We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of The Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Majestic Hotel
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Great Yarmouth
1 review
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The hotel seemed uncaring and was excessively expensive. There was no allowance for people who wanted to watch England play in the World Cup.The charge for the car park is unacceptable.
The staaf at Redworth Hall were very pleasant in comparison but again the evening meal was disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Gary S,

Thank you for posting your review and I'm sorry you were unhappy with your stay.

Football has been shown in our Regency Bar on every night since the tournament began and whilst many people wished they'd not been able to watch England's efforts, they have always been able to.

The car park charge is widely publicised and is due to our town centre location.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    769
    906
    572
    316
    196
See reviews for
347
1,444
36
353
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (701)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

This is a very old hotel but the different owners have made an effort to try and keep up with an enormous never ending schedule of refurbishment.
However, that is an ongoing programme so I can understand that there may be the odd bit of flaking paint (yes the bathroom door in 330 still needs repainting ! )
There are a few staff issues though. Whether it is a lack of staff which may be the case, I can only guess. We were early 2pm, ok our problem so we left our bags went for a walk and returned just after 3pm.
The charming receptionist Claudia tried on numerous occasions to contact housekeeping to no avail. We were offered a free drink which was appreciated and informed by Claudia that she would tell us when she had found if the room was free. It was by now nearly 3.30pm. At 3.45pm having had our drink I enquired again if our room was available. Claudia was still unable to contact housekeeping so she set off to look for them. She returned about 10 minutes later out of breath and said yes the room was available. Why were housekeeping not answering? Surely they have mobiles or some mobile communication. At nearly 4pm we finally got into our room.
Our deal included an evening meal.
It was nothing stunning to be honest and when asked if everything was ok we both said no and that the lamb shank was tasteless.
We asked for the wine that we ordered 3 times before it finally came after we had nearly finished our starters. The poor sommelier said he had been hunting for a rare bottle in the cellar which we believed, but what were the other waiters doing, especially the Maître D ?
We were asked if we would like to order our sweet at the same time as our starter and main but refrained. Unfortunately no one came to take our order after our main course.
We waited, I waved, I even whistled but the waiters were oblivious to my request. In the end I had to get up and go to the Maître D who was busy chatting to another waiter and ask for the sweet menu. Bad form!!
Breakfast was a buffet breakfast and quite good. Unfortunately the reply to my question 'do you have any more muesli ? ' the answer was ' no it's all gone' which was not the right answer if you see where I am at. There was none the next day either.
The morning staff were much more switched on and led by a very switched on lady who was in charge. So much so that when we got up to get our main course our new pot of tea and drinks had been cleared away. It's happened elsewhere.
Yes I would stay again but not for an evening meal.
Would I recommend this hotel?
Yes but proceed with caution !
I am a Leisure Breaks member of the Hotel Collection chain and have stayed at most of the other hotels in the chain. There are things that can soon be rectified if systems and training for some staff are taken on board at this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Socratez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Socratez,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel and for providing a balanced set of observations. We do have many new staff in the property and their training is ongoing and for some reason our mobiles in the building were not working correctly on that day.

I'm glad that Klaudia went out of her way to ensure you got your room and assure you this isn't normally the case.

We are committed to constantly improving and learning from things that go wrong as much as those that work well. As a long standing guest I appreciate your help in this process.

On your next visit I'm sure that you will notice an improvement.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Read previous reviews regarding the hotel being tired required decoration. I looked beyond that to see what it was, a Victorian hotel and could imagine its splendour in its hey day. So you get spacious you get elegant and my room was very large and totally fit for my purpose. The staff were more than helpful and accommodating with all enquiries.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Col C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Col C,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review and for your sensible perspective.

Hoping to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

If you are looking for a relaxing break do not use this hotel. us tours come and go all the time. The food is cooked to accommodate large numbers and is awful. Canteen food at its worst. Bar expensive.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lucas50510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear lucas50510,

Thank you for your review. The hotel was very busy when you stayed and we did have a number of groups with us. Two of these were gardening groups, one travelling all the way from Wisconsin.

I'm sorry that our dinner offering wasn't to your liking.

Many thanks, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Harrogate hotels

West Yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We chose the hotel as it was our 10th wedding anniversary, splashing out for a premium double room. The room was ok, but had great big cobwebs in the corners of the rooms on the walls and ceilings and our view was a flat roof that was in the middle of being sealed, with decorating materials left there. We opened our window to find 2 used condoms right outside. This was reported to the staff, only to be told that no-one from maintenance was available and due to health and safety, no other staff members can clean the area. We ordered breakfast to the room which we had to chase, and it arrived half an hour after our requested slot. The final nail in the coffin for the trip was being charged twice for the room (£149 x2!) and then being told it would take 3-5 working days to be refunded. Disgraceful. We will never stay here again and we shall certainly be sharing our experience with everyone we know.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Henneth30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Henneth30,

Thank you for posting your review and so sorry that you had so many issues beset this stay.

The issue with the unwanted items on the balcony is so frustrating as another guest has put them there and access to the baclonies is extremely limited making clearing them a specialist operation as the railing and wall heights pose a safety risk.

Of course the other issues were within our control totally and should not have occured. On the billing side without specific details I'm not sure who you booked through or what went awry. The quoted delay refers simply to the time your card provider takes to process the refund to available funds in your account as we process anything like this immediately.

I understand your reluctance to return though I would offer to assist with any future booking.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Me and my mum stayed here for my 21st birthday. We got a really good deal through living social which included a cream tea and dinner. The rooms are very nice and of a high standard. The food is incredible. The overall look and feel of the hotel is amazing a must if you are wanting a special experience!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Beccatwotimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Beccatwotimes,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review.

I'm glad that we were chosen for such a special visit and hope to welcoem you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The ground floor is sumptuous with the smell of fresh flowers and gentle classical music playing. However my room on the 4th floor was a big disappointment. It was badly in need of refurbishment: shabby décor, frayed curtains, poor lighting and lumpy bed. The bathroom was just about functional: toilet flush only worked with perseverance, shower head was inadequate. The level of cleanliness was poor. Breakfast was OK but I've had better in a Premier Inn. £5 per day to park the car.

Room Tip: Avoid room 403
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Jean E,

Thank you for posting your review and my apologies that you were disappointed with your room.

We welcome your coments and will review them in the room.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#9 of 30 in Harrogate
152 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
603 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Swan Hotel
Old Swan Hotel
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
1,697 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Hotel

Property: The Majestic Hotel
Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#9 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian landmark, the four-star Majestic Hotel has 170 bedrooms and sits in 12 acres of landscaped grounds in the centre of the spa town of Harrogate. Just a mile from the train station and 10 minutes walk from the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, it’s the perfect location to enjoy Harrogate’s quaint shops and spas; and you can also venture out to the wild landscape of the Yorkshire Dales. With a pool, jacuzzi, steam room and beauty salon, as well as tea rooms, a bar and the Majestic Restaurant there’s everything you need to relax after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Harrogate
Majestic Hotel Harrogate
The Majestic Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing