We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely building needing a bit of tlc”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Majestic Hotel
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lovely building needing a bit of tlc”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Our room was lovely, very comfortable and clean. The hotel is a beautiful building and would have been lovely when it was first built. However, I can appreciate how much money it must take keeping this place going but thought the mixture of windows really let it down. Aluminium windows in a building of this age look awful. Afternoon tea was a let down too. Sandwiches were white bread with very uninspiring fillings. Cakes weren't all that either and the crockery ..... I look on afternoon tea as a treat, but this wasn't.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Alison A,

Thank you for posting your review and for sharing your thoughts with us.

We are reviewing the afternoon tea offerings. The sandwich fillings have been very traditional and we shall discuss this aspect. We serve around 500 afternoon teas each month and make all the cakes ourselves.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    747
    855
    531
    287
    181
See reviews for
328
1,362
30
331
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (660)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Royston
Level Contributor
84 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I met my wife in the Majestic 22 years ago. It's not much better than it was then. To be fair, my room was ok and the bed was comfortable. But mismatched wire hangers- come on! This is supposed to be a 4 * hotel. The place needs a massive refurbishment, ripping out all the tired old features, and demolishing some 70s naff extensions, such as the porch. Reception had one girl on duty, checking in 15 guests, answering the phone and acting as concierge. Bar staff clearly hated their job. Must try a lot harder

Room Tip: Get one of the refurbished rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keithrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Keithrow,

Thank you for posting your review and despite re-reading your comments I'm not sure if the Majestic was good or bad 22 yrs ago.

Some of the "tired old features" are part of the charm for many and unlikely to ever be ripped out. There are projects underway and in the last decade we've invested over £9M in the fabric of the building.

Of course there is always more to do and improvements we can make in all aspects. I do appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Read mixed reviews on Tripadvisor but decided to give the grand old lady of hotels a try. My wife and I were celebrating our Wedding Anniversary so asked for a nice room.Given really good room overlooking gardens apart from views of scaffolding,could not fault it. Ate in the restaurant and had one of the best meals we have had for a long time.Breakfast nothing outstanding but seemed something available for everyone.Staff friendly, efficient.Stayed on a discounted deal and really enjoyed it,not sure about paying top room rates though.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Bill F,

Thank you for posting your review and for giving us the benefit of the doubt. I'm very pleased that we surpassed your expectations and hope we can welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The wedding went very well - the pre support was excellent, but the wedding was let down by the total disorganisation of breakfast, housekeeping, smelly gents toilets, staff attitude and being charged for parking for 2 days on leaving when we had spent £1000. Some of the rooms are very tired, and my daughter was moved twice due to her room smelling of damp. Very disappoinnting when you have family from all over the UK as well as international guests.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Sue C,

Thank you for posting your review and my apologies for the issues which you have reported.

I'm sure that these are being dealt with in your post event contact direct with our Sales Office.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Harrogate hotels

Harrogate
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We attended a wedding at this fabulous venue but we were so disappointed by the standard of the room. Nothing like they appear on the images on the hotel website! The breakfast was sadly lacking in any flavour and my egg wasn't even cooked. It's a shame because the location is superb!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Lauren V,

Thank you for posting your review and my apologies if you were disappointed with the room selected. Our website does feature real images of the various types available and the very best are called Premium and Deluxe Rooms.

Breakfast is usually well regarded by other reviewers with the products being of good quality from reputable suppliers.

I do appreciate you sharing your feedback and assure you it does result in us reviewing the situation and helps highlight any shortfalls in our operating standards.

Many thanks, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The Majestic Hotel again lived up to our expectations, we stay as Puma Leisurebreak Club members, this gives value for money and the possibility of a free bedroom up-grade. The elegance of the building gives the relaxed atmosphere required for that well earned rest.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AlanCarlyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear AlanCarlyle,

Thank you for your 5 star review. It is so pleasing that you found the atsmosphere conducive to rest and relaxation.

The Leisurebreaks club is a great product with many loyal members such as yourselves. It is currently closed to new memberships awaiting a relaunch very soon.

In the meantime I do hope you continue to enjoy the benefits of membership.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Scarle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Lovely looking Victorian hotel with rambling high ceilings and rooms appropriately furnished for the period but also comfortable and with lots of room for large groups to sit together.
Our single rooms were simple and with everything we needed. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean. The grounds or park was pretty and the health club was great.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank kSMurrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear kSMurrell,

Thank you so much for sharing your review of the Majestic Hotel, Harrogate.

I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcomeing you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,443 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
1,221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
563 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Hotel

Property: The Majestic Hotel
Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#8 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian landmark, the four-star Majestic Hotel has 170 bedrooms and sits in 12 acres of landscaped grounds in the centre of the spa town of Harrogate. Just a mile from the train station and 10 minutes walk from the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, it’s the perfect location to enjoy Harrogate’s quaint shops and spas; and you can also venture out to the wild landscape of the Yorkshire Dales. With a pool, jacuzzi, steam room and beauty salon, as well as tea rooms, a bar and the Majestic Restaurant there’s everything you need to relax after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotelopia, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Harrogate
Majestic Hotel Harrogate
The Majestic Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing