We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Majestic Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Cedar Court Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The West Park Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel du Vin and Bistro(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Harrogate(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
The Crown Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kimberley Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Old Swan Hotel(Harrogate)
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cairn Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rudding Park Hotel(Follifoot)
US$361
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,417)
Filter reviews
3,417 results
Traveller rating
919
1,095
721
410
272
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
919
1,095
721
410
272
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspremium roomafternoon teaevening mealleisure facilitiesthree course mealrefurbished roomtown centrepublic areaslarge hotelspa breakbit datedself servicelots of choiceold buildingcar parkingbuffet styleone night stay
Filter
Updating list...
2,482 - 2,487 of 3,417 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel recently. As other reviews say it looks somewhat like its name 'Majestic' from a distance but once closer and inside it was tired, old-fashioned and definitely in need of a lift to bring it to a level that would warrant the price.
However you get the distinct impression that won't happen in a hurry as the hotel was very busy and according to hotel staff is constantly so.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allanscarlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear allenscarlett,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel.

The scale of the challenge is itself Majestic though we continue to make improvements and invest. I appreciate there is always more to do and because we are busy this only serves to ensure we keep the momentum.

On your next visit, why not try one of our refurbished Premium Twin rooms.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Had a wonderful couple of days here. Stayed in a de-luxe room that had obviously undergone refurbishment. Hotel close to town centre with all its facilities and very walkable.

Staff were pleasant and helpful. Food , although basic, was well cooked and plentiful.

Absolutely nothing to complain about!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the town and gardens
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dollychops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear dollychops,

Thank you for your 5 star review of the Majestic Hotel.

Hoping to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

From the outside the hotel looks beautiful, the lobby is very pleasant. The room was very dated, old furniture and old decor, the window was very dodgy to open and close - most would have struggled! The bathroom was even more dated, with a lot of water hammer when flushing the toilet, other bathrooms had this problem too, I know this because it woke us up! The swimming pool looks very tired, although the leisure staff were very pleasant. Breakfast was very nice, and all the staff were very polite.

Overall there are some good elements to this hotel, but the room was a major let down!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rvassb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Rvassb,

Thank you for posting your review and sharing your observations.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The hotel seemed uncaring and was excessively expensive. There was no allowance for people who wanted to watch England play in the World Cup.The charge for the car park is unacceptable.
The staaf at Redworth Hall were very pleasant in comparison but again the evening meal was disappointing.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Gary S,

Thank you for posting your review and I'm sorry you were unhappy with your stay.

Football has been shown in our Regency Bar on every night since the tournament began and whilst many people wished they'd not been able to watch England's efforts, they have always been able to.

The car park charge is widely publicised and is due to our town centre location.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

This is a very old hotel but the different owners have made an effort to try and keep up with an enormous never ending schedule of refurbishment.
However, that is an ongoing programme so I can understand that there may be the odd bit of flaking paint (yes the bathroom door in 330 still needs repainting ! )
There are a few staff issues though. Whether it is a lack of staff which may be the case, I can only guess. We were early 2pm, ok our problem so we left our bags went for a walk and returned just after 3pm.
The charming receptionist Claudia tried on numerous occasions to contact housekeeping to no avail. We were offered a free drink which was appreciated and informed by Claudia that she would tell us when she had found if the room was free. It was by now nearly 3.30pm. At 3.45pm having had our drink I enquired again if our room was available. Claudia was still unable to contact housekeeping so she set off to look for them. She returned about 10 minutes later out of breath and said yes the room was available. Why were housekeeping not answering? Surely they have mobiles or some mobile communication. At nearly 4pm we finally got into our room.
Our deal included an evening meal.
It was nothing stunning to be honest and when asked if everything was ok we both said no and that the lamb shank was tasteless.
We asked for the wine that we ordered 3 times before it finally came after we had nearly finished our starters. The poor sommelier said he had been hunting for a rare bottle in the cellar which we believed, but what were the other waiters doing, especially the Maître D ?
We were asked if we would like to order our sweet at the same time as our starter and main but refrained. Unfortunately no one came to take our order after our main course.
We waited, I waved, I even whistled but the waiters were oblivious to my request. In the end I had to get up and go to the Maître D who was busy chatting to another waiter and ask for the sweet menu. Bad form!!
Breakfast was a buffet breakfast and quite good. Unfortunately the reply to my question 'do you have any more muesli ? ' the answer was ' no it's all gone' which was not the right answer if you see where I am at. There was none the next day either.
The morning staff were much more switched on and led by a very switched on lady who was in charge. So much so that when we got up to get our main course our new pot of tea and drinks had been cleared away. It's happened elsewhere.
Yes I would stay again but not for an evening meal.
Would I recommend this hotel?
Yes but proceed with caution !
I am a Leisure Breaks member of the Hotel Collection chain and have stayed at most of the other hotels in the chain. There are things that can soon be rectified if systems and training for some staff are taken on board at this hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Socratez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Socratez,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel and for providing a balanced set of observations. We do have many new staff in the property and their training is ongoing and for some reason our mobiles in the building were not working correctly on that day.

I'm glad that Klaudia went out of her way to ensure you got your room and assure you this isn't normally the case.

We are committed to constantly improving and learning from things that go wrong as much as those that work well. As a long standing guest I appreciate your help in this process.

On your next visit I'm sure that you will notice an improvement.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews