We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great position - Grand Old Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Majestic Hotel
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
East Anglia, UK
Level Contributor
456 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Great position - Grand Old Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Large rooms. Excellent position. At the moment there is building work going on outside, so if you want a lie in - forget it by 8.30 on a weekday. Breakfast was average. Swimming pool and gym very good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidh of england
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear davidh of england,

Thank you for your review and looking forward to your next visit. The nearby building works will be over in a few weeks now though with our town centre location there is always a certain level of surrounding activity as you'd expect.

Many thanks, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    736
    849
    525
    279
    178
See reviews for
322
1,347
30
327
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (651)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

It is over 20 years since we visited this hotel and it has been refurbished considerably since that visit but has managed to retain the old charm it always had. We were upgraded to a premium room on arrival which was a pleasant surprise and we were very impressed with the fourth floor room which again had been refurbished recently. With modern furnishings and fittings the room was one of the best we have ever stayed in on our travels. Rather unfortunate that there is building work next door on a new Premier Inn, which did disturb us from 7.30am, each day. The breakfast food was of a good standard but too few staff were on duty. I don't blame them for any slow or lack of service. They are expected to meet, greet, serve tea and coffee and clear away, and with a handful to serve the many guests, the service is effected. On day1 we waited over 5 minutes to be seated and I counted 80 guests dining with only three staff emerging out of the kitchen. On day 2 with half the number of guests, there were six staff on duty. I cant work that one out, but this is only a minor irritation to what was an excellent stay. Its location being 5 minutes walk from the town is excellent and overall I would definitely stay here again. I'm not sure of the cost to upgrade to the premium rooms but I would recommend them if you like room comforts. Not too happy about the £5 per day car park charge? I think residents should be provided with free parking as part of their paying rate. This is just another opportunity to make money.

Room Tip: Stay at the rear of the hotel if you don't want to be disturbed by the building work
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RotherhamRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear RotherhamRich,

Thank you very much for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel and I'm pleased you returned after such a long absence and appreciated the investment we've seen over the time.

Our Premium Rooms are super and the upgrade cost is £30 per night though this lessens on some of our special offers on our website www.thehotelcollection.co.uk

Breakfast staffing is arranged based on the overall number of guests expected that morning. If earlier on there arenl;t many guests then the staff will polish cutlery and corcokery behind the scenes until it gets busier. There are always a suitable number of them available.

We have charged for parking for many years now which means on one hand that those who use public transport don't subsidise the drivers and also reflects the significant associated cost of having such a facility. For those who prefer not to use our car park there are overnigt option a short walk away though most clients appreciate the conveneience and we do bear the cost in mind when setting our rates.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Just come back from stopping at the Majestic, the location was ideal as we were visiting the Harrogate International Centre, the gardens were lovely and it looked very grand from outside. The reception area and bar was lovely, the service was good. Paid £151 for sparkle break, which consisted of evening meal which was supposed to come with a bottle of bubby - we were just given wine ! and bed and breakfast. The room itself was clean, however the windows were absolutely filthy dirty and you could not see through them. There was a balcony but couldn't get out to it as the doors were broken. The shower was poor. The evening meal was lovely and couldnt be faulted. Breakfast was buffet style and also very good. We had a tray of sandwiches brought up to room which at £25,00 plus £5 for porter service was very over priced and the £5 parking fee was a bit of cheek! We did use the pool this morning and the jacuzzi. I would visit again but would probably express my disappointment at the dirty windows and broken door and also the lack of promised bubbly!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katharyne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Katharyne W,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel.

I'm very happy that you enjoyed all your meals and sampled all our services. The balcony windows are no longer in use and are sealed closed as the balcony does not meet current safety requirements.

On the windows we have appointed new window cleaners though some of the higher windows are almost impossible to access and we are trying an alternative option. I appreciate your highlighting the issue and we are working on it.

Hoping to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

8 of us have just spent the weekend at the Majestic and it has surpassed our expectations.
Some of the reviews on here talk about the quality of the rooms, but for such a grand old hotel, you aren't going to get perfection, both family rooms were massive, clean and comfortable.
As it was a celebration for my mums 70th we booked a premium room for her and it was amazing, beautifully furnished, modern....she was really happy with it.
We stayed on the sparkle package which gave us dinner, bed and breakfast and fizz with both our evening meals. On the second night we were offered complimentary private dining in a private room, that we could decorate with balloons flowers etc, it was fab, our own waiter who was brilliant.
We had treatments during our stay which were hotel prices, but high quality, the pool was lovely despite comments about it's size, not Olympic but great for a relaxing swim.
We did have to remind about the fizz, check with reception about the dining but no more than you would expect with a hotel that was really busy with weddings, guests staying for conferences and weekenders.
Thanks for a fab weekend.

Room Tip: If you like a room with a contemporary feel, book a premium room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angiedav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Angiedav,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review of the Majestic Hotel.

More so thank you for choosing to celebrate such a special occasion with us and I'm so pleased that our team went the extra mile to look after your family.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

The Majestic is in an ideal spot for exploring Harrogate. We last stayed here about seven years ago and there has obviously been major refurbishment undertaken since then. Our room was fresh clean and modern. There were robes, slippers and a well-equipped tea tray and a lovely large bathroom. (this was an upgraded room so unsure what is standard). We had dinner on one of our two nights;the food was plain and to be honest a disappointment and the service brusque. No wine list was even offered! If we go back it will be on a B & B package only. Breakfast by contrast was very good with plenty choice. The receptionists were very welcoming and friendly and that is the impression we took away with us.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HighlandLass14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Choccydrop,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel. I'm glad that you noticed the many improvements we have made since your last visit.

I'm sorry that dinner wasn't a highlight and assure you that we are busy working on developing this area of the business.

Hoping it's not another 7 years before your next visit !

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, England
Level Contributor
108 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

The Majestic is a stunning Georgian building still maintained with its original features in the public areas. I found service at the hotel to be very good with friendly and efficient staff.

My room was one of the “Superior” refurbished rooms which was cleanly decorated and fitted with modern furniture. It was clean and roomy although I did feel the chipboard based furniture was a bit cheap for this magnificent building.

There is no air conditioning in the rooms and it lacked an in-room safe (something I expect as standard in a 4 star these says) but this aside it was a nice enough, comfortable room and a good size. There was a good sized flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, tea and coffee making facilities and a trouser press.

The bathroom was modern with a large mirror and efficient shower over the bath.

Breakfast at the hotel was tasty, made with quality fresh ingredients although there was not a lot of choice of cold fare (no meats or cheeses). I had dinner at the hotel on one night (which can usually be purchased at a good rate as part of a package). The food was very nice although the table d’hote menu is a little restricted (5 items per course). The dining room still decorated in 1900’s fashion with magnificent chandeliers does make the meal feel rather special.

I used the pool and Jacuzzi, which was part of the standard rate. This is in a modern area on the side of the hotel and was very nice and efficiently run.

Overall this is a very nice hotel and I am happy to recommend it.

Room Tip: Go for a superior room as these have been refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worslesr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Worlesr,

Thank you very much for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel, Harrogate.

I found your observations very helpful and I'm sure interesting to other prospective clients. A proportion of our superior rooms do have safes so do add this as a request if it is important to you.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Goodish would describe it. Lovely setting (obvs.), decent room but not overly so, ok breakfast, stay was combined business and pleasure and the function related to the business part was faultless. Overall, just above average, but a difficult to describe 'yes, but' which would deny a 'very good'. Maybe it's an impression of faded grandeur which is neither authentically faded nor sufficiently grand?

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Richard S,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel, Harrogate.

I'm very pleased that your business related function was faultless and that you had a "good" stay. We're always striving for improvements and hopefully next time we'll tick the very good box for you.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,409 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#13 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 31 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Hotel

Property: The Majestic Hotel
Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#9 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian landmark, the four-star Majestic Hotel has 170 bedrooms and sits in 12 acres of landscaped grounds in the centre of the spa town of Harrogate. Just a mile from the train station and 10 minutes walk from the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, it’s the perfect location to enjoy Harrogate’s quaint shops and spas; and you can also venture out to the wild landscape of the Yorkshire Dales. With a pool, jacuzzi, steam room and beauty salon, as well as tea rooms, a bar and the Majestic Restaurant there’s everything you need to relax after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Harrogate
Majestic Hotel Harrogate
The Majestic Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing