We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We were very happy to return to a hotel that looks after us and our relatives so well. The staff are superb. We gathered there for a big birthday gathering and the food was beautiful. If you are after elegant food, created with magic and sparkle, eat here.

As ever, we had a comfortable stay. It is so central in Harrogate that you can leave the car there to visit the centre very easily. Breakfasts are wonderfully filling.

They have an excellent range of local information to help you get the most out of your stay.

Without doubt, a great place - a smaller hotel yes but that is how it is a winner each time with proper personal service.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quakervalues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    686
    167
    28
    6
    2
See reviews for
102
554
25
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We stayed here for one night. We got a lovely warm welcome and shown to a nice big, clean room. Bed very comfy. It is a nice 2-4min walk to Harrogate town centre.
We loved the blackout curtains, got a great sleep. Breakfast was 10/10 and all the staff were lovely and couldn't do enough to help.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laurenphilpott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathaven, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We chose the Ascot House on the basis of its reviews, which it fully lived up to. We had a superior room, which was very comfortable, with a separate sitting area which we liked. The only problem was that access was via a steep staircase. We are in our sixties and can still manage OK, but in a few years it might be a different matter. We enjoyed an excellent dinner in the restaurant. The hotel is just up the road from the conference centre and within easy walking distance of the delightful town centre.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rlrsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Lovely small hotel. Warm and freindly reception. Gorgeous soup!! Lovely conference room. Car parking facilities. Clean and tidy. Very boutique with some lovely rooms to sit and chat.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paula0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, UK
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

After looking for a romantic weekend getaway, settled on Ascot House based on it's reviews. We weren't disappointed. Booked a Superior Room, but received a free upgrade to the Turret Room on arrival. What a fabulous room. Lovely comfortable bed with crisp white linens. Spotlessly clean and very sumptuous decor. Huge flat screen TV and quality toiletries in the bathroom, along with a good shower.

Booked to eat dinner at the hotel (also based on reviews). The menu is quite simple and there is not a huge choice, but there should be something for everyone. Everything we ordered was perfectly cooked and very well presented. I especially enjoyed the chocolate brownie. Very pleased we ate there as I liked the dining room too. The Maitre d' was excellent. Couldn't fault the breakfast either. Buffet choice for cereals and fruits and then any combination of full English cooked to order. Didn't need any lunch after all that.

Hadn't been to Harrogate before, but we really enjoyed the place. It had a nice feel to it. Ascot House is a 10 minute stroll from the town centre. Shops uphill and sights down the hill. Also 5 mins from the Conference Centre.

The Valley Gardens are good to pass an hour and there are many nice shops. The Pump Room Museum is good for an hour to learn more about the Spa town and a chance to sample the sulphur waters. Not to be missed! Spent the afternoon at the Turkish Bath. Wonderfully relaxing. Should be booked in advance as is popular with upmarket hen parties. Very few men were using it the day we went, but that didn't seem to bother my husband!

All in all highly recommended.

Room Tip: Book a superior room or the Turret Room for a special occasion. Not much more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dipsy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Ascot House Hotel is just up the road from the conference centre and easy walking distance from the town. It is pleasantly decorated, clean and has friendly staff. I stayed there for one night on business and overall enjoyed my stay, and preferred it to Grants Hotel where I'd stayed the previous year (a bit dated).
However, it's an old building so is quite creaky. I was on the lower floor and there was quite a lot of noise from creaking floorboards above - I'd recommend asking for a top floor room.
Also the shower was not great - too low down if you're taller than about 5'8" and not very powerful - but okay for one night.
Breakfast was great - and piping hot - although I would have preferred some kind of background music/radio as it was uncomfortably quiet in there for me.
In summary, a pleasant place to stay, and I would happily stay there again, although in reality because of a couple of niggles I will probably try somewhere else next time to see it can be improved upon.
One final tip - try nearby L'Albero Delle Noci for dinner - lovely, friendly Italian restaurant with delicious food.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Northfields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

This is a delightful find. The hotel is only a short walk from the town centre, The hotel is filled with pleasant & helpful staff ,& the food is delishious. We were looked after so well we would like to come back again sometime. For 3 nights we were able to stay in there finest room.Every morning & evening we really looked forward to our food , & the company. Everyone was so friendly & couldnt do enough for there visitors. The hotel was full but they still manadged to make everything personal. The rooms were kept beautifully clean & the bathrooms were beautiful too.Alberto & his team in the dinning room were a pleasure, & the chef & kitchen staff werealso hands on when it came to making your stay perfect.Ourthanks to James & all the team. We really did enjoy our stay. By the way ,this is quite beautiful with its pretty moudings around the ceilings & the FANTASTIC stained glass window.

Room Tip: Pay more for there better rooms it is worth it,the Turret is truelly superrior
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bevmerrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.8 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
594 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,277 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
135 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot House Hotel Harrogate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot House Hotel Harrogate

Property: Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Address: 53 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#2 Best Value Hotel in Harrogate
#2 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Business Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascot House Hotel Harrogate 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ascot House Hotel Harrogate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel Harrogate
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing