We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location but hotel needs care!”
Review of The Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Majestic Hotel
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Harrogate
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located in an excellent location less than 10 mins walking to the heart of the city. The building is old and you can feel that its not really taken care of from outside...the hotel has a good swimming pool & couple of dinning spots...room was ok but still not like the pics. Overall good service but check in was very slow.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank Hamouda-My
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Mohamed H,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel.

I'm glad that you had a good stay with us and yes, the building is huge and keeps our team busy with repairs. We are always working on some element though thankfully the hotel is from an era when things were built to last.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,213 - 2,219 of 3,188 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed for a weekend. Public areas are really well furnished. Bar is comfortable, added bonus is that they sell local ales, a bit unusual these days. Restaurant was good, food well cooked, breakfast was also very good. Our room was larger than most, even had 2 chairs, not just the normal one. Very quiet room even though we overlooked the car park.
The hotel could not be better positioned to enjoy Harrogate, right by the town centre.
All the staff were helpful and really nice people.
We will certainly stay here again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank cascboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear cascboss,

Thank you so much for awarding us 5 stars in your review.

Your recognition is really pleasing and helps motivate us to try our best to provide great service.

Hoping to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I was taken to the Majestic Hotel for an overnight stay by my son and family for my 60th Birthday. It was lovely, the rooms had been refurbished and were beautiful right down to the robes and slippers. We used the facilities with my young grandson, which were good and child friendly as was the staff. The breakfast was excellent and I would recommend this hotel as it is just a small walk from the centre of Harrogate which is a great place to visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 129 and 132 which were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesley g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear lesley g,

Thank you so much for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel.

What a lovely surprise for you on such an occasion. I'm very pleased that you had a wonderful stay and hoping you'll return soon.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed for a few days in this lush classic hotel just steps away from the downtown Harrogate. It has both an old-world stately feel but all the modern amenities that one would expect from a proper British hotel. It seemed family-friendly even though we didn't see many children around. All in all, a great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lamont S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Lamont S,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel, Harrogate.

I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and found it combined our rich heritage and modern conveniences well. This is always a challenge.

Hoping to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Returned to the Majestic to celebrate our wedding anniversary having stayed there several years ago on a number of occasions. Our memory of this lovely hotel was one of a lovely hotel with fantastic food and a wonderful ambiance. I am very sad to say that this hotel has lost it's majestic crown. The hotel room was in need of repair with wallpaper hanging from the ceiling and could have done with a good super clean as smelt quite musty. Our evening meal was very disappointing with over cooked steak and seasonal vegetables consisting of sweet potatoes and mixed peppers. Apparently the chef of 30 years standing had recently retired but I feel the new chef could do with some help to bring this overly hotel back to its previous glory.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank KimmieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Kimmiegirl,

Thank you for posting your review and I'm sorry that this visit wasn't up to our normal standard.

We are having some change in the kitchen though as it was June when you stayed I'm pleased that now we have got a new leader at the stove and our food is starting on it's next evolution. We're really excited about it and I'm sure that your next visit will see a return to the high standards of the past but with an up to date aspect.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Spend some time here during and gift fair and the hotel is really looking tired. Coffee in the bar in a take away cup was £3.50 and moth worth it. Would have been a good hotel in the past but when you see a new Premier Inn being built in the front garden it sort of tells the tale.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Leg016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Leg016,

Thank you for posting your review during your recent visit to attend the Gift Fair. This long running and popular event does create huge demand and this does mean that prices increase.

In the lounge we were serving filter coffee for under £2 a cup. Latte and cappuccino are more for the bean to cup and the takeaway cups were purely to allow ease of movement around the external marquees.

The new hotel does look nice and very modern though it depends what you are looking for. The Majestic has never been the cheapest place to sleep in Harrogate though it has the greatest heritage and I suppose it depends if that is of value to your visit.

The Gift Fair has been in Harrogate each July for over 50 years which itself says something for itself.

Hope to see you back next year.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Where do you start? When we arrived there was no parking available - half the car park taken over by exhibition stands and contactors vehicles. Staff outside dismissive and unhelpful. Room in desperate need of refurbishment and air conditioning. Mould around bath. Queues at breakfast despite empty tables due to lack of organisation. Used crockery and other detritus on landings by lift not removed for hours/days. Clearly a lack of management control throughout the hotel. Poor value for money. All this and noisy building work starting at 7 am!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the building site - ask for this and a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear David H,

Thank you for your review and I'm sorry that your visit co-incided with our major external event.

Traffic management staff are provided to try and assist with the process though I do appreciate it is not ideal and the Saturday night was extrmely busy with lots happening.

We've never had nor advertised air conditioning and we can provide a supplementary fan if needed.

For breakfast we served over 350 guests and I am sorry that you did not receive our best attention. We are in the process of making changes to this meal time as feedback indicates a review is needed.

I do appreciate your feedback.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#7 of 28 in Harrogate
355 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 28 in Harrogate
1,397 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Swan Hotel
Old Swan Hotel
#17 of 28 in Harrogate
1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#8 of 28 in Harrogate
1,793 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,805 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Hotel

Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#9 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: £47 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian landmark, the four-star Majestic Hotel has 170 bedrooms and sits in 12 acres of landscaped grounds in the centre of the spa town of Harrogate. Just a mile from the train station and 10 minutes walk from the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, it’s the perfect location to enjoy Harrogate’s quaint shops and spas; and you can also venture out to the wild landscape of the Yorkshire Dales. With a pool, jacuzzi, steam room and beauty salon, as well as tea rooms, a bar and the Majestic Restaurant there’s everything you need to relax after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Harrogate
Majestic Hotel Harrogate
The Majestic Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing