We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Majestic Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The West Park Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Cedar Court Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel du Vin and Bistro(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cairn Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kimberley Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Old Swan Hotel(Harrogate)
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$131
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate-West(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,352)
Filter reviews
3,352 results
Traveller rating
908
1,082
703
397
262
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
908
1,082
703
397
262
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspremium roomafternoon teaevening mealleisure facilitiesthree course mealrefurbished roomtown centrepublic areaslarge hotelspa breakbit datedself servicelots of choiceold buildingcar parkingbuffet styleone night stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,414 - 2,419 of 3,352 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2014

very disappointed in this hotel.this visit was a birthday treat for my wife and to be honest i wish i had taken to McDonalds.how this hotel got a 4* rating i will never know.where do i start with the problems.Poor parking facilities for the size of the hotel.No easy access to reception with cases and although this did not effect me i saw some visitors struggling without any help.The room although large was badly in need of decoration and upgrade.Cleanliness was a serious problem with peeling paintwork on skirting boards and radiators and mold around bathroom window and bath seal.The whole time we were there i could not work out who was in charge of the badly trained staff.The food at breakfast was ok but served by untidily dressed staff running round like headless chickens.Spend money on this place or shut it.NEVER AGAIN.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnw186334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear johnw186334,

Thank you for your review and I am sorry that you were disappointed. If you want to provide some more specific detail such as when you stayed, which room etc then I would happily look into the issues raised. My email is vjohnson@thehotelcollection.co.uk

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

There is a serious underinvestment in staff at the hotel. Breakfast staff run ragged serving customers. Room rates too high. Location is good and building is lovely but I suspect it costs too much to upgrade. No air con in rooms

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TravellingDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear TravellingDG,

Thank you for posting your review and sharing your feedback. Our staffing level all work on ratios and these are regularly reviewed. Of course the one uncontrollable is the exact timing that guests will appear at the door and we can get real busy periods.

We are constantly monitoring feedback and will keep a close eye on this area.

Many thanks, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Wallpaper peeling
Not enough parking
No guide or instructions about the hotel ie cost of lockers in leisure centre or whether to go down dressed or in swim suits and bathrobe when going for massages
Tap wouldn't stop running in bathroom
Lightbulbs gone out and not replaced
Complained and they said they would send up duty manager, if they did then he couldn't be bothered to even replace a bulb
No service at breakfast
3 star hotel not 4 star, not worth the money and would not return

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Robert W,

Thank you for posting your review following your May 2014 visit to us. I do believe that many of the points raised have been addressed. Our bedrooms have new guest directories and these include various items of helpful information.

I'm unsure of the specifics of your stay such as which room etc and hope that you completed our own post stay feedback form as these help us immensely.

Kind regards, Vicne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel recently. As other reviews say it looks somewhat like its name 'Majestic' from a distance but once closer and inside it was tired, old-fashioned and definitely in need of a lift to bring it to a level that would warrant the price.
However you get the distinct impression that won't happen in a hurry as the hotel was very busy and according to hotel staff is constantly so.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allanscarlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear allenscarlett,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel.

The scale of the challenge is itself Majestic though we continue to make improvements and invest. I appreciate there is always more to do and because we are busy this only serves to ensure we keep the momentum.

On your next visit, why not try one of our refurbished Premium Twin rooms.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Had a wonderful couple of days here. Stayed in a de-luxe room that had obviously undergone refurbishment. Hotel close to town centre with all its facilities and very walkable.

Staff were pleasant and helpful. Food , although basic, was well cooked and plentiful.

Absolutely nothing to complain about!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the town and gardens
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dollychops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear dollychops,

Thank you for your 5 star review of the Majestic Hotel.

Hoping to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews