We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“majestic!”
Review of The Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Majestic Hotel
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Harrogate
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Our recent girls' weekend at the Majestic was great. The staff were friendly and helpful, the leisure facilities were good, our room was massive (although the pillows were rather hard) and the breakfast was superb! It was really convenient to have a private, secure carpark too. It was our first time in Harrogate and we will most definitely be visiting again and would have no hesitation in staying at the Majestic.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Alison B,

Thank you so much for posting your 5 star review of the Majestic Hotel, Harrogate.

We'll look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,023)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,963 - 1,969 of 3,023 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2014

Liked
- Cheap
- Good location
- Includes swimming pool
- Best hotel hair dryer
Didn’t Like
- Feels shabby
- Poor service at breakfast
- Weddings take over the whole hotel
- Variations in room quality

I visited the Majestic in August 2014 for two nights with a group of friends spread over 3 rooms. We got a bargain and only paid £87 per room per night for a double with breakfast, a bargain that should have had us a little concerned to be honest.

On arrival at 9pm we were met in the lobby with a destination with all the class of Infernos in Clapham (look it up). A DJ was blasting out Steps from the ballroom closest to reception and astonishingly drunk wedding guests were sprawling across the ground floor of the hotel. After managing to communicate with reception over the ruckus, we were directed to our rooms that were blissfully on the 4th floor, away from the noise.

We were pleasantly surprised with our room (a double) that would in most hotels have fallen within the classification of a junior suite. It was clean and well appointed. Alas our fellow guests in another double and a single were less impressive, but still reasonable.

Another small positive point that my wife insists I mention is that the hair dryer was the best she’s used in a hotel and wasn’t attached to the wall which made the whole experience all the better.

The main issue with the rooms and the hotel generally is that the whole place feels like it could do with a massive injection of cash to bring it up to the standard of a 4* rating that it boasts. Everything about the place feels shabby, from the random sofas dotted around the place to the random stains on the room celling. Staffing is equally threadbare; all the staff we encountered were very helpful but often rather inexperienced (befitting their age really, most were about 18).

Breakfast, as mentioned, was included in the room rate and is served in an enormous ballroom. It’s buffet style but includes most of the essentials for a full English plus a good continental selection. Our first breakfast was difficult to fault, we arrived at around 8am and were seated promptly and offered tea or coffee which again was delivered promptly. This very good service it turned out was more due to our early waking rather than standard service. On the Sunday we arose later (around 10am) to be met with a 15-minute queue for a table. Once seated the whole thing was a bit of a shambles. Tea and coffee didn’t come for an age and half the breakfast items were missing and infrequently replaced. It was quite apparent they were woefully understaffed. The aforementioned wait for tables was purely a staffing problem as there were plenty of empty tables in the room, just no one to clear them.

I visited the spa on a Saturday morning and it was a relaxing experience. The jacussi was out of action sadly but the pool was big and well heated and the sauna all it should be.

The Saturday evening proved much the same as the Friday with weddings taking over the hotel ground floor, which is to be expected in the summer months, but it’s a shame that such a large hotel does little to partition the drunken revelers from the ordinary guests.

Overall the hotel delivered value for money at less than £45pppn with a full English but it’s a long way off what one would expect from a 4* hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrMikey24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear DrMikey24,

Thank you for posting your detiled and balanced view.

On the positive side I'm glad that you enjoyed your room and first breakfast and received a great vaue rate.

On the contrary I am sorry that the wedding impacted on your stay. All weddings have their own private bar facilities in their function room though they do tend to wander outside of this. Sunday breakfast at 10am can be very busy and we do work flat out to clear and relay tables, seat guests, serve beverages and replenish the buffets. We are working on efficiencies that may assist us in working more cleverly when at peak demand.

Thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We celebrated our wedding here on Friday August 1st.

From booking the hotel 18 months ago to our special day the experience has been wonderful. Nothing too much trouble and a genuine wish for us to have a good time (a trait lost by many hospitality outlets nowadays).

The whole wedding breakfast was perfect, from us arriving to two glasses of champagne from the ever courteous and brilliant Eray (who did the Master of Ceremony role like a true pro) all the way to the night porter wishing all our guests would go to bed but never once complaining.

Our food was cooked to perfection and on time and tasty. We brought our own cake made from cheese in. Without us having to ask it was cut up and left out in a lovely display.

Our room was clean, big and had a smashing view of Harrogate.

All our friends and family that attended the wedding had nothing but great words to say to about the Majestic and all of it's staff.

On top of all this we had the best day of our lives. Every time we walk past the hotel now we both have a sense of complete joy and happiness!

Thank you so much.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mhgatet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear mhgatet,

Thank you for selecting us as the venue for your wedding. We do udnerstand the importance of such a momentous occasions and do everything in our power to deliver a true day to remember.

With every wish for a long and happy marriage, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We got an online deal: 2 night stay with 1st night's dinner inc. wine, breakfasts & afternoon tea on second day.
Overall dinner was quite nice, though I was disappointed with my starter, my asparagus soup arrived and was found to be tasteless. Worse than that though, with my second spoonful I realised that the chef must have been in a hurry as it was full of small pieces of uncooked potato. They had obviously been part-cooked before blending, plating up & sending out to me without checking for consistency or seasoning. Luckily the melon which I took to replace it was much better. Our main courses & desserts were delicious & well presented. The waiting staff were very welcoming & attentive. However, had it not been part of the package deal we'd purchased I doubt I'd have stumped up the £25 per head for the set menu, and certainly would not have accepted the soup fiasco so quietly.
There was a good selection of breakfast foods, fruit, cereals, traditional warm buffet items, however the lack of small tables & the large number of couples wishing to breakfast alone on tables (as you would) meant for considerable waits to be seated. After each morning's wait we then had to spend time attracting attention to request tea/coffee -even when the maitre d' seated us on the second morning.
Afternoon tea was okay, though I thought we may have received a little more sophisticated than Tetley on a string or whatever it was, the tiny teapot allowed us just one teacup each too. Whilst I didn't mind sipping from a teacup rather than my usual mug on this occasion, a top-up would have been appreciated. As with the dinner, I don't think it would be great value for money in its own right.

Now, on to the surroundings...
Lovely old hotel, obviously still undergoing some remedial works following the 2010 fire and it seems now also having some much needed maintenance works attended to. As you'll see from the hotel's own marketing pictures much of it looks magnificent, especially the main reception, bar & dining areas and the rooms which have been completely overhauled, however take a few minutes to look at some of this site's users' pictures & you'll see there's also a very different side.
Our room was large, with a beroom area with television in it, a sitting room area with nothing in it, and a bathroom area.
The bathroom looked as though it had been the subject of some work in the last few years, as though they'd tried to 'gloss over the cracks' as it were. Adding a swanky surround to the mirror rather than ensuring the windows sealed well & were clean for example.
The sitting room had large patches of black/grey up the wall behind the dresser/desk, we couldn't decide if these were dirt, damp, or the remains of fire damage. Whatever, we feel they they shouldn't have been there for us to see.
The bedroom was the better of the three rooms, and generally the cleanest. However, overall I was quite shocked with the lack of cleanliness, especially the level of dust in the rooms. Running my finger over the top of picture frames, picture lights, top of the archway between rooms, and so on, it was clear to see that they had not seen a duster in a great number of months.
I asked to speak with someone about the levels of dust in our room as we left & the duty manager duly came along. He 'noted our concerns & would bring them up at his next ten at ten meeting tomorrow', he also, hoped that it wouldn't put us of returning to stay with them in the future.... what do you think ?

Room Tip: Ask for one that's been refurbished...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank RealScotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear RealScotty,

Thank you for sharing your experience and glad that service wise we appear to have performed well. On the standards of cleanliness in the bedroom provided to you I am very sorry that these were so poor. Our Duty Manager and Housekeeper have fully attended to them.

We have a large team of housekeeping staff working diligently in trying to keep the property spic and span which is no mean feat. I know that they will be driven on by your comments as they do want to do a good job.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We decided to stay here after seeing a deal through Secret Escapes. Within our deal we got a 3 course meal and buffet breakfast.
The hotel was certainly Majestic but very dated and run down. Our room was clean but had paint peeling off the walls, and the windows were in need of replacing.
The meal we had wasn't worth the money if you were to pay the full price. I had barely warm soup and extremely dry beef.
The breakfast buffet was ok, once we had finally got to it from queuing for 15 minutes.
The only good point was the staff were really helpful and pleasant.
I would only stay here if there was a brilliant offer.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Lucy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Lucy A,

Thank you for posting your review and I do hope that you will return on a superb offer. I would suggest that you opt for an upgraded Premium Room as the small extra cost would likely be of more benefit to your own enjoyment.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Large stately venue, located a pleasant 5 minute walk to everything fun in Harrogate. The Majestic is an old world styled hotel, nicely updated. Very comfortable. We were especially pleased that our dog Suzie was so warmly welcomed.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear John M,

Thank you for psting your review of the Majestic Hotel and very pleased that you had such an enjoyable time.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed here as part of a Secret Escapes deal with dinner, bed and breakfast. Overall the experience was ok- there's nothing specifically "wrong" with the hotel, but it is a very old, tired place which appears to have had some time/ money spent on some areas but others are badly in need.
Our room was large but very dated: the furniture and decor could do with modernisation; the bathroom was also very large but again was in need of an update. We enjoyed the food in the evening and also breakfast the next morning, but it was far from amazing. The staff throughout were very friendly and efficient and that was really what made the experience such a positive one.
We shan't be returning here, as I think for the price we paid (even though it was an offer), you will find places of a better standard.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lch10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Ich10,

Thank you for posting your review and glad that our team looked after you.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 28 in Harrogate
288 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 28 in Harrogate
1,357 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Swan Hotel
Old Swan Hotel
#16 of 28 in Harrogate
1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 28 in Harrogate
1,495 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#7 of 28 in Harrogate
1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Hotel

Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#9 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: £57 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian landmark, the four-star Majestic Hotel has 170 bedrooms and sits in 12 acres of landscaped grounds in the centre of the spa town of Harrogate. Just a mile from the train station and 10 minutes walk from the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, it’s the perfect location to enjoy Harrogate’s quaint shops and spas; and you can also venture out to the wild landscape of the Yorkshire Dales. With a pool, jacuzzi, steam room and beauty salon, as well as tea rooms, a bar and the Majestic Restaurant there’s everything you need to relax after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Harrogate
Majestic Hotel Harrogate
The Majestic Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing