We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“majestic by name majestic in quality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Majestic Hotel
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“majestic by name majestic in quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

An excellent three day stay room very large, bed very comfortable
food and service excellent,staff could not have been more helpful .
very good car parking facilities grounds around the hotel beautiful.
Close to a beautiful town centre hope to return asap

Room Tip: right wing have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear peter c,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review.

Your recognition is greatly appreciated.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    736
    847
    524
    279
    178
See reviews for
321
1,345
30
327
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (651)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liberec
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Eight of us booked for a relaxing spa day and afternoon tea for £55.00 based on the advertisement on the Majestic Hotel's website, Harrogate.
The treatment room is tiny, enough room for 4 to sit outside it, the pool is then down a draughty corridor( you have to walk from the treatment room down a draughty, public corridor) to get to the pool. The pool was full of children having swimming lessons with 4 loungers in the pool area which were occupied( again, no where for us to sit and relax). The changing rooms were cramped tatty and dirty,iv'e seen far higher standards in a public baths.
We asked the deputy manger for our money back and to be compensated as this was for a special birthday and some had travelled, we were given no apology, a " couldn't care less" attitude, our money back and a coffee. We had arrived in our gym clothes, but wer'e told we couldn't have room and would have to use the pool facilities,( cramped, tatty unclean and full of children changing). We spoke to a couple who had booked the same spa day and showed us their afternoon tea, very sparse and unappetising. Terrible experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Jane S,

As I responded to your friend, I'm very sorry that you were unhappy with the arrangements for your pamper day. We do welcome many guests on such packages and I am very sorry that you found our facilities unsuitable.

We did without question provide you with a full refund and we do try to be clear about our offering of a health club and separate beauty salon and price it accordingly. Very many hotels offer a simalar type of package as opposed to fully fledged spas which are twice or three times more expensive.

My apologies for your disappointment, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Harrogate hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

arrived today with 6 friends for a relaxing birthday spa day. the deal was advertised as "treat me" spa experience. well i can only say we were treated appallingly. on arrival we found a cramped, cold, dirty and overcrowded changing area with a pool packed with children having swimming lessons. there were only 4 loungers - already in use- and nowhere else to sit in between treatments. this is certainly not what is advertised on the website and definitely not a treat! we complained to the duty manager, Steve Johnson, who was frankly dismissive at best, although he did offer us our money back. having decided not to use the facilities, we asked to use a hotel room to shower and change as the health club changing rooms were so packed and dirty. again the duty manager was dismissive and was unwilling to help. i find it extremely hard to believe that one room could not be made available at 12.00 as most guests will have checked out at 10. i am sure that the hotel is lovely for an overnight stay or meal but i would definitely not recommend the spa to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank spooc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear spooc123,

I'm very sorry that you were unhappy with the arrangements for your pamper day. We do welcome many guests on such packages and I am very sorry that you found our facilities unsuitable.

We did without question provide you with a full refund and we do try to be clear about our offering of a health club and separate beauty salon and price it accordingly. Very many hotels offer a simalar type of package as opposed to fully fledged spas which are twice or three times more expensive.

My apologies for your disappointment, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Just had a night at this fine old hotel, such a pleasant change from boring modern tower blocks. We had a dinner bed and breakfast deal that included wine. It was a birthday treat and we had an amazing time, the room was spacious, clean and bright. The food was delicious and most important the staff were incredibly kind and helpful. What great value - booked direct with the hotel website, definitely do it again.

Room Tip: Go for a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Maria M,

Thank you so much for awarding us 5 stars in your review and looking forward to your next visit..

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

This is a gimungous Victorian spa hotel with all of that fantastic Victorian splendour that comes with these places; gigantic spectacular dining room with enormous chandeliers, grand entrances and sweeping staircases. Contrast this however with the room which was newly completely refurbished in the latest boutique chic style, with a very classy upmarket "Vileroy & Bosche" bathroom.

The food in the restaurant was fist class both at dinner and breakfast and the service was excellent.

We stayed on an absolute bargain Groupon deal which included breakfast and 3 course evening meal with wine and in terms of accommodation and food there was absolutely nothing to criticise.

Only 4 stars then? Well if you are going for the complete package (we chose this because of the pool and gym) you may -like us -be a tad disappointed, since the leisure facilities are very basic and the pool and jacuzzi are teeny tiny, indeed with 4 people in the jacuzzi you need to be careful where you put your hands and feet if you see what I mean.

The location is great and there are lovely gardens, though don't expect any RHS gold star stuff.

Room Tip: Premium room worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viggenboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Viggenboy,

Thank you very much for your kind review of the Majestic Hotel and I'm very pleased that you had a lovely stay and found us to be great value.

Hoping to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

My daughter booked an overnight stay here for my very belated Christmas present.This was due to the fact that my severely disabled husband became very ill on Christmas day and was admitted to hospital.He remained in hospital until the end of March.As I am his carer I was looking forward to this break.
When we checked in we asked to book a table in the restaurant for our evening meal.We were asked what time we required by the receptionist and she was told 20.00 hours.She stated that this was fine.(Our package was DBB)
We were told that our evening meal would be served in the reading room.
We left our room at approximately 19.50 hours only to be told by a team member that dinner was now being served upstairs in another room. On arrival at the desk the young man there stated that there wasn't a table for us and that he couldn't give us a time as to when one would become available.
We were quite horrified by this as the hotel should be able to tell by the amount of bookings that they have as to how many tables to set up.
as there was a very large Masons' banquet taking priority it seems most of the tables had been used for this function leaving the restaurant clearly inadequate.
We asked to speak to the Duty Manager and after a wait of 15-20 minutes a young man arrived to speak to us.We explained the situation and by this time it was 20.35 hours he stated that he would go and find out what was going on.
He came back to us and explained that there clearly wasn't enough tables and would we eat in the bar.I wasn't too happy with this as it's not quite what we had booked for,but it was that or nothing.The DM named George set up a table for us in the bar and served us to our meal personally.The food and service were excellent and the way that this young man turned the situation around must be commended. He arranged a refund for our evening meals which was wonderful and much appreciated.The only thing was that the Masons' came into this bar as we were half way through our meal and we felt very conspicuous.Thanks again George for a wonderful evening

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room Ours looked onto a building site.I suppose the Masons' were occupyin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Susan G,

Thank you for submitting your review and my sincere apologies for the poor communication which led to the change of venue for dinner.

I'm really happy that George was able to retrieve the situation and we have taken steps to make improvements in future. We do try and offer our best to all guests, both individual and with groups.

Thank you for your understanding and kind co-operation on the evening in question.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

While once a grand hotel it is now in need of a major refurbishment and investment in staff - a first to have the receptionist also act as the porter! For a four star hotel the room was dreary and the lifts glacially slow in coming and in use. The bar staff was positively rude when asked for a drink at about 11.15 as she had 'cashed up' and stormed off when it was pointed out that we were residents. The night receptionist/manager(?) was less than conciliatory but did eventually send her back to serve. I wish I had photographed the breakfast which was dried up to the point of being almost inedible. Parking was good,the bed was comfortable and the room was quiet, so it wasn't all bad!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rwm531gbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear rwm531gbr ,

Thank you for posting your review which seems to be quite mixed. We have empowered the Receptionists when not busy to be able to leave the desk to benefit a guest's service. For many years they were like newsreaders, where you never saw their legs and so we do encourage this.

The lifts are slow as they are new and have to adhere to a raft of safety criteria (apparently)

Thank you for alerting me to the bar issue and be sure I will look into this further. Residents are always able to be served a drink to their room account and our Night staff have access to the bar even when the bar staff have left.

Your feedback has been helpful and I do appreciate it.

Many thanks, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,399 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#13 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 31 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Hotel

Property: The Majestic Hotel
Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#9 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian landmark, the four-star Majestic Hotel has 170 bedrooms and sits in 12 acres of landscaped grounds in the centre of the spa town of Harrogate. Just a mile from the train station and 10 minutes walk from the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, it’s the perfect location to enjoy Harrogate’s quaint shops and spas; and you can also venture out to the wild landscape of the Yorkshire Dales. With a pool, jacuzzi, steam room and beauty salon, as well as tea rooms, a bar and the Majestic Restaurant there’s everything you need to relax after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Harrogate
Majestic Hotel Harrogate
The Majestic Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing