We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"majestic"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Majestic Hotel
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“"majestic"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Majestic Hotel, great value for money, service, food , facilities excellent . Would recommend and will certainly come back , it had a lovely feel to it too and the location was great for just walking into town for shopping,, bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Debrahx H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear DebrahxH,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel, I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Majestic in the future.

Kind regards, Steve
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    736
    847
    524
    279
    178
See reviews for
321
1,345
30
327
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (651)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

arrived to a cheery welcome on the friday evening, checked in quick and simple then enjoyed a pleasant night in Harrogate and a nightcap at the hotel before a superb game of golf at rudding park GC, would recommend the Majestic to anyone as an ideal baseto explore the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear DavidF,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel, I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Majestic in the future.

Kind regards, Steve
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We are just back from a lovely weekend break in Harrogate . I was a bit worried about what we would find at the Majestic but we were pleasantly surprised. The room was spacious and nicely decorated the bathroom was of a good standard. Dinner the first night was ok and the wine reasonably priced for a hotel. After a comfortable night we went for breakfast which good . It was nice too see fresh melon and pineapple and some fruit compotes as well as the usual breakfast fair. The bacon was thick cut and the sausage was not mass produced and meatless but a flavoursome sausage which complimented the fresh mushrooms and tomatoes .the pool and other leisure facilities were good and was a welcome break when it lashed it down for a while in the afternoon. All together a pleasant stay and Harrogate turned out yo be an interesting place to visit.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidnJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Davidnjim,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel, I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Majestic in the future.

Kind regards, Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
155 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

It was not a good start, with Klaudia on reception glaring at us after a 4 hour drive from London telling us she couldn't find our booking. She had emailed 2 days before to say that she did after all have a Deluxe room and sent me the link to the website.

Sadly she forgot to point out and neither did she on reception that the Room, 149, was right over the Ballroom where one of the noisiest weddings I have ever heard went on until gone 12.30 am on Sunday morning with loud thumping music and loud noisy guests. Because she failed on 2 occasions to tell us that this room was probably the noisiest in the hotel we had no chance to change it as we had gone out for the evening and didn't return until 11.15pm.

The noise was unbearable. We couldn't open the windows and there was no aircon so we sweltered in a hot very stuffy room being blasted with this din.

This hotel is a disgrace - Fawlty Towers had nothing on this.

To add insult to injury the charger point in the bathroom fused all the lights when we tried to use the shaving point and we were left in utter darkness until a porter came at midnight to push the switch on the fuse box but he could not fix the fuse. We were left with no electric toothbrush and no shaver that worked for my husband.

The room could hardly be described as deluxe. It was fusty, musty and not very clean. The bathroom had one small basin and a very narrow bath and one tiny piece of soap.

Quite frankly this hotel doesn't deserve 1 star.

There was no porter initially at reception to help us with our bags but eventually he did arrive and was extremely rude showing us first to the wrong room and then after I said I knew how to put the card in the (correct) door to open it, he barked "Well I won't bother to show you then" and walked off.

And the dining room stops serving at 9pm so we had no chance to eat after the theatre. Room service we were told after 9pm consisted of a few sandwiches and Pizza!! This is a 4 star hotel !

If this is how English Hotels are run, then they do not deserve to stay in business.

And I write this Review at 12.08am with loud thumping music accompanied by the staff emptying crates of empty bottles into a large metal dustbin and then wheeling the dustbins noisily over what sounds like cobbled pavements.

Oh dear oh dear I want to go home !

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GillyflowerofLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Gillyfloweroflondon,

I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit and this first night room allocation was an error on our part in an attempt to give you a Deluxe Room.

Your booking does have a note attached saying "wants the best room in the hotel. If she doesn't get it then will cancel" Your early arrival 2 hours before check in time did limit the options available.

I appreciate your evident annoyance when writing your review at 12.08am and thankfully the event finished just 22 minutes later.

You changed room the following day and I trust the remainder of your stay will prove more relaxing as you enjoy the Gilbert & Sullivan Festival in Harrogate.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Harrogate hotels

Sedgefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

I booked several rooms at this hotel to celebrate a friends imminent wedding and the facilities, service, rooms and food were fantastic from the minute that we arrived until we left. On arrival I was helped into the hotel with my bags, allowed to store them and acess them until check-in and given lots of help and advice on my visit to Harrogate. We needed to cancel a room due to a last minute drop out, and this was done without problem, we even got upgraded and help to book vip passes with a local club for our night out. The hotel was only 5 mins or so from town too andceasy to find with sat nav. Breakfast was amazing, fantastic choice of patisserie, cooked breakfast, fruit and cereal, and the pool was perfect, clean quiet and plenty of facilities. The Staff were all friendly, kind and incredibly helpfull, well done Majestic team, I will be coming back soon! Fantastic value for money, great experience, a real getaway that left me refreshed, relaxed and invigorated by my trip to Harrogate.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emilybeeedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear emilybeedwards,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review. I was delighted to read of the great service which our team provided to enhace your stay.

Many thanks, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

First arrival, looks very impressive. A little dated in areas. Friendly team and delicious food. Good choice on the menu. Spa treatments available and affordable for those rainy days.
Room very clean but could of done with a touch up here and there. The bed was very comfortable. Drinks in the bar are on the expensive side. When we arrived it was under some refurbishment would love to go back and see once completed.

Room Tip: luxury front facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilWarren2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear NeilWarren2014,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel from which I was delighted to hear of your satisfaction especially in regard to your dinner where we are working on some improvements currently.

Looking forward to welcoming you back for your second and thrid visits.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Last minute package for one night including 3 course dinner and wine
Imposing building and certainly in need of some TLC. Main reception areas grand and imposing.
Staff in dining room first class, attentive and professional. Food really tasty with plenty on offer from the fixed menu.
Room Ok. Large with a "Juliet Balcony". Tired looking though not quite an internet picture
All in all an good stay for the money we payed. It has soul

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJW153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear TJW153,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel and very happy to read of your enjoyment.

Hoping to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,398 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#13 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 31 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Hotel

Property: The Majestic Hotel
Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#9 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian landmark, the four-star Majestic Hotel has 170 bedrooms and sits in 12 acres of landscaped grounds in the centre of the spa town of Harrogate. Just a mile from the train station and 10 minutes walk from the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, it’s the perfect location to enjoy Harrogate’s quaint shops and spas; and you can also venture out to the wild landscape of the Yorkshire Dales. With a pool, jacuzzi, steam room and beauty salon, as well as tea rooms, a bar and the Majestic Restaurant there’s everything you need to relax after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your The Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Harrogate
Majestic Hotel Harrogate
The Majestic Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing