We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“majestic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Majestic Hotel
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Harrogate
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“majestic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Read previous reviews regarding the hotel being tired required decoration. I looked beyond that to see what it was, a Victorian hotel and could imagine its splendour in its hey day. So you get spacious you get elegant and my room was very large and totally fit for my purpose. The staff were more than helpful and accommodating with all enquiries.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Col C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Col C,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review and for your sensible perspective.

Hoping to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    747
    856
    531
    287
    181
See reviews for
328
1,362
30
331
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (660)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

If you are looking for a relaxing break do not use this hotel. us tours come and go all the time. The food is cooked to accommodate large numbers and is awful. Canteen food at its worst. Bar expensive.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lucas50510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear lucas50510,

Thank you for your review. The hotel was very busy when you stayed and we did have a number of groups with us. Two of these were gardening groups, one travelling all the way from Wisconsin.

I'm sorry that our dinner offering wasn't to your liking.

Many thanks, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Harrogate hotels

West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We chose the hotel as it was our 10th wedding anniversary, splashing out for a premium double room. The room was ok, but had great big cobwebs in the corners of the rooms on the walls and ceilings and our view was a flat roof that was in the middle of being sealed, with decorating materials left there. We opened our window to find 2 used condoms right outside. This was reported to the staff, only to be told that no-one from maintenance was available and due to health and safety, no other staff members can clean the area. We ordered breakfast to the room which we had to chase, and it arrived half an hour after our requested slot. The final nail in the coffin for the trip was being charged twice for the room (£149 x2!) and then being told it would take 3-5 working days to be refunded. Disgraceful. We will never stay here again and we shall certainly be sharing our experience with everyone we know.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Henneth30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Henneth30,

Thank you for posting your review and so sorry that you had so many issues beset this stay.

The issue with the unwanted items on the balcony is so frustrating as another guest has put them there and access to the baclonies is extremely limited making clearing them a specialist operation as the railing and wall heights pose a safety risk.

Of course the other issues were within our control totally and should not have occured. On the billing side without specific details I'm not sure who you booked through or what went awry. The quoted delay refers simply to the time your card provider takes to process the refund to available funds in your account as we process anything like this immediately.

I understand your reluctance to return though I would offer to assist with any future booking.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Me and my mum stayed here for my 21st birthday. We got a really good deal through living social which included a cream tea and dinner. The rooms are very nice and of a high standard. The food is incredible. The overall look and feel of the hotel is amazing a must if you are wanting a special experience!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Beccatwotimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Beccatwotimes,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review.

I'm glad that we were chosen for such a special visit and hope to welcoem you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

The ground floor is sumptuous with the smell of fresh flowers and gentle classical music playing. However my room on the 4th floor was a big disappointment. It was badly in need of refurbishment: shabby décor, frayed curtains, poor lighting and lumpy bed. The bathroom was just about functional: toilet flush only worked with perseverance, shower head was inadequate. The level of cleanliness was poor. Breakfast was OK but I've had better in a Premier Inn. £5 per day to park the car.

Room Tip: Avoid room 403
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Jean E,

Thank you for posting your review and my apologies that you were disappointed with your room.

We welcome your coments and will review them in the room.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallsend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed here in a few months ago, and had a bad experience. We returned to give it another chance and had a much improved experience with a delightful room, and yummy breakfast. The Majestic is a lovely traditionally decorated hotel, only let down by the poor standards from the staff which don't seem to improve. Glad we returned as now have happier memories.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Richard A,

Thank you for your follow up review and I'm glad you gave us a second chance. You should let me know about the staff comment to help me address it as I welcome your comments.

Many thanks, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel is pleasant enough, very clean (except that a lot of the window frames are mouldy and rotting!), well placed for all the amenities in Harrogate. However it is nowhere near at proper 4 star hotel, it might have been once, at the time that Churchill visited, but it is a bit past its sell by date.
We stayed on the night that England played Italy in the World Cup, really wanted to watch in the bar with a bottle of wine and a few sandwiches, but were informed by very deadpan, slightly sullen young staff members that the kitchen was closed and we could only order from rom service (at a £5 extra charge - which we found unreasonable). Never before we have been in a hotel that cannot accommodate such a simple request, especially given the circumstances.
We realised we had forgotten our wash bag at home so I asked to purchase one shaving kit and two toothbrushes. Cost £2 each, for really basic cheap toothbrushes and miniature toothpastes. We felt incensed because something so basic should be offered as a complimentary facility.
The food was nondescript and the meals were severely lacking in vegetables. As almost vegetarians we felt we had very limited choice, and not very imaginative food. Nice enough, but unexciting, definitely not 4 star quality. On the second evening I requested especially a mixed salad (off menu), which did not appear until I spoke with the restaurant supervisor, who was very pleasant and made sure I got it. I asked to have the salad instead of pudding and apparently the chef said that "nobody has salad for pudding". Luckily for me the supervisor insisted and I got my salad. Even so, it was made of very tired leaves, some of which had blackened rotten bits. I ate it out of despair! Very disappointing.
The service was a mixed bag, totally inconsistent. From exceptionally good (Concierge, one of the receptionists and a few members of the restaurant team), to utterly indifferent and sullen (evening bar staff, a staff member serving breakfast). There is obviously a great need for proper staff training because the level of service varied so wildly, from great (which we commended and it really made a difference to our stay) to really bad.
The breakfast, in contrast with the boring and meagre portions of dinner, is great. Excellent buffet, lovely food and very generous portions.
Overall it was not a bad experience, but it could have been so much better. Please train all the staff to the level of your good ones, who are great, then add some flavours, vegetarian dishes and more side vegetables to your restaurant menu, then replace the bad window frames! The hotel has such great potential.
The swimming pool and gym are nice enough but again very nondescript. Clean but very basic.

Room Tip: In hindsight we should have asked for premier rooms. Top floor rooms have very poor wifi reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caterina_Cate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Caterina_Cate,

Thank you for posting your review and I'm sorry for the inconsistencies of service you experienced. We do work to erradicate these through training and amending procedures and I appreciate your help in the process.

The Italy gae was an 11pm start and we'd though our guests would have eaten before then hence the kitchen were allowed to leave at the normal time. Indeed they probably wanted to watch the game also after a busy Saturday night.

We do stock emergency toiletries and I'm glad that we were able to help you after you forgot your own items.

On the food side we do have an extensive bar and lounge menu as well as our restaurant menus and this usually has something for everyone. Your feedback specifically around vegetables and vegetarian items is appreciated and will be inlcuded in our next menu review.

Many thanks for your help.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,446 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Hotel

Property: The Majestic Hotel
Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#8 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian landmark, the four-star Majestic Hotel has 170 bedrooms and sits in 12 acres of landscaped grounds in the centre of the spa town of Harrogate. Just a mile from the train station and 10 minutes walk from the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, it’s the perfect location to enjoy Harrogate’s quaint shops and spas; and you can also venture out to the wild landscape of the Yorkshire Dales. With a pool, jacuzzi, steam room and beauty salon, as well as tea rooms, a bar and the Majestic Restaurant there’s everything you need to relax after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Harrogate
Majestic Hotel Harrogate
The Majestic Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing