We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review”
Review of The Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Majestic Hotel
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Lovely big room with good facilities. Helpful staff. Convenient for the centre of Harrogate. Easy to find with ample parking. Good food generally although the main courses in the restaurant were a little disappointing.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Phil423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Phil423,

Thank you for posting your review. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your break and happy to advise that new menues are laucnhed in 10 days time under anew Executive Chef.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,903)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,955 - 1,961 of 2,907 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

Just stayed for two nights during the tour de France and im sorry but it should not be rated four star. I dont want to put this hotel down because overall I had a pleasant stay, but I have stayed at many four star hotels in the past and this does not live up to any of them. I thought it would be a nice supprise for my elderly father however, even he wasnt impressed. On arrival I complained that the windows were so dirty we couldnt see out of them, and I was told by the lady on reception
"dont worry I will have them cleaned while you are out this evening", well they never were cleaned. The only food available in the evening was a buffet which fell well short of nice and breakfast was a simular experience. Normally four star have other egg options available other than just fried. Overall, not bad but not four star! P.s room 117 if you want to clean the windows.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Steven R,

Thank you for posting your review and I'm sorry that you were disappointed.

Regarding the windows with the heights concerned we can't just pop up a ladder and I'm sorry that they were dusty.

The buffet for dinner was a one off exercise due to the Tour de France and the difficulty in staff movements limiting how many team members we could deploy.

I appreciate your comments and take them on board.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

On arrival the place was easy to find, and found that it was very close to town and local shops and restaurants. Easily walkable at a stroll pace in less than 10 minutes. I used the gym at the hotel, which was small and tired, but the equipment worked, and the staff were friendly. Towels were provided. I then went for a swim. The pool was ok, small, but usable for lengths.
My boyfriend joined me and we used the spa, we got in whilst the water was calm but after pressing the button the bubbles appeared, and brought a layer of ‘scummy’ water the surface! It then began to heavily smell of Chlorine making it hard to breathe– so we quickly made our exit.
We slept ok on the very firm beds. The room was clean, a little tired, but looked after. However the walls were thin and we were woken up early by running and screaming children on the floor above. This is of course not the fault of the hotel – but indicative of the sound proofing. We did speak to the receptionist about the possibility of moving rooms, but she happily checked an informed us that the family was checking out that day.
We went down for breakfast on the first day and were seated quickly. The table cloth was clean, but the milk and sugar dish that had been freshly put out for us were clearly used, and dirty! The milk was almost empty with bits of crumbs in the bottom, and this put us off using the sugar.
My boyfriend attempted to eat the buffet breakfast but couldn’t get the fried egg on the server as it slipped off with oil. When I went to get a sausage, the waiter boy was playing with it in tongs raised to near his face joking with a colleague. When they caught my eye he promptly dropped it in the serving dish. I put a different one on a plate returned to the table and cut into it to find that it spurted with oil. It looked like it had been pre-cooked, and then deep fat fried. There were croissants and pain au chocolate available, these were nice! We didn’t eat there again! We overheard other couples talking about poor evening food. We didn’t chance it, we ate out.
Currently there are building works going on behind the hotel that are very noisy from the single glaze windows, and works are ongoing from very early in the morning. These are temporary works relating to specific events.
Much better value for money would have been had staying at one of the nearby B&B’s or even the renovated Travel Lodge in town- at least you would be closer to more edible food.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank DVEB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear DVEB,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic hotel. I'm sorry that you were unhappy with certain aspects.

Our jacuzzi has an automated dosing system which is in fact just 2 months old so the dosing is appropriate to the needs of the unit. The levels required for jacuzzis are much higher than for pools due to the small amount of water being treated. All the filtration is also new so this is more likely due to guests not having showered fully before using the facility. Moisturiser is particularly unhelpful.

At breakfast I've not before heard any mention of staff playing with an item, topping up maybe but nothing more. Our sausages are grilled and baked. The fat they contain comes from the sausagemeat filling and I know we have never deep fried a sausage as this is easy to tell with an all round colour on the skin.

Fried eggs are cooked in oil and I'm sorry your boyfriend had such difficulty getting one on his plate.

We will of course maintain close oversight of breakfast operations under the watchful eye of a new Food Service Manager who started this week.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

2 nights in beautiful Harrogate an absolutely stunning and a fabulous place to have enjoyed the tour de Yorkshire! - At £300 night this was an average accommodation - tired and fading outside, trying to be modern inside, but just not quite hitting the right spot for us. Breakfast was ordinary and dinner was OK. The pool and gym were great and we enjoyed both. Not a bad stay, just a little underwhelmed I guess for the price. Location is good and close to Harrogate centre.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheRealMrsJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear The RealMrsJones,

Thank you for posting your review and I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay to see the Tour de France in Harrogate.

When rooms are in such short supply the price does increase to event rates and this was a one off event which was a true spectacle.

When you next return you'll be certain of a keener rate.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed here for one night in July 2014. We had booked Bed and Breakfast.
Our first impression was good. Large car park that had free spaces even though the town was very very busy. The check in was swift and professional.
Once we entered our room we were pleased. The room was a good size, and good sized bathroom. The bed was quite comfortable.Free wifi in the room and hotel and good sized tv, with sky channels.
The room was quite hot, this is the only negative point I can make.
The breakfast was delicious, self service, but with a very large choice.
The location for Harrogate centre was 10/10
Great weekend, will stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Mrs J,

Thank you so much for posting your 5 star review of the Majestic Hotel.

It's very pleasing to read of your enjoyment and whilst we don;t have air conditioning we do have a stock of fans available on request.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This is one of the better Hotels we have visited in Harrogate. Take the advise of the head water (don'know his name on duty june 29th.)follow his advise on food and wine,excellent. great service will visit again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ThosBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear ThosBen,

Thank you for posting your review and glad you had a great stay.

Our team are always happy to help if needed.

Many thanks, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I have stayed at the hotel 3 times in the last 2 years and it gets better and better.

Many years ago it was one of those places living on faded glory but now its fantastic.

The whole hotel has gradually been refurbished. As you would expect this hotel has a few bumps and bruises but they have been tastefully covered and painted.

The bedrooms are lovely, some are the normal size and some are huge. Always comfortable and clean, generous amounts of tea/coffee in your room.. Free wifi through out.

Breakfast staff are polite and efficient, and the food is hotel and tasty with a huge selection to satisfy anybody.

Where they shine is on the conference side. I was there for an event and the staff were excellent. The head chap, Dave Johnson, couldn't do enough for us, he pandered to every whim with a smile.

Lunch time food was excellent and generous.

I would highly recommend this hotel for a conference, good sized rooms for unto about 200+

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NigelBaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear NigelBaller,

Thank you so much for posting your review.

It was a joy to read and I concur fully with your praise for Dave Johnson our Events Operations Manager who has over 20 years service and looks after all our conference organisers.

He is a real can do manager who always gets highlighted as an asset.

Looking forward to your next event with us and glad you have noticed the improvements we have been striving for.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#8 of 30 in Harrogate
211 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,325 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Old Swan Hotel
Old Swan Hotel
#16 of 30 in Harrogate
1,733 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
1,455 reviews
0.6 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Hotel

Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#9 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: £59 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian landmark, the four-star Majestic Hotel has 170 bedrooms and sits in 12 acres of landscaped grounds in the centre of the spa town of Harrogate. Just a mile from the train station and 10 minutes walk from the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, it’s the perfect location to enjoy Harrogate’s quaint shops and spas; and you can also venture out to the wild landscape of the Yorkshire Dales. With a pool, jacuzzi, steam room and beauty salon, as well as tea rooms, a bar and the Majestic Restaurant there’s everything you need to relax after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Harrogate
Majestic Hotel Harrogate
The Majestic Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing