We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely midweek break”
Review of The Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Majestic Hotel
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Harrogate
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We stayed at the majestic on a bed breakfast and evening meal basis. There were renovations been undertaken at the hotel but this did not disturb our stay. We stayed in a deluxe room which was a great size and and really comfy. The food at the hotel was first class, all areas of the hotel were lovely and the location great for exploring Harrogate. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Dear Duncan A,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel, Harrogate.

I'm very pleased to see that you had a great stay and enjoyed your Deluxe room and the included meals.

We are making improvements in many areas and I'm sure that on your next visit you'll see what's been achieved.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,023)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,958 - 1,964 of 3,023 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2014

Stayed at the Majestic Hotel Bank Holiday weekend for 1 night, it was a Superbreak offer and just as ever the hotel was superb. Hotel is a very large Victorian property with all the features you would expect from high ceilings to sweeping staircases. The staff are always efficient and professional. Plenty of parking onsite with a fixed charge for 24 hours of £5 very reasonable for a hotel so near the town centre, 5 minutes walk and you are in Harrogate. The food is excellent, breakfast is a buffet service and Evening Meal is full waiter service. If you are thinking of staying in Harrogate you cannot go wrong. Look out on the Hotel Collections website for some excellent offers.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Carol W,

Thank you so much for returning to us and really pleased to see that we continue to look after you.

Looking forward to visit 6.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

We went to the Majestic as part of a secret escapes deal with dinner, bed and breakfast and afternoon tea. We paid a bit extra for a premium room based on the reviews here and glad we did, we had a lovely large room on the first floor which was immaculate, couldn't fault it except for the pillows...they were basically air! We did get some extra ones for the second night but they were really quite rubbish and being 8 months pregnant I could have done with more support!

Dinner was inclusive and of a good standard, we were lucky though as people having the chicken and tuna were complaining it was very dry, but the lamb was fine. Seeing as it was included it was fine but I certainly wouldn't go to the hotel just for a meal.


The pool was lovely and warm, warmer than expected actually. It did get very busy in the afternoon and I was a little surprised that they didn't seem to be restricting numbers...not sure how safe that is.

Our biggest issues were the front of house lady was quite rude, asked for a credit card for any extras which we gave her...then noticed she was charging £100 on the card but didn't actually tell us she was until we queried it. Then didn't explain that the money would be held for up to 7 days, we only found that out once we got hold of the key card. We also didn't get an apology when we queried why the fire alarm went off in the middle of the night...some drunken guests messing about, but not even so much as a sorry from her.

Breakfast was good and typical hotel buffet BUT...for goodness sake get your staff to wear clean uniforms!! 2 of the girls clearing tables were covered in food, tops, trousers were splattered in food, they looked very unprofessional!

Seeing as we paid for an all inclusive deal it was a good stay but I don't think we'd go back.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank traks22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear traks22,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel.

I'm pleased that you felt the break to be good value and enjoyed most of the services provided.

I do appreciate your feedback and we are changing the pillows we buy. The pre-authorisation of your card to open an account should have been better explained to you and I'm sorry that you didn't find the receptionist to be overly helpful.

A malicious activation of the fire alarm at midnight was not welcomed by anyone and thankfully such infantile behaviour is extremely rare indeed.

I do hope that you will ultimately return to Harrogate and stay with us again.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We stayed for a couple of days and were really impressed with the standard of our room, friendliness of the staff and overall atmosphere. Also really close to Harrogate town centre so very convenient. A really lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Alice F,

Thank you so much for posting your 5 star review of the Majestic Hotel, Harrogate.

It's great to read that you were impressed and we'll look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

Queued for 8 mins for breakfast just to get into the fairly empty dining room, then abandoned to chase down the staff for coffee. Reception very uncaring and hostile. Management needs to rethink what five star means.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Cleargreengrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Cleargreengrass,

Thank you for posting your review and I am sorry that you experienced poor service on your stay.

I would welcome the chance to discuss your experience in detail so please do contact me on vjohnson@thehotelcollection.co.uk

Many thanks, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Our recent girls' weekend at the Majestic was great. The staff were friendly and helpful, the leisure facilities were good, our room was massive (although the pillows were rather hard) and the breakfast was superb! It was really convenient to have a private, secure carpark too. It was our first time in Harrogate and we will most definitely be visiting again and would have no hesitation in staying at the Majestic.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Alison B,

Thank you so much for posting your 5 star review of the Majestic Hotel, Harrogate.

We'll look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Liked
- Cheap
- Good location
- Includes swimming pool
- Best hotel hair dryer
Didn’t Like
- Feels shabby
- Poor service at breakfast
- Weddings take over the whole hotel
- Variations in room quality

I visited the Majestic in August 2014 for two nights with a group of friends spread over 3 rooms. We got a bargain and only paid £87 per room per night for a double with breakfast, a bargain that should have had us a little concerned to be honest.

On arrival at 9pm we were met in the lobby with a destination with all the class of Infernos in Clapham (look it up). A DJ was blasting out Steps from the ballroom closest to reception and astonishingly drunk wedding guests were sprawling across the ground floor of the hotel. After managing to communicate with reception over the ruckus, we were directed to our rooms that were blissfully on the 4th floor, away from the noise.

We were pleasantly surprised with our room (a double) that would in most hotels have fallen within the classification of a junior suite. It was clean and well appointed. Alas our fellow guests in another double and a single were less impressive, but still reasonable.

Another small positive point that my wife insists I mention is that the hair dryer was the best she’s used in a hotel and wasn’t attached to the wall which made the whole experience all the better.

The main issue with the rooms and the hotel generally is that the whole place feels like it could do with a massive injection of cash to bring it up to the standard of a 4* rating that it boasts. Everything about the place feels shabby, from the random sofas dotted around the place to the random stains on the room celling. Staffing is equally threadbare; all the staff we encountered were very helpful but often rather inexperienced (befitting their age really, most were about 18).

Breakfast, as mentioned, was included in the room rate and is served in an enormous ballroom. It’s buffet style but includes most of the essentials for a full English plus a good continental selection. Our first breakfast was difficult to fault, we arrived at around 8am and were seated promptly and offered tea or coffee which again was delivered promptly. This very good service it turned out was more due to our early waking rather than standard service. On the Sunday we arose later (around 10am) to be met with a 15-minute queue for a table. Once seated the whole thing was a bit of a shambles. Tea and coffee didn’t come for an age and half the breakfast items were missing and infrequently replaced. It was quite apparent they were woefully understaffed. The aforementioned wait for tables was purely a staffing problem as there were plenty of empty tables in the room, just no one to clear them.

I visited the spa on a Saturday morning and it was a relaxing experience. The jacussi was out of action sadly but the pool was big and well heated and the sauna all it should be.

The Saturday evening proved much the same as the Friday with weddings taking over the hotel ground floor, which is to be expected in the summer months, but it’s a shame that such a large hotel does little to partition the drunken revelers from the ordinary guests.

Overall the hotel delivered value for money at less than £45pppn with a full English but it’s a long way off what one would expect from a 4* hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrMikey24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince J, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear DrMikey24,

Thank you for posting your detiled and balanced view.

On the positive side I'm glad that you enjoyed your room and first breakfast and received a great vaue rate.

On the contrary I am sorry that the wedding impacted on your stay. All weddings have their own private bar facilities in their function room though they do tend to wander outside of this. Sunday breakfast at 10am can be very busy and we do work flat out to clear and relay tables, seat guests, serve beverages and replenish the buffets. We are working on efficiencies that may assist us in working more cleverly when at peak demand.

Thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 28 in Harrogate
288 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 28 in Harrogate
1,357 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Swan Hotel
Old Swan Hotel
#16 of 28 in Harrogate
1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 28 in Harrogate
1,495 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#7 of 28 in Harrogate
1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Hotel

Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#9 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: £56 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian landmark, the four-star Majestic Hotel has 170 bedrooms and sits in 12 acres of landscaped grounds in the centre of the spa town of Harrogate. Just a mile from the train station and 10 minutes walk from the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, it’s the perfect location to enjoy Harrogate’s quaint shops and spas; and you can also venture out to the wild landscape of the Yorkshire Dales. With a pool, jacuzzi, steam room and beauty salon, as well as tea rooms, a bar and the Majestic Restaurant there’s everything you need to relax after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Harrogate
Majestic Hotel Harrogate
The Majestic Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing