We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointed”
Review of The Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Majestic Hotel
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Had high hopes for this hotel, had a deluxe room, apart from the size, nothing deluxe about it, only a double bed, in a massive room, shoddy furniture, windows filthy, the room was clean, and so was the bathroom. Breakfast was a nightmare, the queue's were horrendous, at least 20 people in front of us, food itself was quite good quality, just not hot enough, staff really good, on the ball, such a shame, wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline99-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Pauline99-11

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel, I do take all of your comments onboard especially regarding breakfast buffet and your room.. I was pleased that you found the team to be on the ball.

I do hope that you will return at some point in the future and when you do please contact me directly as I would like to oversee your reservation personally.

Kind regards, Steve
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    767
    906
    571
    316
    196
See reviews for
346
1,442
36
353
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (701)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Visit with my Mum on a LivingSocial voucher (surprise!) This has to be on of the best of these vouchers i've had so far. Everyone was so friendly. We went for the treatments first the. we both chiose a back massage, mine was fabulous Naomi worked out all the knots. Then we both had a pedicure and were actually sat together for this part. So many colours to choose from.
We went back to the fitness suite and collected our robes (these were so thick and fluffy) towels and slppers and had a mooch in the pool and jacuzzi, didn't realise there was a sauna as there was 2 doors into changing area. So we had a dabble before showering. Shame there wasn't a steam room.
The changing area is a really good size, with an area for styling hair and re-doing your make-up. Would have been nice if they had a spin dryer and bags for your swim wear.
Then we walked up to the bar area to have afternoon tea. Which included a glass of fizz each plus a hot drink. Definite value for money. (with the voucher)
The building itself is lovely with some great huge halls and corridors. Feels lovely and relaxing.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank InaTizzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear InaTizzi

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel, I was delighted to read that you had a fantastic spa day with us, i will share your comments with the Spa team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Majestic in the future.

Kind regards, Steve
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haddington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

having stayed in many hotels in Harrogate over the years, the only hotel which is consistently good is the Majestic.I would not choose any other hotel because the lack of good service means that they would just be a waste of money.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank richardmilner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Richardmilne,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Majestic in the future.

Kind regards, Steve
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Wonderful old style hotel, large rooms and corridors with good view on Harrogate. Staff were very helpful and coped well with a very busy breakfast time on one morning. Stayed on a two night deal including one evening meal which was a good standard and an afternoon tea which ticked all the boxes.

Room Tip: We had a small suite on 3rd floor which was quiet ad wel equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear DavidR,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Majestic in the future.

Kind regards, Steve
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed for one night, room very comfortable and spacious, staff very friendly and the evening meal was excellent.
Hotel is located a few minutes from town centre and there is ample car parking
However on the negative side the breakfast was only average as we would have expected more choice from a 4 star hotel, and even though breakfast was served to 9.30 it was low on selections. Also there was a £5 charge for car parking which should be free to hotel guests.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Graham M

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel, I do take your comments onboard especially regarding breakfast and the car parking charge.

I was pleased that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards, Steve
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayrshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The hotel itself is ok. More of a three star than a four star and in need of some tlc. The individual members of staff were all lovely so no issues there. The worst thing about it was the very hard mattresses in our twin room. So much so that instead of a relaxing 2 night break I came away with having had almost no sleep and a very sore shoulder from the mattress. Really disappointing.

The hotel is in a good location and only a five minute stroll from the town centre. The hotel is busy and I counted a queue of around 40 people waiting in line for a table at breakfast, nonetheless, the staff were super efficient and the queue cleared quickly. A decent breakfast too. Dinner was ok, nothing special, £18 for 2 course table d'hote and £25 for three courses.

I would probably go again but would need reassurance that the room had a comfortable bed. I stayed in another Hotel Collection hotel (Marine in Troon) a few weeks ago and the beds were super comfy.

Room Tip: Workmen noisy at front of hotel in August 2014 (banging starts at 8am) so ask for a room overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trekkerayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Graham M

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel, I do take all of your comments onboard especially regarding the beds.

I was pleased that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us and found the staff to be lovely.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards, Steve
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Majectic by name Majestic by nature,really love this hotel.It has gone and still is going through changes but it never fails to deliver a brilliant service.spiol yourselves and stay there you wont be disappointed

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank postiepat49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Postiepat49

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel, I was pleased that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards, Steve
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#9 of 30 in Harrogate
151 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
602 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Swan Hotel
Old Swan Hotel
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
1,693 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Hotel

Property: The Majestic Hotel
Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#9 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian landmark, the four-star Majestic Hotel has 170 bedrooms and sits in 12 acres of landscaped grounds in the centre of the spa town of Harrogate. Just a mile from the train station and 10 minutes walk from the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, it’s the perfect location to enjoy Harrogate’s quaint shops and spas; and you can also venture out to the wild landscape of the Yorkshire Dales. With a pool, jacuzzi, steam room and beauty salon, as well as tea rooms, a bar and the Majestic Restaurant there’s everything you need to relax after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Harrogate
Majestic Hotel Harrogate
The Majestic Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing