We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Wedding Venue”
Review of The Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Majestic Hotel
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Harrogate
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We attended the wedding of Mr & Mrs Jones. A beautiful hotel in the heart of Harrogate. Eray the manager on duty looked after us very well ensuring our every need was catered for. The staff were all happy and smiley which is testament to the way the hotel is obviously run. Thanks so much for having us and we hope to see you again soon!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpotlightPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Spotlight PB

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel.

I was pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you were looked after by Eray when you attended the wedding of Mr & Mrs Jones, I will share your comments with all of the team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards, Steve
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,079)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,069 - 2,075 of 3,079 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

There wasn't an 'above average' rating button which would have been ideal! As previously stated a large 'old world' beautiful building with the town centre a short walk away. Sadly it is showing its age and is in need of some tlc. I was disappointed with the lack of basic maintenance, with dirty windows and carpets not cleaned in the main areas and stairwells. We found the food to be very good, although there was ingredients missing from ordered dishes so remember what's' in your selection! We enjoyed the leisure centre which is small and compact. Our reservation offered evening entertainment, but there wasn't any, and likewise the billiards room doesn't have any snooker tables...

Room Tip: Have a room facing the back, there's work being untaken at the front at the present.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bunty1642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Bunty1642

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel, I do take all of your comments onboard.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Majestic in the future.

Kind regards, Steve
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The Majestic Hotel Harrogate is a commercial hotel best suited for exhibitors and conference delegates. Weekends are very popular with weddings which is fine. Receptions still going on at 5am in the gardens is not fine. Our first room 150 was as expected when we opened the door. The bathroom however was totally unacceptable as the ceiling was covered in black mould ( yes I do have the pictures) on complaining we were instantly given a different room on the fourth floor which was OK. So, location for the town centre, brilliant, bar soul less, No a/c in the room, restaurant massive and grand.
Good points. Breakfast? they must have spent the re-decoration money on the breakfast, excellent, the pool was welcome and clean as was the sauna. Free wifi I don't mean WIFI Would we go back - not for free.

Room Tip: Inspect the bathroom before you unpack your bag.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank DenandJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear DenandJan

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel, I am sorry that certain aspects of the hotel were not to your liking, but I was pleased that you found our breakfast offering and the leisure club to be of a high standard.

Kind regards, Steve
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

i stayed here with my wife this weekend, really like the hotel. old fashioned 'grand' style hotel. really really nice.
However the food was shocking. part of the 'deal' was the 3 course dinner. there was a choice of i think 6 starters, mains and maybe 4 puddings
both of us picked the mackerel and potato salad starter, we were given the pate. they took that away and brought the correct one, which was shop bought mackerel, shop bought potato salad with a few leaves. not so impressive (the 2 pates sit on a side table in the dining room for 15 mins until someone else ordered it!!!!)
as it was a sunday we both chose the roast beef main. it came really quickly
The beef was kinda a grey dull colour, well overcooked sometime earlier in the day and microwaved back to life. Yorkshire pud was like rubber, couldnt cut it with the blunt knife i had. Mash was a bit lumpy and needed a bit more gravy.
The carrots were nice!
The puds came and very quickly, i had white choc cheesecake. it was strange! was a bit rubbery like blancmange and didnt really taste of much. my wife had the vanilla creme bulee which tasted like it was made from instant custard powder (no black dots as you would get from vanilla pods) and the sugar on top was a good inch thick, so much so that the bottom hadnt melted so it was still loose!
the whole meal lasted around 50 mins, for 3 courses!! and that included the time it took to redo our starters!!
all this for £25 a head in a supposed 4 star hotel
The chef should hang his head in shame at serving such shocking food!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fluffer1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear fluffer1000,

Thank you for posting your review and I'm sorry that you had a poor dining experience.

Your detailed feedback is of interest and help and we have been working hard on improvements as you will see from other reviews it apears a consistency challenge.

I'm certain that on your next visit you will notice a great improvement.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We have just arrived with our disabled family member to be told that the room we booked for her back in February has been taken by another visitor who booked 3 months later in May!
What makes it worse is we rang to check if everything was ok at the time of booking, the disabled lady rang in February to check the facilities were suitable in February, we rang the day before we arrived to recheck and were promised it was fine.

None of this was true.

We arrived and were given the keys to the room. All it was was a big room, not suitable for a wheelchair user at all, not modified in any way for disabled access and not particularly safe (ie no handrails, no emergency bell, etc). Bed too high to get into, bath to be climbed into (not possible, she cannot walk!), no wheel-in shower as promised, the loo was in a space too small for the wheelchair. The alternative room offered was not much better.
Conclusion: do not trust what this hotel tells you.

Room Tip: Avoid if a wheelchair user. They say one thing but mean another.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank happyman42a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Happyman42a

Thank you for posting your review regarding your recent stay with us at The Majestic Hotel. I am deeply sorry that your request for the disabled room was omitted from your reservation when you made it in February. I understand that you did receive a 50% reduction from your final invoice as recompense for this error along with an apology.

However when you next choose to stay with us, then please contact me directly and I will personally oversee your reservation to ensure that there are no errors with your booking.

Kind regards, Steve
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

First impression was disappointing furniture looked tired and the beds needed replacing with new ones. The hotel in the middle of having a face lift and some rooms have been upgraded. possibly we were unlucky with ours. Saying that you got the feel of just how Majestic this place is and how it must have been in it's hay day it is amazing. The only way I can describe if anyone can remember the hotel out the film the Shinning with the long corridors and big ball rooms(you may disagree though) then this is how I saw it. Needs a bit more more TLC but no regrets having stayed it was worth it just to see the place.

Room Tip: if you like a little bit of luxury go for a room upgrade. Also there is a swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TheFarrers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear The farrers

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel, I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us,you are right we are in the process of redecorating some of the areas of the hotel.

I do hope that you will come back and stay at The Majestic in the future.

Kind regards, Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed here for one night after a function. The standard double room was smelly, in drastic need of re-decoration and not worth the money I spent. If you are looking for a great hotel in Harrogate I would advise Rudding park.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank DCAJE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear DCAJE,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel, I am sorry that the room you were allocated was in need of refurbishement, I can assure that this room will be refurbished on our next programme shortly. When you are next staying in Harrogate please contact me directly at the hotel and i will ensure that you are allocated one of our refrubished premium rooms.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Majestic in the future.

Kind regards, Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 28 in Harrogate
323 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 28 in Harrogate
1,378 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Swan Hotel
Old Swan Hotel
#17 of 28 in Harrogate
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel
Cedar Court Hotel
#12 of 28 in Harrogate
2,364 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#7 of 28 in Harrogate
1,784 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 28 in Harrogate
1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Hotel

Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#9 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: £46 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian landmark, the four-star Majestic Hotel has 170 bedrooms and sits in 12 acres of landscaped grounds in the centre of the spa town of Harrogate. Just a mile from the train station and 10 minutes walk from the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, it’s the perfect location to enjoy Harrogate’s quaint shops and spas; and you can also venture out to the wild landscape of the Yorkshire Dales. With a pool, jacuzzi, steam room and beauty salon, as well as tea rooms, a bar and the Majestic Restaurant there’s everything you need to relax after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Harrogate
Majestic Hotel Harrogate
The Majestic Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing