. Our room was lovely but our view, of a flat roof wasn't all that. The building is amazing, but some of the paint work could do with a freshen up and the mis-matched windows spoil the building. Aluminium framed windows which look like they've been there 30 years, would be better replaced with wooden frames in-keeping with the age of the hotel. Grounds are lovely and I imagine it's glorious sitting on the verandah with a cold glass of wine. Very disappointed with the cream tea; white bread sandwiches (cheese, cucumber and egg mayo) with a few small cakes and average tea. Dinner was nice, as was breakfast.

Room Tip: We stayed in 103 which was at the back of the building with a rubbish view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliMac1169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear AliMac1169,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel. I'm really pleased to we surpassed your initial expectation and hopefully on your next visit we'll be able to get you a lovely view.

Many thanks, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

A very grand hotel with fantastic location.Very impressive as we drove in but as we walked to the reception ,there was a mini waterfall cascading down the wall ,courtesy of a leaky pipe! And it was even worse in the evening as we walked out!! Very disappointing to see in such a magnificent building !
We had a premier room,which was very comfortable.I had taken some work with me to do.As I settled down to do my work,found out that one of the lights were fused.So I did what every guest would do and called reception and waited for some one to pick up the phone.....No luck ! Tried again but still no one picked up ! Very disappointing and very poor customer service from a four star hotel ! So I got fed up and made do with the lights that were working !
It's a beautiful building with so much potential.Its crying out for TLC ! If only someone would listen and get rid of the radiators with peeling paint,broken radiator cover in the lounge and drab paintings !!

Room Tip: Make sure the lights are all working as you check in !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Imrana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Imrana B,

Thank you for your review of the Majestic Hotel. I'm pleased that overall you were happy with your stay and assure you that many of the minor issues you note, are in hand.

The building is vast and our maintenance team perform their duties diligently. I'm sorry you were unable to have the blown bulb attended to and have raised the lack of answer with our Reception Manager.

You can be assured we are never complacent and always realise there is lots to be done and improvement is a constant factor.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Nice facade, but that's all it is
I booked this hotel on the strength of the rooms shown online and the swimming pool, plus the benefits of room service etc which the local Premier Inn could not offer. I wish I had stuck with the budget option because at least the standard of decor is consistently acceptable, the price would have been more palatable and you know what to expect. The first impression was created when we learnt check in times had changes so were delayed (without explanation or apology) and on reaching the first room allocated, found it was a very shabby dark twin, rather than the plush double we had seen and booked. The second room available (two hours later) was slightly lighter and larger but still a twin and had not been touched since the 80s, complete with peeling paint, water stains on the ceiling and a very fetching Elastaplast coloured bath room. The hotel was full so we lumped it, but I could not have eaten in that space - I struggled to sleep on the lumpy bed with the delightful brown dust ruffles. The reception staff were professional and polite, but the duty manager who dealt with the initial complaint did not seem sympathetic, as evidenced by her failure to provide a better room and stem the issue at that point. Finally, I overheard one of the staff say that the latest HO email was "just more on how to save money" which was clearly taken to heart - no replacement for our complimentary water after the first night, dishes left on every landing for long periods, no porter on duty.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Claire T,

Thank you for posting your review and I'm very sorry for the confusion over your room type. We would normally only ever provide a twin bedded room when that is what a guest has booked.

If you make contact through other direct channels we'll certainly try better to understand what went awry.

It saddens me that we gave you the wrong impression. We always wish to provide the best possible service and make a significant investment in staff to enable this. Of course our primary commercial role is to generate some return and in order to do this we do ensure that our operations are as efficient as possible in all respects.

My email address is v.johnson@pumahotels.co.uk and I can assure you that I am keen to understand the room type issue and find a reason behind it.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#9 of 30 in Harrogate
155 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,301 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
604 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Swan Hotel
Old Swan Hotel
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
1,700 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Hotel

Property: The Majestic Hotel
Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#9 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian landmark, the four-star Majestic Hotel has 170 bedrooms and sits in 12 acres of landscaped grounds in the centre of the spa town of Harrogate. Just a mile from the train station and 10 minutes walk from the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, it’s the perfect location to enjoy Harrogate’s quaint shops and spas; and you can also venture out to the wild landscape of the Yorkshire Dales. With a pool, jacuzzi, steam room and beauty salon, as well as tea rooms, a bar and the Majestic Restaurant there’s everything you need to relax after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Harrogate
Majestic Hotel Harrogate
The Majestic Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing