We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Stayed for one night (a Friday) and a breakfast the following morning. Arrived early (to change for a wedding) not a problem, the room was ready early for us.
Location spot on just a few minutes walk from the middle of Harrogate.
Clean, quiet, comfortable bed, nice bathroom.
Excellent breakfast - I would have loved to try their evening meal.
Friendly, upbeat staff.

This place was a delight and we left feeling we really want small hotels like this to succeed and thrive.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AJD_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (906)
There are newer reviews for Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

797 - 803 of 906 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2011

The perfect location - close enough to town centre for walking in but far enough to avoid the horrors of the weekend stag and hen parties. Bus stops outside the hotel make it even easier. Excellent breakfasts - we didn't eat there in the evenings. Rooms very clean and comfortable. It is an old building with quirky layout - steps all over the place even on the ground floor - so anyone with mobility problems would need to check carefully if it would suit them. And decor and carpets in public rooms look somewhat tired; I am sure the relatively new and very friendly owners will address this as and when they can. But for a reasonably priced break for anyone else it's ideal.

Room Tip: Just ask when booking - the staff are very helpful.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chrisandmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

A great hotel experience: very friendly and helpful staff, nice room, excellent food and good location. Proprietors and staff go out of their way to help the guests and to make them feel at ease. Three course dinner is well worth staying in for (superb meringue with strawberries and cream for dessert). Bus stop just outside the hotel makes it easy to take the bus in to town, but you can also walk to the rail station in the city centre in 15 minutes (pick up some fish and chips at Graveley's on the way).

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank opusfan30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Wife & I stayed 2 nights in July 2011, we found staff to be very friendly, spotlessly clean hotel in a good location minutes from the town centre & would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonnyboy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We received a warm welcome on arrival, the room was lovely, very spacious for a double & very comfortable.
The hotel is beautiful & very central, the walk into the town centre takes 5 to 10 minutes & is very pleasant.
The staff are all very nice & extremely courteous & efficient at all times & made our stay a very pleasant one.
The food is excellent & we stayed DBB & we were not disappointed in any way.
There is a nice bar and lounge area & the drinks are very reasonably priced.
My wife & I thorougly enjoyed our 2 nights & we would love to go again.

Room Tip: Our double room was the cheapest but it was lovely & very spacious
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zimba666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Stayed here for a weekend get together with friends. Good location just a short 5-10 min walk from centre of Harrogate. All the staff were very welcoming and efficient offering a distinctly friendly and personal service often lacking in larger hotels. Rooms were comfortable and clean. We stayed for dinner on the first night and enjoyed the food so much we changed our plan to eat elsewhere and ate in the hotel. The menu gave enough choices to please everyone for a couple of evenings and they were most helpful in providing for the needs of one of our party who has a number of food intolerances. There was a small wedding party on the Saturday night but this in no way interfered with the service available to other guests. Breakfast was also excellent with plenty of choice. Overall I would strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank crandhim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Some lovely period features and a real family run feel to this hotel. If you don't like chain hotels then this is one for you. Our room was a bit small and was shower only - but we knew that when we booked and they had made the best of the space. Were quite fussy about car parking and this was OK but a bit tight to get in and out of.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank purpleTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.8 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
621 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#9 of 30 in Harrogate
184 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,662 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot House Hotel Harrogate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot House Hotel Harrogate

Address: 53 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#2 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#3 Best Value Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Business Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: £65 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascot House Hotel Harrogate 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Ascot House Hotel Harrogate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel Harrogate
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing